We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£250
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sarah S
Stockport

Not what expected

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2019
I have only just arrived first room next to a motor room, asked to move staff said no motor room here but clearly labelled motor room. Second room there is a pubic hair and floor not fully clean but can’t be bothered to complain and change again. Check in woman not cheerful either. Oh wel 5 nights here so just got to hope it gets better!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear SarahS12479,

Thank you for sharing your arrival experience with us. We are sorry we did not provide you with the refreshing and comfortable accommodations that you deserved and we regret the inconvenient room change. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously, and steps are already underway to ensure all our rooms are meeting our high standards. Please be sure to reach out to the front desk if there is anything you need to enhance your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your travel needs, and we wish you all the best.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£171
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.4 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£203
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.3 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Tripadvisor
£187
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £187
1.0 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£245
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Empire Hotel New York City Lobby
Tripadvisor
£190
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £190
1.0 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Pool
Restaurant
Paramount Hotel New York Time Lobby Fireplace
Tripadvisor
£155
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Fitness centre
Arlo SoHo Lobby and public space.
Tripadvisor
£236
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.5 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premium King
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £262
  • Expedia.com
    £273
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £193
  • Official Site
0.6 miles from The Westin New York at Times Square
Room service
Fitness centre
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (4,154)
Filter reviews
4,154 results
Traveller rating
1,869
1,298
511
262
214
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,869
1,298
511
262
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square new york great location corner room hudson river per day higher floor port authority an upgrade mini bar the empire state building central location around the corner street noise foundry nyc subway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 4,154 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

I stayed at the Westin with friends during a weekend trip to New York. We were a group of 3. We had booked a room for 3 persons with 2 queen beds via third party booking site. When we arrived, we were provided with a small corner room with 1 king bed. We complained right away, this was in no way a room for 3 people. The front desk staff offered to bring a rollaway bed AND CHARGE US FOR IT. We were really unhappy with this and contacted the agent we had made the booking with. The agent contacted the hotel at once and found out that they were overbooked so unable to offer any upgrades. We were unable to switch hotels because no availability in the area. Agent was able to get us a rollaway bed with no charge. For a hotel of this class, this is very poor service. We did not feel valued as guests at any moment. The room was outdated and could use a renovation, pillows were uncomfortable, shower very powerless... I will not even consider staying at this hotel next time I find myself in New York.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relianess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Dear Relianess,

Thank you for choosing us to host your weekend trip with friends and for the welcomed feedback. We apologize for the mix-up with the room type assigned and for any inconvenience this caused you and your guests. Our goal is to provide exceptional service, and we regret this was not your experience. We are following up on your comments so we are more consistent in our service delivery. We hope you will reconsider and we have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Thank you again.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

The Westin Hotel in Times Square is a surprising disappointment. On the first of our two night stay, a loud, disturbing party next door led us to call the front desk. Because there was no Front Desk button, we dialed O and waited and waited for someone to answer. After many minutes, we tried the Emergency button, and after another prolonged wait, we finally reached someone. We reported this the next morning and were upgraded. In both rooms, however, the clock was not set, the television cut out, and the WiFi was almost nonexistent. On our first evening, no doorman was present to help us secure a cab. The final insult was a broken Down escalator which made schlepping our luggage extremely inconvenient. If Westin hopes to maintain a decent reputation, they really need to “up their game.”

Room tip: Make sure you immediately complain on anything that is unsatisfactory!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Dear Anne S,

We are disappointed to learn your stay was met with some difficulties. Thank you for sharing your experience with your welcomed review. We value your feedback and always want to ensure a satisfactory stay. We are glad you let us know about the disturbance from other guests and that a room upgrade was offered. We are, however, looking into why it was challenging reaching us. We always want to respond promptly to our guest's needs. A well-appointed guest room is also necessary and we have our engineering associates addressing a few areas that need our attention. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve and we are confident we can restore the high Westin standards you have come to love should you return. Safe and pleasant travels.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

We stayed here in room 4137 (good view of Empire State), quiet clean room with daily maid service. With Virgin we had a daily allowance of $30 which would but you 1 beer and 3 cokes so got us a drink each night. Breakfast extremely expensive $104 for x4 continental breakfasts. Plenty of local restaurants within minutes walk to get breakfast at a fraction of the price.
Overall a great location for Times Square, Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Pier 83, Top of the Rock and Empire State.
Just beware when you check out they seem to take a pre auth on your card (we had $150 transaction on our Travel Card for 48 hours before this was corrected to $32).

Room tip: Cheaper, good quality restaurant and bars all within a few blocks to explore!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Stephen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Dear 7Stephen1,

We appreciate you highlighting our dynamic location near Empire State, Top of the Rock, New York Water Taxi | Pier 83, Madison Square Garden, and many other attractions. We are also happy to read you enjoyed the energizing views of Empire State Building from your guestroom. However, we regret your disappointment with the pricing of our breakfast offerings. Thank you for choosing The Westin New York at Times Square, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

The visit celebrating Mom's 85th birthday was great! Thanks to Gm Michael Wlodkowski and FDM Tracy Schwartz for the special personalization! Much appreciated. Great location. Clean rooms. Attentive service. - Barb R

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maps45926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Dear Maps45926,

We are glad we exceeded your expectations on your mom's birthday. We are thrilled to read you loved our dynamic location and refreshing accommodations. We work hard to deliver a revitalizing experience for all of our guests, so we celebrate reviews such as yours. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin New York At Times Square on your next visit to our vibrant city.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

I am still trembling as I am writing- Nicole from front office shouted at me in front of other guests as I stood in wrong que appraently. Not exaggerating but shouted! I was totally shocked and almost thought I am in wrong movie - I booked this hotel paying a considerable room rate purely to feel safe and good - I was refused to be given a room after I arrived after 15 hours of journey to start with since FO wanted to have CC authorisation form to Nicole who just treated me like if I qued up for some begging or something. How do such people exist in hospitality and especially in Westin brand. I look forward to continje raising my concern and hear back from management on Nicole's behaviour! This is cheating, not done.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Joannamariahinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2019

Dear Joannamariahinz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concern as we take matters such as this very seriously. Your feedback, and also your patience in this matter, are much appreciated. Senior leadership has been informed of this incident and someone from our front office will reach out to you directly.

Be Well,
Michael Wlodkowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews