We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved my budget stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morningside Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Morningside Inn
Ranked #435 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved my budget stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Budget for sure but was worried after i booked and read horrid reviews. But on my 5 night stay, room was spotless fresh towels and bed clothes daily and felt safe in an exerlant location near cent park

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    197
    251
    113
    182
See reviews for
133
285
101
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uzel, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Cheap, close to central park and subway.
Nice surprise when we arrived as the person at reception gave us an en suite room even though we had booked a standard room. But after first day out we got back to our room to find door open and unlocked thankfully nothing was mising from our room but we asked to not service our room after that. We were only staying 3 nights. Quite noisy as there was a pipe running through the room, but for the price i didnt expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchpudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I travel frequently for work and stay at nice hotels. This hotel was as clean as these expensive hotels. I will definitely stay again. There was no TV in the room but you're in NYC. Who needs TV? The AC blew ice cold. It was quiet and I never had to wait to use the bathroom. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Keithh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had a terrible experience with this hostel. They were inefficient and rude, and I would never recommend it to anyone. They treated us terribly. I phoned on the day we were arriving to confirm that they knew we were coming as we were getting there late, which they said they did. Then, when we got there late at night, about 11pm, they told us that they did not have space for us and were going to put us in another hostel. We were exhausted, having travelled to get there all day, and this was a dreadful way to be treated. They made us wait alone in the freezing cold outside for a taxi and sent us about 20 blocks away. We had selected this hostel for the location, so to be sent 20 blocks away was unacceptable. If we had known before hand, which they could have told us, we could have made arrangements to stay somewhere else. Furthermore, the hotel they sent us to was cheaper than Morningside, but we still paid Morningside full rates for a cheaper, tiny, dirty little room. I have been trying ever since to get a refund for the difference of the rooms, with no success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annetsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are looking a place to sleep and then go arroumd the city... this is a good place. Good service, intenet service, decent bathroom, good tv service............
...................................

Room Tip: More confortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Service: We were lucky and got Victor during our check-in and our check-out. He was very helpful and went out of his way to help us. Kudos to Victor. Unfortunately this was not true for the others at the front desk. One girl in particular was having an animated conversation on the phone and barely looked up to ask what we wanted!
Facilities: They were actually quite good for the price we paid. The room was clean and there were housekeeping services everyday if desired. The bathrooms though few in number were very clean. HOWEVER, the greatest shortcoming in this place was the lack of a KETTLE or even a pot to boil water. True, there was a pantry but there were no pots and pans nor cutlery in sight. If they are so worried about things being stolen, I suggest that they make the customers sign for the items they need to use during the duration of their stay. My husband in particular was very irritated that he was not able to make his own cup of tea at any time he wanted. In fact you can't do anything in the pantry save microwave your store bought food. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in which did not provide facilities for boiling water. If I've known this earlier I would seriously consider not booking this hotel!
Location: It was a convenient short walk away from the nearest subway station, Cathedral Parkway. Food was easily available. Be wary of D'Agostino though. Prices are high and service poor. Westside Market would be a better choice.
Price: budgetplaces offered a competitive price for this accommodation

Room Tip: Room tip: We saw new mattresses being brought in and new air-conditioners installed. Try to get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Everything was good and in safe and quite area. It was close to businesses and stores where to buy food. Also, close subway stations. The TV signal was not very good, the doors where loud and other people were not very quite when closing the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Property: Morningside Inn
Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing