We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morningside Inn, NYC”
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morningside Inn
Ranked #438 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
“Morningside Inn, NYC”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Good location. Walk to Central Park & Museums. 2 blocks from subway and on major Bus routes. Choices of eating venues in the area, bars/pubs and coffee venues. The staff are courteous and helpful. Entire Inn smells of Pine Sol, so you know it is clean. Small bathroom, but great shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank jitaylor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    202
    254
    117
    184
See reviews for
138
291
103
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ningbo, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all, the room we were given didn't match the booking and when we tried to explain the situation to the hotel manager, we had to deal with a very aggressive gentleman who was disrespectful and confrontational.
Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
5 Thank Israel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Easy to get to. Bright and clean. Very accommodating front desk and service staff. Rooms are tiny but comfortable. Keep valuables with you. The neighborhood is spacious and offers a range of places to get food to eat in the dining lounge or for picnicing. We will definitely be going back to Morningside, and recommend it to economy-minded friends and travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Mauria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I were on honeymoon and had booked a double with private bathroom. After a long flight, we got to our 'hotel', only to be told that our room was not available. If we could cope, they would give us another room, but with a shared bathroom for the night and then we'd move to our original room. We agreed. We got to the room, to find it half painted, with a mattress on the floor with dirty linen, the wardrobe door jammed open by the 'bed', a broken fridge, no wifi and toilet rolls thrown in the room for good measure. Needless to say, I wasn't very happy. The staff were incredibly unhelpful and we had to find another hotel at short notice, a day before new year. They didn't even refund our deposits. Do not go here.
(We went 2012-2013)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Staff was very friendly (especially Patrick, thank You for Your hospitality), rooms were nice and clean, location was great, foodmarkets, restaurants and subway were near. So great holiday! I recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Henna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We arrived in Hotel at about 5 pm, they gave us promptly our room. We booked one with shared bathroom to save some money and it was totally O.K. for five nights.
The location was awesome, in walking distance to the metro, even fast line was not far, and a lot of restaurants and even a supermarket (very rar in NY) was close. So perfect for a low budget trip.
Our room was provided with a TV and a fridge.
The only thing I would criticize is the safety of your valuable articles. There is no safe provided and the door lockers are poor, so I would recommend to bring maybe a lockable suitcase.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at this hostel (it's not really a hotel but hostel) late in the evening (by 11pm) and were surprised they had changed our booking and provided us with a single room without bathroom. I was sad and disappointed at least by this and on my question why had they done so with any notice to me I had a reply that's usual practice with people who arrive late and do not call in advance. Fortunately next day they provided us with a decent room we booked before. The manager promissed me to give the difference back to my bank account but they didn't do it yet even though I sent some messages. Strange experience, take care if you arrive late and try to call them in advance. I wouldn't stay there any more, definitely

Room Tip: Try to book a private room with a private bathroom and if you arrive late call them to be sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#439 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#359 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Property: Morningside Inn
Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing