We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a very good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Out NYC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I currently stayed at The Out Hotel a few weeks ago for business and pleasure. The hotel is brand new but the service and staff were amazing and extremely helpful. The location is perfect as it's walking distance to everything NYC has to offer. The room was beautiful, good size not too small like many NYC hotel rooms and the restaurant food was fabulous... I have already recommended it to two of my friends who also a great experiences. I would highly recommend it to everyone.... Indeed it is very straight friendly..... You would really enjoy the art gallery in the lobby.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left of the building as this is the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaunL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    326
    145
    62
    72
See reviews for
60
412
285
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The price of the hotel is very good for New York standards. I liked the casual atmosphere caused by the design of the hotel with two central courts where you could hang out . The hot tub was great to relax after work. There are some things that can be improved like the noise of the club that could be hear in every room and the air conditioning was so noise, that I_ had to turn it off even if it was around 80º at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanmmiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family (Mom and 3 adult sisters) all work in the city in different locations and commute from the 'burbs. We decided to do a sort of stay-cation and were looking to book a hotel, not too expensive, in a cool area a few days during the week for fun.
We have ALL fallen in love with The Out. My mom was the one to book the hotel initially. It was pure luck that she chose The Out.
The staff could not be more helpful or welcoming. The rooms are super cool, clean and spacious for nyc standards. They have a really nice spa and adorable courtyard perfect for decompressing with a good book.
One thing that I loved and I don't know why it made such an impression was in the lobby next to the computer station, they have small water cooler with lemon. In 100 degree weather this was greatly appreciated.
I cannot say enough nice things about this place, we had a really wonderful stay.
We are planning a few more stay-cations in the coming weeks and will definitely book them here.

Pinkberry is a five minute walk if you're looking for a late night snack, on 9th ave between 41st and 42nd.

My ONLY qualm is the price of the coffee ($7) at the restaurant. Seriously? My advice if you're looking for caffeine is to walk the block to Starbucks.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a lovely time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very nice room quite big maybe because it was a corner. Interiour are very good, green artificial grass inside. Complimentary breakfast was included in my case, it was not so big but good enought for the breakfast. 3 blocks from main entertainments and attractions, not bad restaurant inside.

Room Tip: Ask for the room far away from the night club, there is a night club on the 1st floor and it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a night at THE OUT NYC and had a fantastic time! The hotel is clean, sleek and the staff is warm and welcoming. The stunning outdoor courtyards added just enough romance to our stay. We also saw a show called Creature at the nightclub next door and were floored by the theatrics. It's a drag show that's gone Vegas!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guarulhos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Beautiful, ellegant, clean, "straight friendly" urban spa with all modern facilities. The room was just the right size with a beautiful modern bathroom. The minibar even had Champagne! The staff's helpful and friendly all the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denyalle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The OUT NYC is fabulous when it comes to places to stay in NYC. I travel extensively for both business and pleasure, and The OUT Hotel meets my needs whatever the occasion. The convenient location makes it my go-to spot when traveling to our STARR Big Apple locations, whether I am going to Buddakan or Morimoto in Chelsea or Caffe Storico on the Upper West Side in the New-York Historical Society. The hotel is in the middle of everything, making it a piece of cake for me to attend meetings at all of our venues in one day. When work is over, The OUT NYC is the perfect place to relax, complete with a pleasant staff and luxurious amenities. I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Head to XL Nightclub directly next door for a Kiki :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,789 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing