We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice base to explore Manhatten” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Out NYC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice base to explore Manhatten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights about a month after official opening. We were visiting NYC for a wedding up town. Given its central location the Out NYC was a perfect base! Originally we chose the Out NYC because of the discounted rate that was available for early bookers (before hotel was opened). NYC hotel prices are expensive so this was a perfect choice; a new hotel with all mod coms and central location.
Staff were really friendly and tried to help out as much as they could. As they were all fairly new to their roles, it took some time to get things sorted, nevertheless they did this with a smile!
The rooms still smelt of paint, so all was very new and very clean. As it says on the website the rooms are placed around various courtyards and are a-typical for NYC, quite nice if you ask me. One of the courtyards has 2 Jacuzzi’s which were a nice touch after a long flight. The staff were having a cocktail party there one evening, and without hesitation, invited us to join for a free glass or two, quite a nice service! We even got free entry to the club located in the hotel (normal evenings retail at about $20 as this seems to be a trendy place). Despite having nice beds with great mattresses, quality linen, etc... we had difficulties sleeping. This was down to the rather noisy club downstairs which keeps pumping music till the early hours almost every day! If you stay here, ask a room as far away from the club as possible or use ear plugs (available in the room). If you are a party animal, this hotel is perfect for you! Personally, we would only stay here again should we find a great rate, as I think there are better hotels in this part of town that offer similar services but are a bit quieter at night.

Room Tip: If you need a cab/car to one of the airports, ask concierge, their rates were the cheapest deals tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglo1Belge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    326
    145
    62
    72
See reviews for
60
412
285
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I am only into the 5th hour of my stay at the Out NYC and I felt compelled to share my thoughts on TripAdvisor regarding this great gem in NYC. A couple of notes including:

1) The staff is all friendly. The woman behind the counter was dealing with a difficult situation with a hotel guest. Even though she couldn't give the woman what she wanted, she maintained her friendliness throughout the interaction.

2) Check-in was a breeze and no hassle with my room. As a frequent business traveler, getting checked in and to your room can sometimes be a wait. Not so with this hotel.

3) The room (business executive room) is gigantic by NYC standards. Great value as I'm used to NYC hotel prices.

4) I've discovered 2 fun sitting areas that are no doubt great for community building and lounging. Totally unexpected areas in NYC.

5) The location is great - 5 blocks to Times Square. Close enough to be in it all, but far enough to be away from the noise.

Kudos to the owners of this property. I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this ranks among the best for personnel, set-up, rooms, value and just overall experience thus far.

Room Tip: Business Executive room 203 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cknippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great staff, great location. Really cool environment and customer service. Can't wait to come back again! The hotel has really been enjoyable on both visits and a great value....I love this neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I currently stayed at The Out Hotel a few weeks ago for business and pleasure. The hotel is brand new but the service and staff were amazing and extremely helpful. The location is perfect as it's walking distance to everything NYC has to offer. The room was beautiful, good size not too small like many NYC hotel rooms and the restaurant food was fabulous... I have already recommended it to two of my friends who also a great experiences. I would highly recommend it to everyone.... Indeed it is very straight friendly..... You would really enjoy the art gallery in the lobby.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left of the building as this is the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaunL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The price of the hotel is very good for New York standards. I liked the casual atmosphere caused by the design of the hotel with two central courts where you could hang out . The hot tub was great to relax after work. There are some things that can be improved like the noise of the club that could be hear in every room and the air conditioning was so noise, that I_ had to turn it off even if it was around 80º at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanmmiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My family (Mom and 3 adult sisters) all work in the city in different locations and commute from the 'burbs. We decided to do a sort of stay-cation and were looking to book a hotel, not too expensive, in a cool area a few days during the week for fun.
We have ALL fallen in love with The Out. My mom was the one to book the hotel initially. It was pure luck that she chose The Out.
The staff could not be more helpful or welcoming. The rooms are super cool, clean and spacious for nyc standards. They have a really nice spa and adorable courtyard perfect for decompressing with a good book.
One thing that I loved and I don't know why it made such an impression was in the lobby next to the computer station, they have small water cooler with lemon. In 100 degree weather this was greatly appreciated.
I cannot say enough nice things about this place, we had a really wonderful stay.
We are planning a few more stay-cations in the coming weeks and will definitely book them here.

Pinkberry is a five minute walk if you're looking for a late night snack, on 9th ave between 41st and 42nd.

My ONLY qualm is the price of the coffee ($7) at the restaurant. Seriously? My advice if you're looking for caffeine is to walk the block to Starbucks.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a lovely time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very nice room quite big maybe because it was a corner. Interiour are very good, green artificial grass inside. Complimentary breakfast was included in my case, it was not so big but good enought for the breakfast. 3 blocks from main entertainments and attractions, not bad restaurant inside.

Room Tip: Ask for the room far away from the night club, there is a night club on the 1st floor and it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,830 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,706 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing