We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location top value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location top value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for a week in May. Read many reviews for this hotel beforehand and turned out we couldn't be happier with our choice. Ideally situated as the name suggests rooms were bigger than a lot of more expensive hotels here and were very clean bed was the the most comfortable we have ever had in any hotel. Bathroom was good size and again spotlessly clean..Breakfasts included in price is a real bonus in New York and they were more than adequate to start the day off well. The lounge area is very nice an ideal spot to chill after a hectic day the bar is one of the smallest you will find but a great place to relax and chat. Free coffee machine on ground floor was VERY well utilised. Staff throughout hotel extremely friendly and will make your stay so much nicer. Yes some of the décor in halls could do with upgrade but as you will probably only be out all day and night its not a problem Overall really enjoyed stay and would definitely recommend to anyone Well done to all at the hotel and thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    1,624
    571
    142
    134
See reviews for
1,139
1,115
164
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location for sightseeing and all other tourist activities, if you are planning to spend most of the time around the times square. Good place to stay for a while
Good value for the price. I read reviews about the noise but it wasn't bad at all. Manage your expectations---remember you're staying in NYC. Those are the sounds of the city. The lobby was nice and welcoming as we're the staff. There were lots of guests using the different amenities-computer, printers, having breakfast or coffee. I was in a spacious room on the 8th floor with a lovely view of the park across the street. My bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location overall with affordable dining options near by. Cafe Europe has delicious made-to-order fast food about a block away. The Red Flame is a diner 2 blocks over. They offer lots of hot breakfast choices under $10 including coffee. I splurged for dinner at Del Friscos also close,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raed3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

For New York City - the rooms were large (no bumping my knees on the furniture in this room). Our room had 2 double beds with space between and enough on one side to put our suitcases. A closet with plenty of hangers, enough to hang our clothes (we were in town for the an award ceremony at Carnegie Hall). A desk with a chair that came in handy when charging our phones and cameras and the bureau (that also held the TV) provided extra space for our toiletries. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels. It had a small shelf over the sink that holds toothbrushes and a few items. We left the bathroom door open when taking a shower to let the steam out (no fan in the bathroom). AC worked great - room nice and cool. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows - we slept soundly (had a room on the back of the hotel and it was quiet - no street noises).
The housekeeping staff was really nice - had a smile and a kind word both days we saw her, also making sure we had everything needed and our room was to our liking. She was very helpful when we asked for extra towels.
Location was perfect - just a block from Times Square, couple of blocks to Grand Central Station, and not far from Bryant Park. Easy walking to lots of places.
We were able to put our bags in storage when we checked out - which was very helpful - since we were not leaving until much later in the day.
Had the need to use the computers in the lobby and they were nice (2 Apple Macs). Also nice they put a time limit on the use - so no one could camp out and hog them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel and on a higher floor. We were on the 5th floor and room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
419 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We're not the 1st to stress the outstanding mid-town position of this hotel. We had a nice and spacious room, clean and well equipped. Bring up two reservations. First, the breakfasts are on the austere side. We pondered taking them outside but decided to stay and got used to them. Second, the lobby could be cleaner, especially the rugs. All in all the cost/benefit ratio is definitely positive and it is a recommended place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pttsburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is great and has the perfect location right in times square! Three of us stayed in one room for one night. The room was nice and clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We got there at 6:30am and check in isn't until 3 , we were able to leave our bags at the hotel. We returned to the hotel to rest in the lobby until check in , luckily we were able to check in 2 hours early. They have complimentary breakfast which was so crowded and wasn't that great. Overall it was a great hotel and great price. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at The Hotel at Times Square, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear samsti,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, even though it was so short! We hope you had fun in the city. We’re sorry you did not enjoy the free breakfast in the morning. We are constantly trying to improve and reevaluate what we offer in order to have more variety and better quality.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravenna
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is the perferct solution if you want to stay only few blocks away from Times Square, Bryant Park and Central Park and a few minutes away from the Radio City Music Hall and the Rockfeller Center!! ... the perfect location and its proximity to major subways lines makes it the perfect spot for your stay in New York ... and enjoy the city without much trouble!
The rooms are big (which is rare in NYC) and clean... and not particularly noisy (but do not forget that you are in the heart of the city...)!! The continental breakfast is also included which is also rather rare in this city. It is selfservice, and can be sometimes croweded but you always find a place to enjoy your cereals/bagels/eggs/yougurt/fruits etc... and the food is constantly re-filled so you do not have to worry if you sleep untill late (but be sure to be there before 10 am)).
If I have to find a negative aspect .... I would say that the people at the reception could try to be bit frendlier... but the cleaning ladies are very nice and helpfull.
hope you enjoy your staying as much as I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Quite a spacious room considering the location, just a few minutes walk to Times Square. Very clean. Extremely helpful staff. You get a good deal if you book well in advance. A little pricy but worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,792 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Property: The Hotel at Times Square
Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing