We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial House Inn
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$472
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
192
136
40
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
136
40
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bshared bathroomeconomy roombagelsno elevatorprivate bathchelsea districtguest houserooftop areanew yorkboiled eggsmetro stopbed and breakfastthe high lineeach morningquiet streetnice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night. It is located comfortably close to great restaurants, the Highline Park and night spots in Chelsea.
The room was small, I had to climb over the bed to get to the window and aircon, however, for the area and the price, its what I expected. The buildings in the area are older, but its a charming hotel with very friendly staff.
The metro station is located within walking distance. If you are up for a comfortable walk, Penn station is also within reach.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bathroom, so if this does not work for you, be sure to book a room with a private bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My daughter and I had a great stay at this lovely hotel. We have stayed in New York three times and this was by far the best place. The hotel is an old Brownstone in a lovely quiet leafy street and was the perfect retreat after a hot and tiring day of sightseeing. We didn't hear any noise from the street which is amazing considering how busy the city is day and night.The location was excellent,Chelsea is a vibrant colourful district and you certainly get the authentic New York experience just by wandering around the nearby streets, yet it feels friendly and safe at all times. There are two excellent delis (one on the corner with eigth avenue) where you can get fantastic cheesecake and picnic fare plus numerous restaurants and food stores .The hotel has tea ,coffee (and cakes) on tap all day and the owner is very relaxed about people bringing in their own food. We often had a nightcap on the roof garden and admired the NY skyline by night (beware mozzies if you do this in summer).The highline garden is a couple of blocks away as is the Empire diner which featured in the film men in black, both are well worth a visit.There are three main metro lines very close by which made getting around very easy-pay for the weekly ticket which comes with a map and is very reasonable.
The hotel itself was very comfortable,we had reservations about sharing a bathroom but it wasn't a problem, I had a shower every afternoon and night due to the heat and there was never a clash.The rooms ,bathrooms and bedding were kept immaculately clean by the friendly maids and the matresses were really soft and comfortable. Getting all our belongings and clothes to fit was a packing challenge and the room was quite small but it's par for the course in NY and for the price .If you like a lot of space book one of their suites.The aircon was a bit noisy but did a good job (essential as it hit ninety degrees the week we went). There was a DIY continental breakfast which was basic but nice, we especially liked the bagels, cream cheese and fresh coffee. The overall atmoshere of the place was really relaxed and it felt like a home from home. I agree with some of the other reviewers that some staff were much more helpful than others. Tony the owner was particularly nice and nothing was too much trouble, he had our bags carried down the stairs for us and made lots of helpful suggestions about restaurants etc. I would check where your room is as the stairs are very steep and there isn't a lift , this would definitely be an issue if you had any sort of walking difficulty. My daughter and I struggled to get our suitcases up two flights of stairs on arrival and unfortunately Tony was not there to help,so check when you book if this is likely to be a problem. Chelsea is a gay district and this hotel is gay friendly but we straights (I think that's the right term) were made to feel very welcome .
I would definitely go to this hotel again it is a clean friendly quiet relaxed comfortable base in a fantastic location .

Room Tip: Room 20 was a nice quiet room at back but it was up two flights of stairs so only for the fit. Ask where your room is as there are more stairs and floors !
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redforpluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This Hotel has a wonderful staff ( especially Lillian), is very clean and nicely located. Subway station just a block away with plenty of restaurants and services close by as well. The breakfast offerings were pretty plain and our bed was hard. We will check before returning to see if the mattresses have improved. I love NYC!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very Glad we stayed here for 11 nights in May. Well priced (- well the best value I could find in NYC), the rooms and shared bathrooms were always clean and the staff were very friendly - of course the place isnt perfect ( and we couldnt expect it to be) - but It didnt bother us as we were out and about most days and the price was right.

After reading how small the rooms were, we were pleasantly surprised with our standard room - as although it was small by world standards, this was NYC! we had more than enough room for two people and we were there for 11 nights. Bed very comfy, Linen good, with a good air conditioning unit.

Location - it was situated in a very safe and lively area close to transportation, restaurants and the tree lined streets of Chelsea was a welcome respite after tourist meccas like time square etc.

Would stay again for sure, but wished next time they had free wifi or costed it in to the price of the room.

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra for the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great location, friendly staff, but details were lacking!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank AestheticPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews