We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times Square's best kept secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel at Times Square
Ranked #289 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed here over Easter weekend/Passover and despite arriving in NYC at a very busy time, we couldn't find any fault with the service at this hotel.
Location is great - 5 mins from Times sq, Rockefeller, St Patricks Cathedral and Radio City. Plenty of restaurants nearby, a Duane Reade drugstore just around the corner and Delis open late just along the street.
Don't go expecting 5* luxury, but the rooms were clean, newly updated, bathrooms nice.Big plasma tvs in the rooms and an ipod dock too. Plenty of fresh towels everyday.
The breakfast was a real bonus: tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal, yoghurt, bagels, doughnuts and toast. Got a bit boring by the 5th day but who's complaining!
Free wifi access in the rooms and 2 computers in the lobby with free internet access.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and acted promptly if you had any problems.
All in all we thought this hotel was excellent value and a fantastic location. We won't hesitate to return there nest time we're in NYC!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czechmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,163 - 2,169 of 3,628 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

The Hotel at Times Square describes itself as a newly renovated boutique hotel. I would say it's a superb value for money budget hotel with some great extras included in the package.

We spent a week in The Hotel and loved enough to take time to write this review! At 59 W 46th St, The Hotel is actually closer to Rockefeller Centre - a plus for us, since it was quieter and less busy. I've been to New York many times on business, and usually stay on Central Park South - but our family budget for this trip was very different.

The Hotel fitted the bill exactly. Before making our reservation, I looked at all the hotels I knew in New York - the "hidden gems" recommended by friends who live there, serviced apartments, and B & Bs in Greenwich and Tribeca etc. When I cross-checked with TA ratings, I just couldn't find anything that was cheap enough for the four of us which didn't compromise on location or quality.

The Hotel is in a perfect location from which to explore on foot, by bus or by subway; it's surprisingly quiet at night (I had requested a quiet room and the hotel kindly obliged); there are plenty of good family restaus close by (eg. John's Pizzeria 260 W 44th St, Lattanzi on W46 th St) when the kids are close to dropping and you simply need to eat something good in a convivial atmosphere; it offers free wi-fi; there's ample hot water at night and in the morning, and a good supply of towels; comfortable King-sized beds; and it's newly refurbished, clean and well-kept throughout.

Our bedroom was spacious enough to have a small desk and a couple of chairs, however public areas are small. There's a contemporary-style foyer which can be a little crowded in the morning but as the hotel only has 140+ rooms, it doesn't bustle like the Hilton on Ave of the Americas. For Central Manhattan at $ 150-160 a night for four of us and a free upgrade to a junior suite - it couldn't have been better! I think The Hotel is a great find.

We were delighted and I would definitely recommend it to all friends who are looking for a good base for a sightseeing/shopping trip to New York. In these austerity times, the location, comparatively spacious rooms, a basic gym and free wi-fi makes it a possible choice even for business trips. It might not have the presence or charm of The Library, W or the Essex House but as an honest quality budget hotel, it's hard to beat.

The breakfast bar in the basement is utilitarian rather than appetising or full of choice - but there are good typical American diners only a block away. The Red Flame on 67 W 44th St is one where you'll find a full pancake and syrup stack, eggs and grits. The Hotel has a Tapas Bar on the 2nd Floor (we didn't visit) and no restaurant as such - but when New York is full of superb choice - why worry? If you have small or young children flagging with jet lag, you can even order in (and actually the Jewish deli across the way does great pastrami!)

A small grouse - it would be nice if the hotel staff on reception were a little more welcoming and learned to smile! - but I can live without that.

The hotel's own website lists its facilities as follows:
Complimentary continental breakfast (7-10 a.m.)
Free Wireless Internet access
24 Hour Business center
24 Hour Fitness center incl. the "PowervibePro™ Workout Bench" (didn't have time to try, but there are pictures on the hotel's on website)
No charge for calls within the U.S
Upstairs Tapas Bar located on the 2nd floor
Concierge Service available
Reduced rate parking
Children under 13 stay free when sharing room with adult(s)
Flat screen cable TV with Movies on Demand &
Nintendo™ video games
Alarm Clock Radio (MP3 compatible) and
iHome:™ audio system for the iPod™
In-room personal safe
Laundry/Valet services
In-room irons and ironing board
Air conditioning or heating
Single or double rooms
Complimentary newspaper weekdays (USA Today)
In-room coffee makers with coffee & tea
Infant Cribs (available at front desk upon request)
Private bathroom with Hair Dryer

Our top "Things to See" (Parents plus two boys aged 13 and 11)
Central Park (& the Carousel!)
Natural History Museum
The Metropolitan Museum
The Whitney
The Frick (for the Vermeer & Holbein)
The Intrepid Museum (fantastic aircraft carrier turned museum- well worth a visit)
Nintendo World (Rockefeller Centre)
Sony Lab (free tickets in the morning - go early)
Ellis Island ferry - for EI museum and Statue of Liberty
Empire State Building - the City Pass cuts down a 2 hour wait outside before the 1 hour wait for the lifts!)
View from the Rock
Rock and Roll Museum on Spring Street after a pizza at Lombardis
Ground Zero - not everything is a Spiderman game
Century 21 for discounted trainers (huge discount department store - close to GZ)
Chrysler Building
Serendipity for the largest ice creams ever seen

I'd also recommend a City Pass (you can buy on line) to dispense with queues - though if you're travelling on a budget, be aware that some museums do not charge for children and some ask only for a contribution - so you have to make sure that you will see enough sights to make the pass worthwhile. And just walk and walk and walk.....!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My father and I stayed April 13-15, 2009 and had a great stay. I was a bit nervous booking on the internet. There were old and new pictures posted, but everything has been renovated. The room was clean, spacious for a large city and the location was great. We had a two queen room and it was exactly like the pictures on the hotel site. We were only two blocks from Times Square and only a few blocks from many other NYC sights. The staff was nice. The wireless internet was a bit slow, but free so no complaints. The lobby hotel internet seemed to have a lot of problems, but I had enough luck printing our boarding passes for our flight back. We thought there was a Tapas restaurant on the second floor, but it turns out it's just a little bar (we didn't try it). The breakfast was great. We felt clean, safe, and like we got a deal. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephgorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

It has comfort of being in main area of the manhatten city and close to times square.
It's small but neat room, free internet wireless facility with morning breakfast & gym.
Little congested.but still good option for one who want to stay in the heart of the city and travelling for business or leisure.
Location is just perfect.
Jet Previlage Membership No. [--]

Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
Thank Ash76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Stayed April 8-10 in a "family suite" of two rooms with two beds and two TVs, no refrigerator. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Others have noted the etched glass on the bathroom door. We solved that by taping some newspaper over it. The renovations others complained of seem to be done, at least in lobby and lower floors. Although clean and with new furnishings and carpet in rooms and lobby, it's an old building with oddities such as hallway doors separating adjoining elevators, some uneven stairsteps, and an unexplainable floodlight that goes on and off erratically in the airshaft (which was our only view). The bar on the second floor is little more than two small connecting hotel rooms. There are two free computers in the lobby but seemed to be a lot of competition for them. The free breakfast until 10 a.m. was well-stocked and convenient. The location is terrific, and the value is great (we paid $177 each night). Be sure to check out on time, though. We got a call at 12:25 p.m. warning us that we'd be charged another $25 if we didn't come down and check out immediately. Via Italiana and Ipanema on the same block were very good, modestly priced restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernVirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

The Hotel at Times Square was in a great location (2 blocks from the heart of Times Square) yet was not as noisy as some of the Times Square hotels can be. The continental breakfast was ample and the hotel rate was very reasonable for a hotel in that part of town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Paying for a US hotel in NZ dollars is scary! We wanted a good hotel in a handy location - without paying through the nose - and spent ages looking for one before settling on The Hotel at Times Square.
We could not have asked for a better location - it was handy to the subway which provided easy access to all the attractions we wanted to visit that were not within walking distance.

While the room was small, it had been recently redecorated and was nicely appointed.
The best thing about the hotel is that breakfast is included in the rate. I calculated this saved us something like NZ$250 over the course of a week. It is not a flash meal, but the bagels were good and set us up for the day.

There are two computer terminals in reception with free internet access for guests.

The only things I would comment less positively about are:
1 the lifts are old fashioned and you have to wait ages.
2 the breakfast room was unbearably hot at times.
3 in our room the door to the bathroom was glass - although it was frosted, it might be be too much information for some people!
There is no fridge in the room, so if you want tea or coffee, you are really limited to black coffee.

I scoured all the travel & accommodation booking sites, and got the best deal through easytobook.com - it was considerably cheaper than booking with the hotel directly.
All in all, a great deal and we were thrilled with our visit to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#190 of 470 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 470 in New York City
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#308 of 470 in New York City
4,222 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#97 of 470 in New York City
856 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#296 of 470 in New York City
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Times Square

Address: 59 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4120
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel at Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated The Hotel at Times Square, a boutique hotel, offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hotel at Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Times Square
At Times Square Hotel
Super 8 New York City
Super 8 Times Square
Super 8 Hotel Times Square
Super Eight New York City
Super 8 Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing