We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza”
Review of Blue Planet Grill - CLOSED

Blue Planet Grill
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Cross street: Albany
Description: Visit us and indulge yourself with our mouth watering pizza, fresh baked in rotating brick oven, using the finest ingredients, and created by a true master of pizza baking.
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with family . Pizzas good size. Hard to get through one by yourself , very attentive staff. Well priced, considering the location. Would recommend .

Helpful?
Thank Dave2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed the pizza, Dave! Thanks for the review and recommendation. If you're ever back in town, we'd love to see you again.

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    84
    36
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Now New Planet Pizza Bar”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Name has changed but location is same . Great for lunch in downtown NYC across from WTC and Freedom Tower . Very good brick oven pizza with fresh ingredients and great tiramisu for desert . Open air rooms provide for a relaxed feel . TV s to watch favorite sporting events are a plus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Machet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks very much for the kind words, Machet. Glad you can always count on us for a great lunch, and happy you've gotten to try a few pizzas. Rest assured our name is still going strong, too--see you soon!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place near Ground Zero”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I read about this place on another site and thought I would give it a try. It is on the corner adjacent to Gorund Zero. The prices are reasonable by New York standards. The food was excellent. I ordered the Beef Stroganoff. I almost never indulge in comfort food these days but this was a welcome deviation from the routine. The service was very good. I highly recommend this place if you are close by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the recommendation, Jed! I appreciate you giving us a try, and happy everything tasted great. Our beef stroganoff is one of our favorites, as well. Hope to see you again if you're ever back in town!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I am an an Italian American from NY...I know pizza...this was a top 5 place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I usually do not have the time to do a review, but it would be nearly sinful to not give kudos to this place ...we should give people credit when they deserve it!

I have indulged in pizza in Naples, Rome, Venice, Palermo, Caorle, and every small town in between. I am from the Pizza Capital of New York, Staten Island and to say that I am an aficonado of pizza would be an understatement.

The margarita rivals Robertas, Joe and Pats, Nunzios, Lombardi's, and Motorino...How the hell did they get that crust to snap the way it did? The mozzarella, fresh and creamly...the marinara was delicate, fresh San Marzano

As my great Aunt Maria used to say:" Godda blessa, gooda lucka"

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Wow, Charles, thank you for such a wonderful review! It really means a lot to hear these kind words from a pizza aficionado like yourself. Happy to serve you next time you're in the area, though unfortunately we can't give away the secret to our crust's snap ;)

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,114 reviews
595 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Get the special...for $14.99, salad (or soup), glass of wine (or beer or other drink) and pizza (margarita or pepperoni)...very good...great location, open windows, busy, efficient, fast, attentive...all-round nice lunch option.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad you took advantage of the lunch special, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Planet Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing