We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first time experience at Nai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nai Tapas Bar

Nai Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Nai Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,820 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: East Village
Transit: Take L train to 1st Ave-14th St or 6 train to Astor Place.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great first time experience at Nai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just another one of those inconspicuous Manhattan restaurants, whose storefront doesn’t do justice to the experience that is awaiting inside. A few weeks ago, a group of friends had agreed to meet for a birthday celebration at Nai Tapas Bar, located on the Lower East Side. For larger groups, Nai provides a delicious fixed menu for $40 per person, that also includes a wide assortment of tapas, and unlimited pitchers of white & red sangria. Two of my personal favorites include the Churrasco Arriero (skirt steak), and the Gambas Al Ajillo (shrimp in garlic sauce), and let’s just say that the sangria was definitely hitting the right spot! :)

One of the most appealing characteristics of Nai is that the combination of food, ambiance, and entertainment mesh so well together to provide a uniquely cohesive dining experience. There’s definitely a coziness that’s brought about by the old-world wood + brick decor, and combined with an amazing live flamenco show (Thurs & Sat at 8:30pm) definitely brought back a certain nostalgia for places I’d been to while traveling in South America. Will definitely look to come again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mapes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best tapas I have ever had in a restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

1st you should know that my family hails from the province of Galicia, Spain and the food here is the closest to what we make at home and eat in Spain. The food, the ambiance, and the wonderful Flamingo Show, well what more do you want!! Oh and the price $ is right! Looking for a great and different type of night out- give them a call and make a reservation it is so worth it. The staff is very pleasant and only wants to make sure you are happy. We are going back sooner than later and bringing some friends. Oh and by the way they made my husband’s birthday a real hit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtc1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A tapas gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

You could easily miss this place tucked in on 1st Ave. and that would be a shame. It's small and no doubt gets crowded but we went for an early dinner before a show at Webster Hall and it was fantastic. From the chorizo with smoked paprika and potatoes to the skirt steak, goat cheese with pepper and the salad, everything was very tasty and delicious. Great recommendations from our server, who was a blast. And the red sangria....top notch. Didn't stay for the flamenco dancing but one of these days, maybe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I love making a point to go out to the East Village to have some tapas at Nai. Their albondigillas are my favorite from the menu but they also offer seafood, chicken, and other types of small plates. The different types of sangria are also nice to try out. The Red is pretty classic but the other are tasty as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just the Right Portion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had relatives coming down from Canada and my niece found this place on the internet. Location wise this restaurant a bit off the beaten paths of the West Village, but surprisingly it is a real gem. We had a party of six and we booked a table for an early Saturday evening diner. The greatest thing about Tapas is it did not overwhelm you with gigantic portions which no one could possibly finish his/her own plate and winds up taking the unfinished home. Here we could sample a variety of 'appetitizer-size' dishes in different seafood/meat/... staples. A delightful experience to pass around the dishes, munch, chat and to savor over these delicious food. We will return perhaps on a Saturday evening to enjoy the Flamenco Dancing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felixc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nai Tapas Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nai Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing