We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please try anywhere else. Seriously.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Co-op Food & Drink - CLOSED

Co-op Food & Drink
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Between Ludlow & Essex
Transit: J,M,Z,F @ Delancey St
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Please try anywhere else. Seriously.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner with five other people. The food is mediocre at best.. the drinks were very weak and over priced. If you must go, stick to the sushi, it's the only thing that isn't painfully salty. At this place, you are paying for the privilege of sitting in a dark restaurant with fancy chandeliers and big photos on the wall. You are not paying for good food. Act accordingly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornville AZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Creative menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Creative menu at night and for breakfast they have good traditional options with fast and efficient service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ed_conwayCornvilleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth MN
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to start the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

In our party of four, we had two "sweet" eaters and two who favored the savory -- all four were thrilled. The Dulce De Leche French Toast was coated in corn flakes to ensure a spectacular crunch before hitting the soft, sweet toast; the Buttermilk Pancakes had the tang of real buttermilk that set off the maple syrup beautifully. The build-your-own biscuit offered a great way to enjoy chevre, smoked salmon and spinach -- accompanied by roast potatoes -- while a buid-your-own omelet offered another way to enjoy the salmon and chevre...though this time with onion. Great breakfast that kept us going until well into the evening.... A special treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly, the best prepared food in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having been to another "top" restaurant (Telepan) on our recent reunion trip to NYC that turned out to be mediocre, it was quite a delight to discover the finest prepared food in New York prepared by Executive Chef James London our next eveing. Chef London's Asian/Southern food creations were without a doubt "incredible" -- from fish tacos to swordfish to duck to purple sweet potato pie with caramelized marshmallow topping. Each dish a mouth-watering, fulfilling, soul-pleasing experience. Run, don't walk to taste this food. You will learn a new standard of fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDSUBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
386 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“May need to try again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I went the night after Thanksgiving and we were 1 of about 5 tables in the huge restaurant and i think it negatively affected my experience. I may need to return for a more accurate feel of the environment. So my star rating is only based on the food and service. The food was OK, nothing great or special, just OK and it was pricey. The service I thought was not great, the waitress seemed a lack knowledge about some of the dishes and didn't seem to overly care about our experience. The back room is cool though and if I was there on a better night with a great crowd maybe this would have transitioned to 4 stars overall, who knows...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Co-op Food & Drink also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing