We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Adequate”
Review of Cachet Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cachet Boutique
Ranked #293 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in a suite for three nights, visiting friends in NYC. A modern well designed room and definitely great value for NYC. Located in close proximity to Hell's Kitchen restaurants on 9th Ave.

Check-in was uncomplicated and the front desk staff helpful and engaging.

It has the feel of an upscale gay bath house. Our room was located on the third floor, the hallway looked over a central courtyard and the window, over the road entrance to a tunnel. Not really a great view, and our friends room, only had a skylight and a window onto the hallway.

The AC was too noisy to be able to sleep with turned on, and the heat and humidity quite intense.

There was a spacious, clean bathroom and nice towels.

We attempted a coffee in the restaurant at breakfast, but the service from the lone waiter was rude and the espresso coffee she made was barely drinkable, so we avoided returning there again for the remainder of our stay.

In summary, a perfectly adequate bolt hole for a few nights in NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at Cachet Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Drsmorgan,

Thank you for the review. While it’s great to hear that your check in was seamless and the Front Desk Team was helpful and engaging, I apologize for the AC noise restaurant’s shortcomings. I will personally follow up with the restaurant and Engineering Team to ensure all future travelers have a faultless stay.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is definitely a gay hotel, but people are very respectful and do not care whether you're gay or straight (luckily). Alone for the fact that it had a transvesti-photo exhibit, you wouldn't notice first hand. It is an ideal location and staff were polite. The room fares are the best in the city for location, services and room quality.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at Cachet Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Luis M,

Thank you for the review and it’s great to hear you found our location to be ideal and our Team polite.

Until next time, happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Of the many "dishes" to come out of Hell's Kitchen, The OUT Hotel has to be one of the best. Located in the heart of NYC, The OUT provides convenient access to: renowned theater, delectable restaurants, and arguably the gay nightlife epicenter of the city.

Fortunately, as a gay man, if you don't feel like venturing far from the quality accommodations, The OUT provides fine dining and nightlife in the very same building.

KTCHN is a fine eating establishment with an intimate yet pulsating atmosphere serving up gourmet dishes of every sort. BPM is a state of the art night club that houses gorgeous boys and renowned DJs.
On top of it all, the service is impeccable. A huge thank you to Erin, Bronson & Anthony for continuing to go above & beyond ensuring that my stay is always amazing. I always feel at home when staying at the OUT. Staying here makes being OUT definitely "in."

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTashaSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at Cachet Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear TheTashaSalad,

Thank you the wonderful review! It’s great to hear that Erin, Bronson and Anthony are always going above and beyond to ensure that every stay is always amazing. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in one of their 4 person dorm rooms. It was a little more than paying for a cheap hostel but you get a double bed and each bed has a curtain to give you almost complete privacy.
Has great facilities including hot tubs, steam room, sauna and fast free wifi throughout the whole complex! Loved this place - if I come back to NYC will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agui01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at Cachet Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Agui01,

Thank you for the kind review. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed the comforts of our shared accommodations and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were a little worried about staying here in that, after we had booked the hotel, we learned it was a gay hotel and very trendy. The friend I am traveling with and I are neither gay nor trendy and we were concerned that we weren't quite what the hotel wanted. (We had no problems with the fact that it was gay.) Well, we probably weren't their ideal, but the hotel gave no sign of that. The staff was very friendly as we're the other guests with whom we interacted. It is very straight friendly and if you are straight, you won't be alone.
The hotel itself has a terrific location, easy walking to Times Square, theaters restaurants and subways. We had a car; there are garages on 43rd with twenty four four parking at good rates, an easy block away. Our room was modern and clean, with a very comfortable bed. The rooms are not large and some do not have windows ( see other reviews below) but they are very nice. Views aren't great but you are in downtown NYC. There are nice sitting areas,a business center and a pleasant Spa.
We got an amazing rate for what we got and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. There is a loud nightclub and some daytime construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at Cachet Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Donna C,

Thank you for the TA review. We really love to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and found our resort to be clean and modern. On behalf of the entire we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My two night stay was welcomed by great staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds & pillows. The rooms are laid out so you have a lot of space to spread out your belongings. Lighting and outlets were in all the right places. The minibar was super cute. I wish I had more time to enjoy the outdoor space. Would be a great place to have a cocktail party! Location is great for Javits Center or anything around Times Square or Central Park. Lots of trains close by as well. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethJ614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I was very excited to stay at this hotel at first and paid close to 500 a night even tho hilton and renaissance hotels were high rises and cheaper pride of 2013 but when i got to hotel decorated nice/ people rude...i checked in anyway but as soon as i got to room (was tiny and my tv flickered on and off all weekend and tech said couldnt fix the jacuzzi was only 80 deg and cold no hot boys wandering Around ( dont expect the renaissance during white party cause far from it . I didnt want to ruin first time to nyc so i pushed on and got threw it ..push to june 2014 booked room again since it is a gay hotel in nyc and pride thought my two friends that never been to nyc would like and had to be better then last year ..lol boyyyyy was i wrong 10x worse. I called hotel 2 times letting them know i need early check in (advised me that will be ok ) i get to hotel at 6 am from redeye flight and was told i have to wait to 4 pm to check in..10-11 hrs to burn in nyc with no sleep ok did some stuff come back trying to keep hope please be better ...check out at 11am so room is vacant just takes them 5 hrs to clean that shoe box they are trying to tell me and hotel only two storys so not 100s of rooms like hilton a block away ..keeping hope but waited in lobby till 4pm checked in and got to room not the room i booked at all and i have the paper telling manager it says courtyard view and he advise u only get the room u book online if avail at the time of check in ...i had it i said i am checking out went to hilton A block away that is a high-rise looking over time square and empire state building pretty view and big rooms ...so happy now be warned
Stay Away Gays !!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#128 of 469 in New York City
1,244 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,459 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#275 of 469 in New York City
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron Hotel
#373 of 469 in New York City
796 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#122 of 469 in New York City
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cachet Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cachet Boutique

Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly The Out NYC)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £149 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cachet Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cachet Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing