We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #250 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
key west
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I recently spent five nights at the OUTNYC. Planned trip for a couple of months and decided to enjoy the OUTNYC. From the moment I arrived until I left early this morning, I was treated like Gold. The room was great, quiet and not at all LOUD as some of the reviews had mentioned because of the Club next door. The food at KTCHN was fabulous, the drinks great, but above and beyond ALL else.....the staff is the most POLITE/COURTEOUS and CLASSY staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at.

That in and of itself will bring me back, and I will suggest the OUTNYC to all that venture to New York. The location is PRIMO too.

Thanks OUT, I miss you already.....

Room Tip: Ask for third floor South
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWestMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear KeyWestMonkey,

WOW! Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a resounding review! It is our pleasure to meet beyond our guests' expectations, and are so happy to hear we did just that.

Treating you like "gold" is our top priority, and can only hope that the property and the staff can have the opportunity to do it again for you!

Looking forward to having you during your next visit to NYC!

Very best,

Keith Frey
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    352
    149
    65
    74
See reviews for
64
428
295
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel the first week in August. The location is great as it is a couple blocks away from Times Square. There is valet parking. The hotel is indeed straight friendly as me and my husband and our friend were staying at the hotel. The staff is very friendly and tended to all our needs (ice, towels, and tv issues). The place is very chic and classy. You must check out the photos along the lobby walls, you got to love the creativity. The room was a decent size (we had a double). The sliding doors to the bathroom seem a bit transparent but you cannot much unless you get right up on the door, so no worries.
The outside public siting areas between the rooms (lounge areas) were so cool. We had to take pictures of them. The mirrors, bean bags, and artifical grass was so cray! The other louge area by our room was a great open area with long dinner table and chairs plus extra seating area. Its like you can actually host your own outdoor dinner party there!
The club attached to the hotel called XL sounded like it was jamming and the lines were long to get into the club. They give you ear plugs if you cannot stand the music but from where our room was, the music was not that loud.

The only negative thing I have to mention though the place seemed really clean. The day after when we turned home I noticed I had bug bites all over my legs as well as my husband. I would post a picture of it but I thought would be disgusting and a bit too much. We have stayed in various hotels in NYC and never got bed bug bites. This was upsetting but I had to say it. So, if you plan to stay here just bring your own sheets or spray down the bed with Lysol or bug spray..just saying.

Room Tip: Try to get a room by the back of the hotel since the music will not be as loud and its peaceful back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheelahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Sheelah,

We were so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the last part of your trip. We appreciate the comments and feedback. We would like to talk to directly about the situation if at all possible? Please call me directly when you decide to return to THE OUT at 646.527.7903 or keithf@theoutnyc.com

Warm regards,

Keith Frey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The staff at The Out couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The outdoor spaces provided a nice respite from the bustle of the city and you could even forget that you were in the heart of things.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Goodkiss24,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here at THE OUT NYC. We are lucky to have such a phenomenal staff to help make you feel as welcome and accommodated as possible.

Looking forward to hosting your next stay in the Big Apple!

Very best,

Keith Frey
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Location is great, 2 blocks only from Times Square and plenty subway lines. The shared rooms are very comfortable, very convenient and very clean. The jacuzzis and terraces are the perfect places to make friends. And XL club right next door really has very nice music and nice crowd!! Staff is very helpful. This hotel is just sooooo nice!!!

Room Tip: Just expect a bit of noise (street and/or club) in the shared rooms. So don't go to bed too earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Hi there Vincent G,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay here at THE OUT NYC.

Our public spaces such as the complimentary jacuzzi access in our Spa Atrium truly make it a treat for our guests to have a social outlet without venturing far into the city!

Many thanks, and looking forward to hosting you during your next visit!

Best,

Keith F
keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Fantastic hotel in central New York, only 5 minutes walk from Times Square. The rooms are a good size with great facilities. There is a spa, restaurant and nightclub on site as well as some great communal outside spaces! Best hotel I have stayed in in New York

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ge0rdie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We would definitely recommend the Out! We made a last minute decision to stay there to celebrate our 20th anniversary by legally getting married in NY. We spent three nights. Bo and Kristen asked for our input and made the wedding come together exactly as planned...down to the finest of details. The staff honestly seemed as happy for us on our wedding day as we were!!! Bo was amazing in terms of anticipating our every need...and making all reservations for restaurants, etc. The food at their restaurant (KTCHN) was very good; and the bakery chef made a wedding cake to die for. Definitely a "high end" LGBT "straight friendly" resort. Most of the guests appeared to be gay males, with some lesbians including us. While there were some straight people, we definitely felt we were in an LGBT environment. Location is great!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise be sure to ask for a room away from the nightclub (which we had)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lounur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear lounur,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay here at THE OUT NYC was!

So happy to hear you were able to enjoy the luxury sleep share accommodations as much as you did! It is our goal to provide the very best in hospitality to our guests, and cannot be more satisfied with your review!

Looking forward to having you during your next visit to the Big Apple!

Best,

Keith Frey
Keithf@theoutnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great accomidations. From the staff to the rooms and all of the amenities. The outside area feels like you are in Florida. The gym is very equiped and the steam room and suana are very clean. It is a gay friendly hotel so our straight friends do stay here boys so don't walk around in the nude. It's not a bath house it is an up scale hotel. It's home away from home.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room that is over the club. You hear and feel the music until 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom19107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,231 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,354 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 468 in New York City
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#68 of 468 in New York City
5,029 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,572 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing