We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

With many glowing reviews here on TA, I wasn't sure if this hotel would live up to the hype. As others have said, it's a great location if you want to play tourist. We were traveling with an 8 year old who wanted to see the big sites, so being within walking distance of Times Square and Rockefeller center was great. We parked across the street (be careful of the hourly rate if you go over the allotted 24!) and never used subway or taxi, just walked everywhere.

I wish there was a fridge in our room; we booked the family suite which wasn't huge, but it was nice to have separate bedrooms for the price of a standard hotel room. The elevator was slow and the ice machine is in the lobby, so I kept our drinks cold by filling the trash can with bags of ice (filled grocery bags) and kept our bottled water in the ice. $20 a night for a mini fridge was too much for a few bottles of water and soda. Staff was pleasant and the breakfast was basic continental, but had bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit.

If visiting with kids or if you want to play tourist, I recommend this hotel. I'd stay again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    1,668
    593
    142
    140
See reviews for
1,188
1,136
167
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carbon Hill, AL
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was my first time in NYC. The location of this hotel was awesome. It was between 5th and 6th Ave. and one block from Times Square. Close to the subway, Rockefella Center, Central Park. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. We had plenty of room for 4 people. The beds were comfortable. We stayed in 311 and was close to the elevator, but it never bothered us. We stayed on the back side and had no view. The room was very clean. Everyone was friendly. The front desk was not very helpful on directions and seemed confused at anything you ask them. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Just do your homework on the area before you go so will know how to get around the area. I recommend Google Earth. That helped me a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daystar4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here one night, on our way home from a work conference. Wanted somewhere convenient to go see a show w/out the normal $200-$300 price tag, and this was perfect! Nothing too fancy, but just enough for a comfortable night, seconds away from Broadway. We went to see the Radio Center Christmas Spectacular, and it was minutes away, along with the Rockefeller Center and its wonderful Christmas tree. Decent continental breakfast included, and a small, functional, gym. Parking is almost directly across the street, but if you miss it (like we did), there is similar parking right around the block on 47th St, for $30/night (hotel validation required).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vabeachgrl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabela, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited NYC for the first time in Thanksgiving (from the 24th through the 30th). We arrived early in Sunday about 7:30am, we wanted to drop off our luggage and get some breakfast, for our surprise the employee said, that our room was ready and we could get in, he even suggested that we can get breakfast at the hotel. This was very nice after been traveling all night. We made a reservation for a suite with 2 bedrooms (one with a king size and one with a queen size bed, room 311), it was very clean, both bedroom were spacious, and the bathroom was large enough. Every day our room was well cleaned. It's true that the breakfast offered doesn't have much variety, but it was what we expected for the price, the breakfast area was very clean and well stocked: cereals, oatmeal packages, donuts, broiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, hot chocolate, fresh fruits, variety of breads and bagels, juice, milk.... what else can you ask for the price??? The hotel was very busy that week, but we didn't have to wait much for the elevators as other reviews said
The saturday of our departure we left the luggage in store so we can take a last walk in the city, we came back in time to get going to the airport and the service car the concierge got us was already there waiting for us.
We had a great experience, good price, and very close to all the main attractions of NYC.

Room Tip: We got a room at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet even though we were in the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bright_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We paid $400 for a room that we could not get too. The elevator was broken and Charles at the front desk was awful. He told us we could climb seven floors to our room with our luggage or we could wait. No assistance or help was offered. Never stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GemDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear GemDoll,
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you faced. When you arrived, we were having trouble with the elevator and we could not let anyone ride it until someone came to fix it for safety reasons. At the time of your arrival the staff was helping another guest, but would have been happy to help you as soon as they were free. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Loved the location as we could walk all around Times Square from the hotel. The concierge was helpful with trip planning. We had adjoining king bed and queen bed rooms as we were travelling with our daughter. The beds were comfortable and room sizes Ok but we didn't realise we would only have 1 bathroom. It was in the Queen room which was our daughters also instead of in our King room and it had a glass door which was annoying as light shone through while you were in bed if someone went in there. The room included breakfast but it was the same every day with very small variety and extremely bland. I certainly wouldn't pay for it. Management should really take a look at this. If you want location though it's great for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna777L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Skepitcal but what a surprise, easy check in room clean no frill, location great for time square, good breakfast included in price, evening bar in rest. great rest. across the street CECI, guest relations was not up to pair this was a disappointment, when went to go to airport three different employees gave three different suggestions for serive to the airport, so for the price I would do again but be a little knowledge about NYC

Room Tip: remember no frills but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
2,080 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,220 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 467 in New York City
2,713 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#289 of 467 in New York City
2,529 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing