We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - If you know what you're in for!”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay - If you know what you're in for!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at OUT. Design wise excellent, staff really helpful and friendly and great central location for sights, scene and getting around. Great club attached as well. Would stay again.

Couple of points to bear in mind, though. Ask for a quiet room away from the club if you want to get sleep! The booming sound otherwise will ruin your relaxation. Rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, where we were, are ideal for this. We were, however, on the top floor, the issue then being that there was very loud noise from AC outlets outside our window which, without earplugs, meant that kept us awake! The walls are also very thin, so you can hear what your neighbours are up to! Definitely think the hotel should designate quiet rooms and advertise these, as I would pay a premium for them. The hotel advertises itself as straight-friendly, and I would say its most definitely a gay hotel!

None of the above detracted from what was a great stay however. But if you are looking for a more relaxing stay, maybe look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the club and on the opposite side if you want to get sleep without th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Shaun R,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    359
    155
    67
    78
See reviews for
72
442
298
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Knowing that this hotel was above a nightclub, we requested a quiet room. That didn't happen. Our bed was thumping until 4am on Friday night. By 3am, I gave up on trying to sleep and stormed out of the room in frustration and went for a walk. Luckily we strolled by the Westin and checked in there the next day. It was really unfortunate leaving the friends who we were vacationing with because of this terrible hotel. If you want to sleep in New York, avoid this place!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the hotel (although don't count on it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank torontoguy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Torontoguy2222,
We are so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied and unhappy with your stay. Of course, it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling they have not experienced the best possible stay. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After a last minute work booking to New York a minor misunderstanding I occurred in which my flights back were a day later than the accommodation booked and planned. Always double check is the moral of the story!

I panicked and booked the cheapest night I could find on lastminute. This was it.

On arrival I learnt it was shared. Lesson about always reading after flights not learnt! Second panic of the day but resigned to my fate I gave in and accepted my blunders.

I have to admit the shared room was fantastic. Big double curtained bunk beds. As a traveller I would have been in my element. I recommend if you are in New York by yourself and wanting something well located, cheap and very nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank coxy_gj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Coxy_gj,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to know everything worked out and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Prior to checking in we asked to stay in rooms away from the night club. Unfortunately what was promised and what was delivered were two different things. Our friends checked out of TheOut and went elsewhere. So much for a nice weekend with our friends . That Out, you really messed up. We would be back.

Room Tip: Far away for the pounding noise of the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear David S,
We are so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied and unhappy with your stay. Of course, it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling they have not experienced the best possible stay. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Had to get a share room due to time constraints, was pleasantly surprised. Shared rooms were really well equipped and neat and had double beds. Hotel staff were really good and held bags for up before and after our stay, only inconvenience was that there wasn't a laundry but the staff were able to direct us to one a few blocks away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Outback_Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Outback_Australian,

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My partner and I have stayed here several times since the hotel opened. Good rooms, but tried to check in a bit early today and the customer service we received was awful. There is a blond lady working the front desk who had the worst attitude. When we arrived at 10:00am we were told that our room was empty (the guest left at 9:30am), but still needed to be cleaned. We were allowed to use the spa and checked back with the front desk at 11:30am. The room still was not cleaned. We had lunch at the restaurant. Checked back at 12:30pm. The room still was not cleaned. Each time we checked we were greeted by the rotten attitude of the blond lady (wish I could remember her name). Long story short, my partner and I both travel weekly for work. We are both platinum Starwood Hotel members. We thought we would continue to support the boutique hotel, but decided it was not worth the harsh treatment we received. We left and checked into a Starwood property where we were greeted with a smile and upgraded to a suite overlooking Central Park.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brancbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Brancbaker,
We are so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied and unhappy with your stay. Of course, it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling they have not experienced the best possible stay. We hope you will give us another change in the future. We would be happy to arrange an early check in and a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I wish I had discovered this hotel sooner! I frequent NYC a LOT and have stayed at various hotels, my preference being the Yotel because of location, it's hip and trendy and most importantly, affordable. The Out has the Yotel beat! Superb location. Rooms considerable spacious for NYC standards. Unbelievably comfortable and cozy and trendy and modern all at once. Hot tub/jacuzzis in center courtyard. Our room overlooked a different sitting area courtyard as well. Bathroom was uber modern. Glass doors, mirror'd walls, everything was just excellent all around. We only stayed for a day, but I would stay a week and will absolutely be back. This is my new hotel choice hands down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear iamamsterdam,
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at THE OUT. Please contact us directly to book your next reservation, we will be delighted to assist you in person. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 467 in New York City
5,164 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
2,216 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing