We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York City Pizza at its best”
Review of Blue Planet Grill - CLOSED

Blue Planet Grill
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Cross street: Albany
Description: Visit us and indulge yourself with our mouth watering pizza, fresh baked in rotating brick oven, using the finest ingredients, and created by a true master of pizza baking.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
455 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“New York City Pizza at its best”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Let me tell you, I am a New Yorker born and raised! I get to come home to the city about every two years.. This is always one of my first stops... The name has changed.. But the quality of the pizza and the attitude of the staff had not changed! This is a must see if you want a good slice of NYC pizza! The staff is great and they will make you feel at home...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Always appreciate the kind words of a local! Proud to be one of your first stops when you come home. I'll share this with the team, too. See you on the next visit to NYC!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    84
    36
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and drinks”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we excitedly found the Blue Planet after visiting 9/11 Memorial. We were looking for a bit of cheering up and found fantastic pizza and drinks. Our favorite was the vodka pizza and the jalapeno citrus cocktail. Service was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroovyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words, Groovy. Glad you were a fan of our pizza and drinks. I'll pass your compliments along to the team, as well. Hope to see you again if you're ever back in NYC!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with family . Pizzas good size. Hard to get through one by yourself , very attentive staff. Well priced, considering the location. Would recommend .

Helpful?
Thank Dave2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed the pizza, Dave! Thanks for the review and recommendation. If you're ever back in town, we'd love to see you again.

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Now New Planet Pizza Bar”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Name has changed but location is same . Great for lunch in downtown NYC across from WTC and Freedom Tower . Very good brick oven pizza with fresh ingredients and great tiramisu for desert . Open air rooms provide for a relaxed feel . TV s to watch favorite sporting events are a plus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Machet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks very much for the kind words, Machet. Glad you can always count on us for a great lunch, and happy you've gotten to try a few pizzas. Rest assured our name is still going strong, too--see you soon!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place near Ground Zero”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I read about this place on another site and thought I would give it a try. It is on the corner adjacent to Gorund Zero. The prices are reasonable by New York standards. The food was excellent. I ordered the Beef Stroganoff. I almost never indulge in comfort food these days but this was a welcome deviation from the routine. The service was very good. I highly recommend this place if you are close by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob K, Owner at Blue Planet Grill, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the recommendation, Jed! I appreciate you giving us a try, and happy everything tasted great. Our beef stroganoff is one of our favorites, as well. Hope to see you again if you're ever back in town!

Best,
Jacob Krumgalz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Planet Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing