We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, clean and modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cute, clean and modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent one night at The Out this week and were very pleased with the experience. The location was very good – walking distance to Times Square, Broadway – we even walked to Central Park and back. The hotel is modern and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The courtyard is cute and welcoming. I was surprised by the generous size of the room – I was expecting it to be much smaller given what I’ve heard about space in New York. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was clean – everything was well-maintained.
The one thing the room did not have - which would have bothered me if we were staying longer – was a window. Correction – it had a window, but one that faced the outdoor hallway which faced the courtyard, so even if we opened the curtain, there wasn’t much light and no privacy or view to speak of. (We were in room 208.) Our friends had a room on the other side which had a window to their own private outdoor space complete with a doghouse. We did not use the gym, spa or other courtyard which has hot tubs and waterfalls, but walked by and it all looked really nice.
We had brunch at KTCHN the first day – it was $30 for eggs benny and bottomless mimosas. The food was good but portions were relatively modest, but who can argue with bottomless mimosas?!
Overall it was good value and a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    331
    147
    64
    73
See reviews for
60
415
287
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff at The Out are amazing, where other hotel staff in NYC are often cold an unpleasant this staff are the opposite; warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are of decent size for NYC, with an excellent bed and a good shower. The lounge "garden" areas are very cool and an oasis of calm in a very busy part of the city. I have stayed here several times now and I know I will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wernerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, was a great central location, although slightly dodgy, but what else can you expect from a centrally located place. Only about 10 mins walk to the nearest subway which was 42nd Street Port authority. Really need to 9th Street, which had a good selection of restaurants and bars.
We requested a quiet room by email and on arrival, we were given room number 312, which overlooked their lovely garden area, although we could still hear the pounding bass in the evening till about 4 AM but we had ear plugs which kind of drowned it out, so it was not as bad as made out in previous reviews.
The staff were really friendly, the lovely guy on reception gave us some restaurant and area recommendations which were fantastic, particularly a restaurant called Catch which had an amazing lobster roll.
All in all a very modern hotel with great amenities and a friendly laid back vibe. Would go again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The Out NYC is without question sleek & stylish. From the dramatic lobby with it's unique art to the spotless & chic guestrooms with fantastic lighting! However just as important as style, is soul and the Out NYC has it! The staff is genuinely welcoming, warm and humorous. I completely enjoyed my stay and I have my eye on the details since I have managed a hotel for fourteen years.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ROTTERDAN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is really cute. Currently the art exhibition is huge photos of popular drag queens. There's really cute party/relaxing spaces in the courtyards, a small piano room, and seems there are plenty of events happening at the hotel like the drag brunch on the weekends.

Rooms are really clean, modern, loaded mini bar and snack center in the room. Good A/C. WiFi worked excellent the whole trip. One nice touch in the bathrooms are large pump bottles of shampoo, body wash, hand wash and body lotion. Nice comfy towels and bathrobes. Our room had a skylight which was nice to let in some natural light.

You can't beat the location for Hell's Kitchen. It's just around the corner from the really populated blocks with restaurants and bars, so the block feels a little quieter. But only a few blocks to tons of restaurants, bars, Times Square, a few blocks to the water and water transportation.

The club or the events in the courtyards do give lots of bass thumping noise at certain times, but with the A/C running or the tv on it was not a problem. But if you are highly sensitive, you may want to ask if there is a room in a quieter area of the hotel.

Mostly gay guys staying there during this visit, and lots of little parties or happy hours in the courtyard. Some straight couples which was interesting to wonder how they found the place!

Room Tip: This is not a hotel for city views. Most rooms face the courtyards. But if you are looking for fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Yes, I have reviewed this hotel before and each time have detailed staff, cleanliness, comfort. This time I want to talk about security. If you happen to come in late at night (and I do) you will see the front desk and security in action. For the guests, a greeting and ask how your evening was. For non-guest stragglers, treated politely but moved on. EFFICIENT & PROFESSIONAL. Anthony is a gem, and the security team is excellent. I did have to call one time about a concern. It was a false alarm (just guests enjoying themselves), but the important thing was security was there in seconds - not minutes. You can relax and have peace of mind you are safe (always be street smart but the hotel does everything they can). And you are next to a police station !

Room Tip: Tell them what you like when you make your reservation (front, back, ground floor, whatever) and tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WRVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in a luxury shared on a Friday night, there was only 1 other girl staying in the shared room! The beds are more like doubles in the bunkbeds, each have their own TV, curtain, locker and comfy bed. The location is perfect so close to times square and central NYC. The value as well is amazing for the area. I would stay here again and even take up a full size room to see what its like.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,423 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,825 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing