We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£390
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£389
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
£195
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anne S

Big disappointment

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Oct 2019
The Westin Hotel in Times Square is a surprising disappointment. On the first of our two night stay, a loud, disturbing party next door led us to call the front desk. Because there was no Front Desk button, we dialed O and waited and waited for someone to answer. After many minutes, we tried the Emergency button, and after another prolonged wait, we finally reached someone. We reported this the next morning and were upgraded. In both rooms, however, the clock was not set, the television cut out, and the WiFi was almost nonexistent. On our first evening, no doorman was present to help us secure a cab. The final insult was a broken Down escalator which made schlepping our luggage extremely inconvenient. If Westin hopes to maintain a decent reputation, they really need to “up their game.”
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Make sure you immediately complain on anything that is unsatisfactory!
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review
Responded 22 Oct 2019
Dear Anne S,

We are disappointed to learn your stay was met with some difficulties. Thank you for sharing your experience with your welcomed review. We value your feedback and always want to ensure a satisfactory stay. We are glad you let us know about the disturbance from other guests and that a room upgrade was offered. We are, however, looking into why it was challenging reaching us. We always want to respond promptly to our guest's needs. A well-appointed guest room is also necessary and we have our engineering associates addressing a few areas that need our attention. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve and we are confident we can restore the high Westin standards you have come to love should you return. Safe and pleasant travels.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£207
  • Expedia.com
    £203
  • Vio.com
    £196
  • Hotels.com
    £204
0.4 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£193
  • Expedia.com
    £193
  • Priceline
    £193
  • Hotels.com
    £193
1.0 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£233
  • Expedia.com
    £233
  • Hotels.com
    £233
  • Priceline
    £233
0.3 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Hotels.com
£263
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £262
  • Algotels
    £186
  • Skyscanner.com
    £197
2.4 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premium King
Hotels.com
£308
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £297
  • StayForLong
    £257
  • Expedia.com
    £307
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Pool
The Deluxe Double-Double Room at the The Gallivant Times Square
Priceline
£186
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £186
  • Agoda.com
    £136
  • travelup.com
    £170
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
Booking.com
£187
  • Official Site
    £187
  • Expedia.com
    £187
  • Priceline
    £187
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Fitness centre
Arlo SoHo Lobby and public space.
Booking.com
£245
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £245
  • Agoda.com
    £186
  • Official Site
    £245
2.5 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£177
  • Priceline
    £190
  • Skyscanner.com
    £141
  • Hotels.com
    £190
1.1 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£279
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    £279
  • Skyscanner.com
    £248
  • travelup.com
    £262
0.6 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Room service
Fitness centre
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (4,155)
Filter reviews
4,155 results
Traveller rating
1,870
1,298
511
262
214
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,870
1,298
511
262
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square new york great location corner room hudson river per day higher floor port authority an upgrade mini bar the empire state building central location around the corner street noise foundry nyc subway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 4,155 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

We stayed here in room 4137 (good view of Empire State), quiet clean room with daily maid service. With Virgin we had a daily allowance of $30 which would but you 1 beer and 3 cokes so got us a drink each night. Breakfast extremely expensive $104 for x4 continental breakfasts. Plenty of local restaurants within minutes walk to get breakfast at a fraction of the price.
Overall a great location for Times Square, Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Pier 83, Top of the Rock and Empire State.
Just beware when you check out they seem to take a pre auth on your card (we had $150 transaction on our Travel Card for 48 hours before this was corrected to $32).

Room tip: Cheaper, good quality restaurant and bars all within a few blocks to explore!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Stephen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Dear 7Stephen1,

We appreciate you highlighting our dynamic location near Empire State, Top of the Rock, New York Water Taxi | Pier 83, Madison Square Garden, and many other attractions. We are also happy to read you enjoyed the energizing views of Empire State Building from your guestroom. However, we regret your disappointment with the pricing of our breakfast offerings. Thank you for choosing The Westin New York at Times Square, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

The visit celebrating Mom's 85th birthday was great! Thanks to Gm Michael Wlodkowski and FDM Tracy Schwartz for the special personalization! Much appreciated. Great location. Clean rooms. Attentive service. - Barb R

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maps45926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Dear Maps45926,

We are glad we exceeded your expectations on your mom's birthday. We are thrilled to read you loved our dynamic location and refreshing accommodations. We work hard to deliver a revitalizing experience for all of our guests, so we celebrate reviews such as yours. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin New York At Times Square on your next visit to our vibrant city.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

I am still trembling as I am writing- Nicole from front office shouted at me in front of other guests as I stood in wrong que appraently. Not exaggerating but shouted! I was totally shocked and almost thought I am in wrong movie - I booked this hotel paying a considerable room rate purely to feel safe and good - I was refused to be given a room after I arrived after 15 hours of journey to start with since FO wanted to have CC authorisation form to Nicole who just treated me like if I qued up for some begging or something. How do such people exist in hospitality and especially in Westin brand. I look forward to continje raising my concern and hear back from management on Nicole's behaviour! This is cheating, not done.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Joannamariahinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Dear Joannamariahinz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concern as we take matters such as this very seriously. Your feedback, and also your patience in this matter, are much appreciated. Senior leadership has been informed of this incident and someone from our front office will reach out to you directly.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the AIMSE conference as a guest speaker. Clean and quiet room with good cellular and WiFi. Pleasant staff and concierge service, including baggage handling. Hotel conference food service was also quite good. Would stay again!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank CarlGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Dear CarlGagnon,

We are glad your conference brought you to The Westin New York at Times Square. It is good to know you had a rejuvenating stay and that you liked our intuitive associates, refreshing guestrooms, and enriching food offerings. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

PROS
*Location by Times Square was extremely convenient.
*Gym was nice and had bikes where you could take spin classes via the TV.
*Complimentary donuts on Saturday really hit the spot.
*Delivered birthday dessert with message on it and fruit, cheese and crackers spread to our door, which was a thoughtful touch.

CONS
*Not sure what was up with the wifi. Did you have to pay for it?
*One of the bed sheets was pretty stained, which was surprising for such a nice hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank ExtraUnderwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin New York at Times Square for your birthday; it was a pleasure adding memories to the celebration. We are happy our location just by Times Square pleased you and are glad you were able to take advantage of our fitness amenities. However, we are sorry for the cleanliness overlook in your room. We have shared your comments with the appropriate associates to be more diligent going forward. Thank you again for your compliments, and we hope to welcome you whenever you are in the area.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<