We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in NYC”
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Morningside Inn
Ranked #437 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    204
    258
    119
    195
See reviews for
142
297
106
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Worst hotel ever. After 2 days I started to get red spots all over me, and soon it started to itch like c r a z y! If you do not want 92 (true story) bedbug bites, you should stay far away from this place.

The manager, Patrick, promised us before we left that he at least would pay our dry cleaning bill (and ointment against the itching), since we had to laundry all our clothes in 60+ degrees celsius before entering our apartment at home. (Expensive!!)
He answered our first e-mail that he would compensate us, but then nothing happened and after 3 more e-mails with no response we gave up.

Now we want to warn others not to do the same mistake as we did.

We never saw the bedbugs in the room or the mattress, but our bags was on the floor near the bed, and when we came home we saw them in the bag.
And the itching continued for days.

Please, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Weiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
this customer came to me complaining about a rash he has on his arms, he believe it to be bed bugs we examine the room and this claim was unfounded. they wanted to be compensated for this unfounded claim there was no blood or spots on our white sheets, he warn me that if I do not refund him for his entire stay he would write up a bad review on Trip advisor to hurt my establishment. I did answer ALL of his emails but he was not happy with the response that I was writing to him. I was even nice enough to offer any reimbursement of any monies he had to spend on medicine. even though bed bugs claim was unfounded in Morningside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

October 2013 we booked 7 nights (November) by budgetplaces.com at the Morningside Inn in New York City. We paid budgetplaces.com 99,14 Euro in advance for one night. On arrival on 9th. November the room we were given was not in accordance with the specifications in our reservation.
We informed the manager that the room did not meet our expectations, but apparently it was not possible to have the room we had originally booked. In order to be given another more suitable room it was necessary to pay a surcharge to which we consented having no other option and paid for the seven nights.
When we had finally got to our room we became aware that the 99,14 euros we had already paid to the booking site had not been deducted from the bill. We immediately informed the manager of this oversight and asked for the mistake to be rectified. However he unfortunately became very annoyed and informed us that he had given us a good price for the new room. The money we had paid in advance was in his own words “a fee to get the room for the price we paid”. It was impossible to have any further discussion on the matter due to the verbal aggression of the manager Patrick Arroyo. In view of which we decided not to ruin our holiday but to deal with the matter at a later date.

Room Tip: Be Aware when you book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Patriek2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
How was I rude to this guest, they booked through a third party and Engrande was the one who charge these guest a fee to book at the Morningside Inn I just explain to the guest what exactly what they was paying for, they did not agree with the FACTS so they decide to say I was rude very disturbing I even upgraded these guest to a better room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

morningside inn
PROS: near subway (110th), walking distance to central park (3 blocks), clean towels and sheets, nearby grocery,restaurants,etc.

CONS: we were transferred from a room (facing the street) since the room was under maintenace and front desk officer was not aware (duh!) to a room (facing the wall of another building).no working tv,fan (no a/c,was ok since the weather was still cold); internet connection was poor even when your in the front desk; no shampoo; no tea making facility in the room (as per advertise in budgetplaces.com); common kitchen was useless since no pots,utensils, etc. to be used by the guests.; the bed was not cushioned enough, u can feel the springs; walls are too thin, u can hear footsteps, closing doors, shower running, flushing toilets,etc!

Here is the copy of the reservation details made through budgetplaces.com
1 superior double room Double bed/s, Private bathroom, Kitchen (access to shared kitchen), Telephone, TV, Wi-Fi, Coffee / tea making facilities, Air conditioning, Heating, Hairdryer.

I spoke to Patrick (manager), about my concerns, he said that there was an on-going repair in the building and that's why there is no signal on the tv. But why the heck they have their tv on the reception?! About the kettle at least for the room, he promised to have it available when we get back, as usual empty promise. I got tired already and just decided not talk to the receptionist or any1 about the lack of facilities.
One more thing, since there was no A/C in the room, we opted to open the window, unfortunately, everyday some one smokes.So,we had to close it again.

Point is, if you just want to sleep, this place was ok. Other than that, don't expect any more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank anenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I liked the fact that it was cheap because it was a last minute trip but, we called 3 times for wash clothes and ended up with hand towels, the noise from other people checking in was so loud it woke me up out of my sleep, I called because when I got back to my room it smelled like cigarette smoke and the front desk said oh I don't know anything about that, the heat wasn't that good but the window didn't lock either so it was very cold at times, and as I was leaving out one of the front desk clerks just starred opposed to saying having a good day or hello or whatever. I tried to look at the brighter side but it was hard.

Room Tip: make the room as if you was staying there,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
5 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

In comparatio with New York Hotels and Hostel This is quite cheap and not bad, is close to the metro station which let you be in the city center in 15 minutes,
The are is relax and quiet, with some bars and restaurant aroun.
Is a good option if you don´t wanna spend a lot of money for accomodation and you want a decent place

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 466 in New York City
636 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#438 of 466 in New York City
227 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 466 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#371 of 466 in New York City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Property: Morningside Inn
Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing