We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
centralnewyork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Location was great for all the walking one does in NYC. Breakfast included, good way to hit the streets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likestogo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    1,624
    571
    142
    134
See reviews for
1,139
1,115
164
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Great location for the Thanksgiving parade - not far from Times Square. Close to the subway and Rockefeller Center. Room was good size, had two double beds for my adult daughter and I. Bathroom was nice too, had a heated floor. Price was definitely not bad for New York. Staff was good - no complaints. Breakfast was ok. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The hotel in itself was nice, for starters the location was amazing. But unfortunately there was certain things that the hotel did that completely ruined our holiday.

The way we had booked the hotel was so that when we arrive, we would be paying off the full balance then. I tried to pay with my card but for some reason the card was not going through, so I said no worries tomorrow I will be withdrawing the money cash and giving it to you. I paid the majority of the reservation by cash and the remainder with card. The new person at the desk must have not told the person that was there the night before that we had already paid the full balance of the reservation and so this particular person decided to help themselves to using my card. I was completely oblivious to this, it only came to my attention when I went shopping and came to buy something and found that I did not have enough money. It was extremely embaressing.

I went back to our room and had a look at my online banking and saw that the hotel had decided to put through 4 TRANSACTIONS WITHIN THE SPACE OF 4 MINUTES. The total amount was for $400 (which was the remaining amount of the hotel bill we decided to pay by card)

I went downstairs and gave them a piece of my mind. To start with, the money which they had taken from us, we had already paid the day before. By the morning after the first night, we had paid off the whole bill in total how DARE they use my card and help themselves to money and what makes it worse is that it was FOUR TRANSACTIONS meaning they tried it the first time and saw it went through so continued to try and take some more out. on top of that. They had taken an extra $145 for absolutely no reason what so ever. Secondly, they had used my card WITHOUT CONSENT. These transactions had taken place 11:48pm I'm sure there is elements of legal issues that come into place, and as a hotel this is appalling behaviour.

After a bit of a shouting match, they returned my money back to me in cash, but this completely ruined our holiday. To top things off we had a little friend visit us in our room which had nibbled a hole in my four year old daughter's coat to try and get to the hershey's kisses that was in there. They changed our room and upgraded us for free. It was a real shame because I couldn't enjoy it properly. It was our first time to the states and to be honest I could not wait to get back. One word of advise, MAKE SURE THEY DO NOT KEEP YOUR CARD DETAILS.

Apart from that, the staff were quite nice apart from one lady who is the duty manager there. Her attitude absolutely stank. I think her name was Ella.
The breakfast was really nice as well and the breakfast staff was an absolute gem, it really is a shame about the rest.

Room Tip: Fully inspect it. Especially the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Great hotel. Excellent location. Very comfortable, clean and convenient. We loved our stay in New York City ... the first time for my friend and I. When we come next time to NYC, we will definitely stay there again. The hotel was perfect for us. From its central location, we walked as far north as Central Park and to the Met and Guggenheim and as far south as the Empire State Building. It was easy to get to the theatre district for evening shows. Rockefeller Plaza and Fifth Avenue were close by. Excellent Wifi in the room. Didn't have time to care about the view, though our room was in front and looked out on a park. Very nice doorman helped us to get a ride to JFK Airport on a busy Friday night. Nice little bar on 2nd floor. It was great!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pushkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I must agree with the majority of reviews I have read here. It's not cheap, but nowhere is New York is. For the price, you get a good, central location, breakfast included (my son was delighted with the doughnuts), wifi, and friendly, helpful staff. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clancy592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was good value for a New York hotel. Still very expensive compared with London and more expensive than luxury hotel in Washington. Luxury could not describe this hotel but it was clean, large twin beds were very comfortable and had all amenities. Very good location near Times Square but in a quieter street. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast included and can help selves to hot drinks anytime. Our room had no daylight but was not too noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyidris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here on a family trip with my mom, sister, and nephew. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was great. Very spacious for the 4 of us and comfortable for the small amount of time we were there. No great view, it's not the biggest room I've ever stayed in, but its clean and the staff were helpful Continental breakfast was nothing special, but about the same quality as other free breakfasts. The best thing about this place was the location! Near Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Fifth Ave, and a short walk to subway stations made it convenient for almost everything we did on the trip. Great price for all that was included in this hotel. I will recommend it to friends and search there for future trips to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fafolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
6,790 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
2,446 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
2,636 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing