We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #283 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff at this hotel were lovely and the breakfast was good but the room we were allocated had not got a window with any kind of view or ventilation! The bathroom didn't have an extractor fan which meant that the room felt a little damp - we got soaked one night and our clothes never truely dried. The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were helpful when our coffee perculator didn't work.
I would stay again but I would ask for a room with a window!
The staff were excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,561)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel at Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 3,561 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We usually stay at this hotel when we visit NYC. It's in a great location with Times Square nearby and subway stations around the block. You can easily walk to Rockefeller center, broadway shows and Times Square. Our room was larger than usual in the city this time. It is very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.
Free breakfast is included but don't expect much. I think it's a pretty bad continental breakfast. Generic cereal, soggy pancakes, overripe bananas, tasteless muffins. Not even coffee creamer, only 2% milk. Only the bagels were tasty. And the breakfast room is too small and it was a struggle to find a table.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WvHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at The Hotel on Times Square in April. We had a two room suite which was wonderful. The first room had a queen size bed, tv and enough room to move around, the second room came with a King size bed, tv and again plenty of room to move..the beds were very comfortable. The disappointment was the size of the bathroom which was very small, but it was clean and tidy so what more can you ask for..no fridge was the other irk....it is a very old building so take that into account while waiting for the small elevators, sometimes quicker to use the lovely old staircase..
Having breakfast included was a bonus and this was fine.
The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from Times Square, Rockefeller Centre. It will take about 20minutes to walk to central park, about the same to the Intrepid Air & Space museum ( this is a must see). About a 10min walk to empire state building. We found that it was cheaper to take a cab down to battery park to catch the Staten Island ferry to see the Statue of Liberty and world trade centre than using the met with four of us.
I would definately recommend this hotel. Staff were very helpful and we even stored our luggage for a couple of days while we did a tour before returning to the hotel for another night..This was really appreciated...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneyefordetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We just arrived home after spending 5 days in New York at The Hotel at Times Square. Wonderful location with easy walking distance to theatres, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and more. Breakfast was complementary and included many choices from eggs, cereal, bagels, apples and bananas and more. Small reasonable priced lounge available after 4 or 5. Our room was average size but with comfortable bed. Bathroom was musty smelling but that was probably due to age of hotel but was still clean. Little pricey but compared to other Manhattan a good value considering breakfast and location.

Will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at THE Hotel Times Square in March of 2014. Arrived early and was delighted that they had a room ready for us. The hotel is located in a building that is over 100 years old and they have done a fantastic job of renovating. That being said, the rooms were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Literally you step in the room and squeeze to the bed/bathroom. It was clean but the bathroom was worn and tired looking. There was a few groups staying at the hotel and getting on the elevator at times was a bit challenging. If you are there for the Times Square experience and not planning on being in your room for anything other than sleep. This hotel is a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ilse B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel has a awesome location, minutes from times square and walkable to pretty much all the attractions in Midtown.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice and the room was very nice as well. Can't complain.

It was expensive, but New York especially Manhattan is, paying for the location. My one criticism was that the staff could have been more friendly, most of the time I needed to speak to them they seemed quite moody, no smiles :(.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank philallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 468 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#299 of 468 in New York City
7,494 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,941 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,637 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 468 in New York City
9,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing