We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love this place!”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Another wonderful stay at Colonial, we love the small economy rooms, gives us more $$$ for the big city sights & pleasures. They have coffee & tea available 24 hours & I had a hot cocoa before bedtime.

The Summer Roof top deck is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here several nights in March. The B&B is on a quiet block of a tree-lined Chelsea Street. The location is great, with the subway less than a block away, Chelsea Market, the Meatpacking District, Union Square etc within easy walking distance. I had a superior room with an attached bathroom, but the hall bathrooms for the standard rooms were cleaned several times a day and looked to be a good option for the budget-conscious traveler. The room was small but clean and nicely decorated with original art pieces. The staff was helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is a lot more personal and homey than you can find in any of the large hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PARoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Staying at the Colonial House Inn for 6 nights was wonderful!. I was there with my daugher for a couple of nights and then as single traveler for rest of stay. I couldn't have ask for a better location to explore the city. The room was very clean and comfortable and staff always friendly and helpful. As this was my first visit to the city I feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This bed and breakfast was suggested by a conference I was going to in New York put near F.I.T. From when I arrived, they were so super friendly, awesome and interested in making sure I knew how great my surroundings were. The cost/savings was so amazing that I stayed an extra 3 days in NY. The guests staying in the B+B were equally great during the breakfasts times. They were families, business people, and just good people. There were even people that were locals, displaced by the hurricane that were all super. The location, I have to admit I fell in love with. Close to the gallery district, subway system, Chelsea High Line, Market, and it just continued. Definitely, I'll always check to see if accommodations are available here first because it's my new New York home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Colonial House Inn is a fantastic gem in NYC. The B&B is situated in a beautiful and leafy street in the heart of Chelsea and the location is minutes away from the High Line, Chelsea Market, and the [C,E] 23rd St. subway station. The various rooms on offer mean there is a room for everyone on different budgets. We rented a room with a private shower/bath and we found the room to be quite spacious for NYC, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast on offer was also good with various bagels offered (as you do in NYC) and other fruits and condiments. The Colonial House Inn staff are very friendly and are always willing to help. Internet is available at a low affordable price (with no restriction on devices that can be connected) and is available throughout the building. The only drawback we had was the fact that there was no lift facility but this is a given considering the nature of the building -- and besides, those stairs are always good for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hendyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have been visiting this place for years and really feel at home with the atmosphere. It is not one of those hotels with all the rooms matching like they were made from a cookie cutter. Some rooms have private bath, some don't. Some rooms are large, some are small.
The idea here is diversity and freedom of choice based on your needs and your budget. And that's where Colonial House really shines.
They offer a great breakfast (try the awesome fresh-made muffins), discount coupons on clubs and attractions all over the city, free wi fi connection and a friendly and caring staff. Best of all they offer rooms at an affordable price.
It's a safe and short walk from the inn to all the restaurants and clubs that have made Chelsea such a popular part of the city so you save time and money by not having to take a cab to from one of those cookie-cutter hotels uptown.

Room Tip: Spend time studying the room details on their web site. They are really accurate and honest in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

As other reviews have indicated, this is a terrific property in an excellent location. It is not a fancy property for those looking for luxury, but clean, functional and a fun base for a Manhatten visit. The historic value of the building is a plus (terrific character), but inforces limitations (no elevator, smaller rooms). If you are prepared to be flexible in your expectations of a hotel room, this great little gem offers a wide range from tight bedrooms with shared bath - to a very generous garden suite with opulent spacious shower/private bath. The breakfast is great, but the staff's willingess to help in every way is the shining star. Good value for the always expensive Manhatten sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter. Expect some noise from radiators, know that you will have to car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#10 of 78 in New York City
373 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
594 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £75 - £828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing