We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will return again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Carbon Hill, AL
1 review
“Will return again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was my first time in NYC. The location of this hotel was awesome. It was between 5th and 6th Ave. and one block from Times Square. Close to the subway, Rockefella Center, Central Park. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. We had plenty of room for 4 people. The beds were comfortable. We stayed in 311 and was close to the elevator, but it never bothered us. We stayed on the back side and had no view. The room was very clean. Everyone was friendly. The front desk was not very helpful on directions and seemed confused at anything you ask them. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Just do your homework on the area before you go so will know how to get around the area. I recommend Google Earth. That helped me a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daystar4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    1,612
    562
    139
    133
See reviews for
1,127
1,105
161
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here one night, on our way home from a work conference. Wanted somewhere convenient to go see a show w/out the normal $200-$300 price tag, and this was perfect! Nothing too fancy, but just enough for a comfortable night, seconds away from Broadway. We went to see the Radio Center Christmas Spectacular, and it was minutes away, along with the Rockefeller Center and its wonderful Christmas tree. Decent continental breakfast included, and a small, functional, gym. Parking is almost directly across the street, but if you miss it (like we did), there is similar parking right around the block on 47th St, for $30/night (hotel validation required).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vabeachgrl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited NYC for the first time in Thanksgiving (from the 24th through the 30th). We arrived early in Sunday about 7:30am, we wanted to drop off our luggage and get some breakfast, for our surprise the employee said, that our room was ready and we could get in, he even suggested that we can get breakfast at the hotel. This was very nice after been traveling all night. We made a reservation for a suite with 2 bedrooms (one with a king size and one with a queen size bed, room 311), it was very clean, both bedroom were spacious, and the bathroom was large enough. Every day our room was well cleaned. It's true that the breakfast offered doesn't have much variety, but it was what we expected for the price, the breakfast area was very clean and well stocked: cereals, oatmeal packages, donuts, broiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, hot chocolate, fresh fruits, variety of breads and bagels, juice, milk.... what else can you ask for the price??? The hotel was very busy that week, but we didn't have to wait much for the elevators as other reviews said
The saturday of our departure we left the luggage in store so we can take a last walk in the city, we came back in time to get going to the airport and the service car the concierge got us was already there waiting for us.
We had a great experience, good price, and very close to all the main attractions of NYC.

Room Tip: We got a room at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet even though we were in the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bright_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We paid $400 for a room that we could not get too. The elevator was broken and Charles at the front desk was awful. He told us we could climb seven floors to our room with our luggage or we could wait. No assistance or help was offered. Never stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GemDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear GemDoll,
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced. When you arrived, we were having trouble with the elevator and we could not let anyone ride it until someone came to fix it for safety reasons. At the time of your arrival the staff was helping another guest, but would have been happy to help you as soon as they were free. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Loved the location as we could walk all around Times Square from the hotel. The concierge was helpful with trip planning. We had adjoining king bed and queen bed rooms as we were travelling with our daughter. The beds were comfortable and room sizes Ok but we didn't realise we would only have 1 bathroom. It was in the Queen room which was our daughters also instead of in our King room and it had a glass door which was annoying as light shone through while you were in bed if someone went in there. The room included breakfast but it was the same every day with very small variety and extremely bland. I certainly wouldn't pay for it. Management should really take a look at this. If you want location though it's great for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna777L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Skepitcal but what a surprise, easy check in room clean no frill, location great for time square, good breakfast included in price, evening bar in rest. great rest. across the street CECI, guest relations was not up to pair this was a disappointment, when went to go to airport three different employees gave three different suggestions for serive to the airport, so for the price I would do again but be a little knowledge about NYC

Room Tip: remember no frills but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claymont, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Dear travelers,

The worst customer service experience of my life. I have never been treated so poorly in my entire life. I was scheduled to stay one night at "the hotel of times square" on 12/10/13, however, when I woke up on 12/10/13 it was snowing very heavy, this was at 7am. I said to myself, I better call and let them know I would not be able to make it to the snow storm. I live in Northern Delaware about a 2 1/2 - 3 hour drive to NYC. When I called I was told by the front desk, it was too late to cancel my reservation and get a refund. I voiced my displeasure due to the fact there was a snowstorm going on. I was then told if my room was re-rented I would not be charged. I again voiced my displeasure with this, since there was no guarantee they would rent my room. I asked to speak to the manager who told me the exact same thing. I said, is there any one else I can speak with. I was given another phone number and told to ask for the reservation manager which I did. That person also told me the same thing. Feeling as though I had no where else to go, I sent an email to the of hotel describing my situation and being unhappy about it. Well here's where it gets bad. I received a response to my email from the GM of the hotel Sunnie Chandrawattie. It read, sorry sir, it is too late to cancel your reservation and you will be charged. She did not mention anything about not being charged if my room was re-rented. So now i'm even more upset and call the GM Sunnie. She asked me who I spoke with and I told her the front desk, the manager and the reservation manager all told me I would not be charged if my room was re-rented. She said that's not possible because that is not the hotel policy and they would not say that. So I was told by 3 different people I wouldn't be charged if my room was re-rented. She called me a liar and kept repeating the hotel cancellation policy. To make a long story short, she continued to be rude and unhelpful and I got no where. I checked my credit card statement to see if I had been charged. Indeed I had, and it was for the wrong amount in there favor. I tried to send an email to the CEO Steve Klein(Applecore Hotels). I'm not sure if it reached him or not as I have not received a response yet. I'm quite sure my words above cannot convey the rude, obnoxious people I was attempting to assist me in my time of need. Not only will I never even consider staying at one of their properties ever again. I will make sure every person I ever come across to do the same. In this day and age, I didn't think experiences like this were still possible.

Incredibly unhappy

Mark Houser

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear mark h,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you had to cancel your stay at the last minute due to severe weather. Our cancellation policy states that reservations must be cancelled no later than 3PM EST the day before arrival otherwise the guest will be charged a no show fee equal to one night’s stay. It does not state anywhere in our policy that if the room can be re-rented that we will not charge the fee. Our staff is well aware of this policy, but we will inform them of this again. It is not an uncommon policy and the majority of hotels in New York City and across the country have the same or similar policies. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience and any misinformation you received.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,642 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,696 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing