We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel at Times Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel St. James(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
The Iroquois New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Club Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Room Mate Grace(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,717)
Filter reviews
3,717 results
Traveller rating
1,005
1,769
640
155
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
1,769
640
155
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelstimes squaregreat locationfree breakfastnew yorkrockefeller centerboiled eggsrooftop barbreakfast roomfire escapebudget hotelwould definitely stay here againradio city music hallaround the cornertwo blockscentral parkfifth avenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,290 - 1,295 of 3,717 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

good things first;
-Excellent location,5 mins walking to times square, convenient access to subway from many points around.
and the bad stuff;
-very small rooms, isolation was bed, very noisy, we could hear noise from the street and the noise of a fighting couple in the next room
-cleaning was poor, I found a pinch of stranger's hair in my towel, disgusting!
-poor breakfast, disposable cups and plates makes you feel like you are in a hostel not in a 3 star hotel. There is only one person working at the restaurant who is supposed to be refilling the empty buffet. But most of the time there was something missing, if you had the cereals you had to wait 20 mins for the yoghurt. On our first day, we did not know they had a sharp closing time for breakfast, the doors were open so we went in around 10 am. The guy at the restaurant started yelling at us, questioning us, what are you doing here, do not you see the time, go to your room, etc. Very rude!! All he had to say was "sorry sir we are closed". when we remined him, you could tell us normally that you are closed, he said "I am telling you normally" Unbelievable, An apology would have been nice! In the end we've done our part, paid for it, all we expect is a proper service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lin_delft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear lin_delft,
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a great time in New York, but are very surprised that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure that the rooms are very clean and usually do not overlook such issues. We sincerely apologize that there was a hair on your towel and will continue to remind staff that such things cannot be overlooked.
Unfortunately, because we do not have proper space to wash dishes, we use disposable plates and cups for our free breakfast, which is served daily from 6:30am to 10am. The staff works hard to keep the areas clean and well-stocked.
The majority of our guests are very happy with their stay. We provide an excellent value for the money and even throw in free amenities that you won’t find everywhere in New York City, like free breakfast, wi-fi, and domestic phone calls.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

bad condicions for de price paid (block bath, we went to a doble bend room when we book a queen room) , and the recepcionists not friendly. and this is without considering the expensive price. in two" words", good situation, regular hotel

Thank Pau C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Located 46th near 6th it is a great location for a family visiting New York - one block from the action but not too far. There is a sister hotel called Broadway at Times Square a bit closer to the action - I think next time I'd prefer that. We had a two bedroom suite - even with two rooms you couldn't swing a cat - it is very cosy. Rooms very good - bathroom a bit aged and the refillable shampoo and soap a bit of a turn off. Breakfast included - it's crowded but certainly enough choice.

Laundry - there is a "Mr Green Laundry" location 670 9th Avenue - (10 min walk) which is between 46th and 47th street - they offer wash dry and fold - we had two large bags of laundry and it was all done for less than 20 dollars. Open 7.30am- 10pm - it's also a laundromat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in two-room suite at Hotel at Time Square on 3/22 - 3/24/14. It is a great value and I will definitely stay there again. I found the staff polite and friendly. The room was very clean with pleasant decor. Our suite was not huge but nor was it tiny or cramped. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room unbelievably quiet...very conducive to a good night's sleep after a day filled with activities and lots of walking. The hotel location is perfect...subway terminal is just around corner and Rockefeller Center and Time Square are just a couple of blocks away. Conveniences we discovered nearby, all within a block or two, were a 24 hr. Duane Reade store (for drug store and food items, beer, or wine) a Mcdonald's (for my iced coffee in a.m!), and a 2 Bros. Pizza which offers a $1 cheese pizza slice...an inexpensive bite to eat on the go and their pizza is very good! Also, there is a small plaza/park directly across the street from the hotel where you can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or food from one of the many street vendors/food trucks. I highly reccomend Hotel at Time Square.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Michele_Penna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms were nice. Breakfast did not get replenished very fast. Would have like to have had more hot options. Front desk very helpful. Nice location, easy walk to Time Square and the theaters. Over all a good experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews