We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Indian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The MasalaWala

The MasalaWala
Reserve with OpenTable
The MasalaWala is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #374 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: East Houston Street
Transit: MTA Subway: 2 Ave. (F) Delancey St. (F) Essex St. (J, M, Z)
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very nice Indian restaurant with good and authentic food.
Good atmosphere and very friendly management and service make this place really unique and interesting.
When I am back in New York, I will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PiSaVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    63
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A True Gem - Authentic Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

True Authetic Inidan food in NYC. If you are looking for excellent Indian food this is the place to come. I am from the UK and Indian, and have missed our food while touring the US! I can truly say eating here reminded me of food back home, in fact it was much better & I live in the curry capital of the UK, Leicester.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VJM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Indian Home Away From Home in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hands down my favorite Indian restaurant, not just in New York City, but the world.

One cool factor is that it’s located in a very hip neighborhood in Lower Manhattan.

A definite drawback is its size – you may have to wait to get in. But it’s so worth the wait.
Indian food lovers may be well versed in Chicken Tikka Masala and Nan bread. But they may not know one of the specialities of Masala Wala: chaat. Typically, this food is served in push carts on the street in India. I had never seen it outside of India. I was delighted to discover it here.

The ingredients are fresh, and the spice combinations are refined. Enjoyed the bhel puri and pani puri. Delicious chai, mango lassi. Especially liked the fried cauliflower, too.
My friend had the lamb saag. Whenever she gets Indian, she gets saag, and she declared Masala Wala’s the best she had ever tasted.

Every trip to New York now includes Masala Wala. But the real test came this most recent time, when I brought my parents, who grew up in India. They have very high standards for Indian cooking. Especially mom. The verdict: they absolutely loved it. So much so that mom kept on talking about how we could get back there again before they left town. On our last night, exhausted, she even asked if I thought Masala Wala would deliver.

Masala Wala means spice merchant. The owner of the place is quite a character. His face adorns the logo. He is the spice merchant. The Masala Wala. Seeing him is always a special part of the experience. He makes you feel welcome. It’s a home away from home for me. Hope you like it, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KartikSingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious, quaint neighborhood Indian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a delicious meal that included chaat-Wala, lamb biryani and paneer saagwala. Food was perfectly seasoned. Owner was enthusiastic to recommend dishes upon request. We took his suggestions and were very happy we did.
Service was very attentive and quick. The atmosphere is nice casual. Prices were excellent. I can't wait to go back and try more dishes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“excellent great tasting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The meal was very pleasant and had wonderful flavors.
Is quite reasonably priced for NYC. Prompt service.
This is a small restaurant and fairly plain, but clean
and has the feel of a "local" place. Is excellent for what it
is. This is not a 5 star fancy restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 76543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The MasalaWala also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The MasalaWala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing