We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stairs”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #6 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we found the room just to small for the two of us and our two bags, we had come off a cruise so the bags were large had 20 kg of cloths in each them. To get to our room we had to carry them up and down 50 steps if we had been on the next floor up it would have been 65 steps. I asked for some help from the house Frau who checked us in and got a load of [--] she also went on about the key and handing it back in every time we went out as it would take 24 hours to replace and cost us if we lost it I am 69 and my wife is 65 and we have never been talked to like this by any hotel staff in all our travels together. come again I do not think so.

Gerry

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerry191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

On the upside: excellent location in Chelsea near 8th Avenue and subway. Most staff is nice and helpful.
Slight reductions for badly designed fixtures in our room. We took a suite, for 3 adults. Space was good, but the bathroom is just as badly designed and built as one can imagine. Enough space, but a tiny toilet where a person with legs and knees can hardly sit down, not to mention stand up. No need for such stingy space allocation. The bathtub is black... A really bad idea in a hotel room. The shower is in the main space of the bathroom, without curtain or even a floor separation, so that one can't use it without irrigating everything. Not to mention the insufficient drainage: the water will tend to spread to the bedroom, since the gradient is insufficient to motivate water to go for the hole where it should go. No towel hangers near the wash stand either. Enough already?
From looking into some other rooms we got the impression that normal rooms are small but adequate. This may be an ideal place for single travelers.

Room Tip: Don't take the basement suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I already knew this area of town, having stayed there about 12 years ago... and I've been coming to New York for a number of years now.

The Colonial House Inn is a great B&B New York town house in the Chelsea district - which has very leafy streets and trendy avenues. The Inn itself is a friendly place to stay, with a really community feel. I was made very welcome from the start and had no issues to speak of. My room was on the top floor - 3 flights of stairs - which to be fair, could be quite a hike for some people... but it does say that on the website. There is no elevator. Some rooms have private bathrooms, whilst others (cheaper) have a shared bathroom on each hallway. I never had a problem getting a shower or waiting for the bathroom! The Inn has a nice quirky, arty feel. Whilst I was there, there was a broad range of folk staying, some couples, a few business people and the Inn is also Gay friendly - well, being in Chelsea, that goes without saying.
Breakfast is included, and is comprehensive. There are cereals, Bagels, bread, muffins, eggs, etc. Tea, Coffee and juice - or you could make your own, there is a large refrigerator and a microwave. There is also a roof terrace, which is decked and has loungers.

Chelsea is a great neighbourhood - there are lots of delis, coffee shops, restaurants, trendy shops, etc. all the way up and down 8th & 9th Aves. Even Google has also opened it's offices down on 8th Ave!

There is good Subway service at 23rd & 8th, and 14th & 8th. You can take the A or E trains direct from JFK. Chelsea is also only a 5/10 min walk from The Empire State Building, Flat Iron district or MSG. Down town, you can walk right into the West Village or Greenwich Village very easily.

All in all - I would highly recommend the Colonial House Inn to anyone, and I'm sure I'll stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ColHawksworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Another wonderful stay at Colonial, we love the small economy rooms, gives us more $$$ for the big city sights & pleasures. They have coffee & tea available 24 hours & I had a hot cocoa before bedtime.

The Summer Roof top deck is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here several nights in March. The B&B is on a quiet block of a tree-lined Chelsea Street. The location is great, with the subway less than a block away, Chelsea Market, the Meatpacking District, Union Square etc within easy walking distance. I had a superior room with an attached bathroom, but the hall bathrooms for the standard rooms were cleaned several times a day and looked to be a good option for the budget-conscious traveler. The room was small but clean and nicely decorated with original art pieces. The staff was helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is a lot more personal and homey than you can find in any of the large hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PARoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Staying at the Colonial House Inn for 6 nights was wonderful!. I was there with my daugher for a couple of nights and then as single traveler for rest of stay. I couldn't have ask for a better location to explore the city. The room was very clean and comfortable and staff always friendly and helpful. As this was my first visit to the city I feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This bed and breakfast was suggested by a conference I was going to in New York put near F.I.T. From when I arrived, they were so super friendly, awesome and interested in making sure I knew how great my surroundings were. The cost/savings was so amazing that I stayed an extra 3 days in NY. The guests staying in the B+B were equally great during the breakfasts times. They were families, business people, and just good people. There were even people that were locals, displaced by the hurricane that were all super. The location, I have to admit I fell in love with. Close to the gallery district, subway system, Chelsea High Line, Market, and it just continued. Definitely, I'll always check to see if accommodations are available here first because it's my new New York home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,701 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#12 of 79 in New York City
365 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 79 in New York City
614 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#28 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £131 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing