We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Common Outdoor Space & Amazing for Single Travelers”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Out NYC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lots of Common Outdoor Space & Amazing for Single Travelers”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I’m from the Midwest and travel for pleasure a lot. I’ve stayed at over a dozen hotels in Manhattan and this is now my favorite. I really like how much outdoor common space they have and the feel that it’s smaller hotel that feels more like Florida (may not so much in the winter..hehe). I stayed for 4 nights and met so many awesome people. The last night there I didn’t even go out to the bars since I met so many great new people there and we all just hung out at the hotel. I stayed on the first floor near the back in a sleep share room. This turned out to be a really good way to go at an awesome NYC value. Tall ceilings, four premium bunks with curtains, one bathroom and one shower (both separate). Had a nice lockable cabinet for each bunk (they provided the key). The hotel SPA area is complete open and free to all hotel guests. Has lockers, showers, sauna and steam room. On my last day in NYC, my flight left in the evening. I gave my checked luggage to front desk, but left a small personal care bag & change of clothes in a locker in the sauna. This way I was able to come back and shower before departing NYC. I will definitely stay again and recommend this to others! FYI…I’m a single gay male age 35.

Room Tip: For shared rooms request a lower bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear indyboilerboy,

We’re delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at THE OUT NYC Urban Resort and took advantage of all that we offer! Our sleep shares have definitely been a hit! We now offer our Sleep Shares as quads in addition to booking a single bed; we allow guests to book the entire room for a 4 person occupancy – a rarity in NYC. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers to describe the one feature everyone is asking about – our sleep shares!

Best regards,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    339
    147
    64
    73
See reviews for
61
417
289
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My sister and I had a most enjoyable stay at The Out. Decor was superb, staff friendly and extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Location was good and as we thought the cost of breakfast was a bit dear, we went over the road to the Broadway Deli & Bagels for a meal. We found the noise of the night club/disco was too much (especially during Fashion Week) so we asked for a quieter room and were moved as requested, we were also given ear plugs after a phone call to Reception at 3.30am the first night we were there. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We didn't have time for the gym or pool. We started in room 209 and finished in room 347. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Liz W,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review THE OUT NYC. We are updating many of the concerns you’ve explained to improve our level of service including alternative cost effective breakfast options. Please feel free to contact us directly when booking your next stay with us to ensure any requests you may have – such as a room away from XL.

Kind regards,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our first time at The Out. I was there with my husband and our 2 friends. Our friends recommended the hotel and we are very glad they did. We were in the city for a SLDN event on the Intrepid. The hotel location was perfect. We had lunch in the restaurant and it was very good. We will go there again.

Room Tip: The suite was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Pat C,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great location. KTCHN now has a fabulous brunch on the weekends equipped with “The Mary Bar” where guests can create their own Bloody Mary’s and enjoy a fun show “Haus of Mimosa”. We hope to see you next time and check out the new additions KTCHN offers to our guests.

Sincerely,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My fiance and I decided last minute to take a weekend trip to NYC. I found The Out NYC on booking.com. It was the best find I could have asked for. We arrived very early and the front desk was extremely accommodating and let us check in. The room was beautiful and so comfortable. We loved everything about it. In the evening we went down to the lobby to go out for dinner. Hugo immediately approached us and asked it we needed his assistance. We of course said yes and he did not steer us wrong. He sent us to the Meat Packing district which was fantastic. We then went back to the hotel to find a dessert for my fiance in the restaurant Kitchn. He really wanted cookies and the manager was more than helpful and sent us out to a bakery that her friend owned. We got back from dinner and Hugo immediately approached us asking how our dinner was. The manager of Kitchn ran up to us as well to make sure we found everything ok. The customer service was amazing. Our check-out was a breeze, we were able to store our luggage and enjoy the day in NYC. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going into the city. The experience was really outstanding!

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet and very clean. I don't think you could pick a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Ilene K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as well as your interactions with our staff. Our team delivers high levels of guest services as this is the foundation of the guest experience at the resort – we really appreciate your review and have shared your kind words with our entire team. Please feel free to reach out to us for any future bookings.

Most sincerely,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We like the hotel cOncept, dont be put off being straight friendly hotel! and also we like rooms, hotel design.. Location's 5 mins from times sq. Rooms and hotel're very clean. We didnt like the breakfast area... Street side rooms can be noisy because of the night club, but they give the ear plugs. we were enjoy during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerenemre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Hi there cerenemre,

Hope you are well! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at THE OUT NYC here with our friends at TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and excited to inform you that our on-site restaurant KTCHN is now open with an expanded breakfast menu, replacing the temporary continental breakfast.

Additionally it gives us great pleasure to know that our straight-friendly concept was well received and lived up to its name!

We look forward to hosting you during future visits to NYC!

Best,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Ever wanted to stay in a hotel that treats you as a guest, where you can be yourself, where the surrounding is inspiring, with the nicest staff works, where there are parties held and where they have quite rooms? Check out The Out!

Room Tip: The bunk-beds are great! The regular rooms are luxury! Your choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL-Arnoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Hi there Arnoud R ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at THE OUT NYC.

We are so pleased to read your resounding review! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to NYC!

All the best,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

I was very satisfied staying at the Out, everything was great. The staff was very helpful, wish I could stay longer. It's my new favorite place in NYC .
Highly recommend it, great job Guys!
The XL Lounge is AMAZING

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseluigi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F, Guest Relations Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Joseluigi1973,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in New York and appreciate your feedback. We are also eager to inform you of a new booking option we offer online. Our guests can now book their reservation and add on entry and drink tickets into XL. We look forward to seeing you next time and thank you for your recommendations of THE OUT NYC.

Best,

Keith Frey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,059 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,987 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing