We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of LuLu & Me - CLOSED

LuLu & Me
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 28th Street
Transit: N and R train one block away.
Description: A NYC restaurant/bar featuring chef Karen Fohrhatz Miele's delicious food and a distinctive selection of wines, beers and cocktails.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I had an excellent meal here. Very friendly staff and great food. We had an excellent bottle of wine at a very reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HuxleyAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuLu M, Owner at LuLu & Me, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We remember your family we'll. it was a great pleasure serving you. Thank you for your kind words, and please visit us again on your return to NY.
Mike Miele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you ever hear people say that New Yorkers are not friendly, they probably have not spent much time in NYC. The servers are LuLu's are among the friendliest people you will find anywhere, and they cheerfully contributed to a wonderful evening. The salmon was perfectly done on a nice bed of spinach, and the wine was very good while not breaking the bank. A shot of grappa was also a nice finish to the meal.

TIP: They have outdoor seating, but you may not want it. It is outside right on 5th Avenue and is very noisy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuLu M, Owner at LuLu & Me, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We're very proud of our serving staff here at LuLu & Me so when a guest takes the time to praise them, particularly as highly as you have it is especially gratifying. Thank you for your generous appraisal of LuLu & Me.

Mike Miele
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I had a very relaxing dinner on a rainy evening in May. We chose it because our hotel was nearby and we didn't wish to walk far in the rain. Though we had been there the day before for Happy Hour, we hadn't eaten. We were impressed with the service and the food. At first, I thought it would be a bit noisy from the bar area, but the dividers screened out most of the chatter. If we are in the area again, I would not hesitate to eat here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sckoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuLu M, Owner at LuLu & Me, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Sckoot, I remember you and your husband well. I was pleasantly surprised when you returned for dinner. I had hoped you would return because you seemed to be folks who would appreciate the food and service that we provide here. Thank you for your kind words and make sure you reintroduce yourselves upon your return.

Michael Miele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

having had drinks at lulu on a couple of occasions, i had promised myself that i would drag some friends and have a proper meal first chance i could. that turned out to be this past saturday, and we had simply a great supper and a great time. we were treated like old friends, even though we hadn't been there in a while. our wines [a tuscan red, then a chianti] were excellent. the roasted shrimp appetizer was as good as any i've ever had anywhere; one of our party wanted to forego her main course and just have more shrimp ! we then shared some sausages, a plate of mussels and a fine beet salad. fabulous --
last point: the owner [mike] came by and made sure everything was as it should be. it turns out the chef [and the real boss] is his wife karen. kudos to both for running a great operation.
we are headed back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williamsclafani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuLu M, Public Relations Manager at LuLu & Me, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

$2 off glasses of wine and mixed drinks. Not the cheapest around by any menas, but a nice atmosphere that is mature and a delightfully friendly staff. We didn't get a chance to try the food, but the people around us seemed to like their meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Brianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuLu M, Public Relations Manager at LuLu & Me, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014
Google Translation

Glad you had fun LuLu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LuLu & Me also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing