We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free wi fi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel at Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #288 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Free wi fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Good hotel good location free wi fi in rooms very important for me, breakfast quite good, would go again.
Night staff were quite helpful as we arrived 1am in the morning and there was a mixup with the booking

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    1,614
    562
    140
    133
See reviews for
1,129
1,106
161
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were sent here from a sister hotel because they said there was a problem with our room. We arrived late at night and were told we had to pay the price that we originally booked with at the other hotel. (When I made the reservation, this hotel was priced lower and it still was on the night of arrival when I checked) I was told they couldn't change the rate that was given at a sister hotel. It was late and we'd just arrived back from an overseas so, honestly, I didn't feel like arguing the point. Our room had a queen bed, when we'd booked a king at the other hotel. It smelled strongly of spicy, ethnic food. The hotel is an average, older facility. We paid about $300 night with taxes, which was disappointing since we'd just had a much nicer room in Paris for the same price. There was a bar in the hotel, but it is quite shabby and not very clean. I had seen some reviews about unhappiness with the Applecore Hotels and I should have read them more closely.
There are a couple good things to say: The location is very convenient to Times Square and many other attractions. There was a very pleasant employee at the travel desk (I don't remember her name). She booked a private driver for us to the airport at the same rate as a shuttle and that saved us time on our departure day. Other than that, I think I'll do my research if I return to NYC and will avoid this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear KRGreenBay,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you faced issues while checking in. At the time of your arrival at Broadway @ Times Square Hotel, there was an electrical problem with the room, which made it unsafe to rent to guests. We sent you to The Hotel @ Times Square where you were given the same rate. Unfortunately, the front desk clerk does not have the authority to change the rate at the time of check-in. Additionally, like other hotels in New York City, our rates are always changing. However, we always provide an excellent value and always include free amenities not often found in other New York hotels, like WIFI, breakfast, and domestic phone calls. We’re sorry that you found the bar shabby and dirty. Cleanliness in all parts of the hotel are of utmost importance and we will ensure that the bar is cleaned thoroughly.
The majority of our guests at both hotels are very happy with their stay and often become repeat customers. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The perfect location for this hotel makes you forgive some of its sins! We stayed from Jan 25-29. Check in was quick and easy and the service was great. Our room was pretty compact but what we're used to for NYC. No view to speak of, in fact when the curtains were opened during the day, not much light came through! Breakfast was fine but nothing special. Unfortunately the whiff of smoke getting out of the elevator and creeping under the bedroom door might put me off booking again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynseyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect, could not ask for a better location. The hotel was very clean, room was a perfect size. The bellmen there were so helpful and friendly. The bar in the hotel is small, but it was perfect for us, the bartender, Danielle, was amazing. Had a blast at the bar during our trip, cheap drinks, lots of laughs. The free hot chocolate and cappuccino's were a great way to start the day. The bed was super comfortable and so were the pillows. I will stay here again next time I go to the city. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Location of the hotel is excellent. The nearest underground is just around the corner (Rockefeller Center Station, orange line) or just a few minutes walk from Times Square (red line). There is also a small bar on 2nd floor with good prices. Continental breakfast is nice, around 9 o'clock there is usually a peak time and sometimes you have to queue. Rooms are also nice and comfortable, in bathroom there is available soap, hand cream, shower gel and shampoo. Windows do not seal the best, so you might hear noise from the street from time to time, if you are not used to that (but not like all the time). There is only one slow elevator, sometimes it is better to take stairs, it goes faster (in mornings).
We only had small problems with our credit card (we come from Europe), it didn't go through for the payment, so we payed by cash, no problem. But few days later we noticed that hotel took 2 reservation amounts form the account, they said it must be mistake from the bank, the bank said they had charged this amount, but afterwards hotel/bank released cash back to our account.

Room Tip: To avoid waiting for the elevator in the morning, take the room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadv67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights while on business trip. Upon my arrival, I was allowed to check in early, which was great after a 14hours flight. Given the price, it was a great bargain to have basic breakfast included. The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The staff were helpful in providing directions and modifications to my bookings without any hassle. Book early for even a greater deal. There are several affordable eateries nearby. The hotel is a walking distance to most shopping areas and NYC attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed with my fiancé here for New Years and the location was just perfect. The hotel is located just two blocks away from Times Square. The staff was friendly and very helpful along with their concierge. Check ins at 2:00 pm but they were generous enough to let us check in one hour before. The room was nice and clean with a really convertible bed. The bathroom came with plenty of shampoo and conditioner as you can see by the pictures. Overall I was impress with my stay and what I really did enjoy is the fact that they provided free 24/7 coffee and cappuccino in the lobby. The only thing negative I would have to say about this hotel is the elevators can take a little bit long. Other than that you won't regret staying at this lovely and memorable hotel.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that taxes are a lot higher in NYC, so expect a higher bill when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdave247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing