We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 3 nights was pleased”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed for 3 nights was pleased”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 3 nights without knowing it was a "Drag/Gay hotel" until I saw the drag queen photos all along the lobby walls to be honest the hotel was very good. Super clean better than the W time square the hotel I was currently staying at prior. Was very impressed with the price and room cleanliness. The rooms are basically new. Did not feel uncomfortable with the gay environment I fact did not run into anyone most of the time and there were regular guy and girl couples also families staying there as well which made me feel better about my stay. Overall great stay right in Hell's Kitchen many restaurants around just 2 or 3 blocks from time square. Also a CVS conveniently located right next door 2 stores down. BETTER THAN THE W time square when it comes to the rooms and hotel for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Bebomiami,

Thank you for the post! It’s great to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and found the resort to be super clean! We hope that we made a long time OUT Guest and that you will join us again in the near future.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    355
    151
    66
    75
See reviews for
69
434
297
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel, Anthony at the front desk and the entire staff made us both feel right at home. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The 42nd St. KTCHN was fantastic and very accommodating. The courtyards are beautiful and comfortable. The art exhibit of Drag was fantastic. We will definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to our friends and colleagues. Thank you for making a mini-retreat to the NYC very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knxguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear knxguys,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at THE OUT NYC! It’s great to hear Anthony and the Front Desk Team were able to make you feel right at home. I will be sharing your post and giving the deserved kudos to the OUT Team.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I live in London which is noisy at times, but the out is not a relaxing hotel and should be avoided on the weekend as it sits on top of a nightclub. Its 2 am on a Thursday and my bed is vibrating with the bass as the bass is so so loud. The hotel also owns the nightclub and they have done nothing to help. Its a real shame as otherwise its a good hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ReggieSuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear ReggieSuarez,

I would like to take a moment to sincerely apologize for the unfortunate stay. I understand how the noise levels can be frustrating, however we are working our hardest to improve the quietness throughout the resort. I have updated your profile to ensure all future reservations are away from the club, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had a great 4 night stay in a 4bed shared room recently. My concerns about staying in a shared room vanished as soon as i entered the room. Large beds, curtains for privacy, large easy to use individual lockers, individual light, tv and powerpoint.

Great location, great amenities and even free events on wed and sat! Staff were friendly and the hotel immacculate. I have already booked 2 more nights for on my way back home.

Room Tip: 4Bed share rooms are bottom floor with a window that views the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear MattyW100,

Thank you for the review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our shared rooms and that you have already reserved two additional nights! We can’t wait to see you back at the resort.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed there for 11 days in june 2014. Not only is it a great modern sleek in design , but the staff a super friendly. The room was very clean, spacious and the distant sound of the club underneath wasnt that bad. Great spa, gym and sunbaking area. The experience was fantastic and I WILL stay there june 2015. Highly recomended..

Room Tip: ask for one near the back not near the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Damien M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback from your most recent stay. We love reading reviews like yours, and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2015.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was like staying at a spa resort on south beach. The spa gym and lounge area was fun and I used it. I liked the mix for LGBT and straight people. The exhibition of drag queens in then
Obey was pure fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Walter R,

Thanks for the review! It’s great to hear you were able to take full advantage of our many amenities.

Until next time, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have been going to The OUT hotel since I started doing my work in NYC. I come here almost every month from L.A. and I love it. The staff is great and helpful, whenever I need anything- they are there to accommodate me.
They also have a great gym, sauna, pool/Jacuzzi w/cabanas and several places outdoors to enjoy the NY skyline and fresh air! Love the artwork, multiple lobby/hang out rooms on the 1st floor.
And the restaurant downstairs has a fun atmosphere with great food.
I have stayed in the single and shared rooms. And I love them both. They are modern, clean with very cool bathrooms.
Your literally near the biggest subway station, Time Square and hip 'Hell's Kitchen'.
Now being in the heart of where it's all at, you can't expect staying at a library. If you want boring and secluded- them stay at those old hotels that look like they haven't renovated in a decade. Those places aren't for me. I want current and convenient.
I am sticking with THE OUT because it's cool, hip, modern and fun. You can't beat the area, price or atmosphere! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Room Tip: Hanging out in the outdoor areas are the best. Just sit with your iPad and enjoy the sun and skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JohnBCole,

Thank you for the review! It’s great to hear we made a long time guest OUT of you! We especially love to hear that you highly recommend the hotel and that our OUT Team is able to accommodate you on every stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#109 of 467 in New York City
1,147 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,372 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
963 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing