We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #12 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights - I'm not sure if I just love New York and this place gets extra points for simply being host to my experience but whatever the case it was a great location in Chelsea, half a block from Metro subway, there's great dining or quick food options very close, it's close enough to Greewich village/Washington sq area for good nightlife and not have to worry about getting a cab late/cheap. The highline walk is about two blocks away along with all the small art gallery's underneath it. The Rooms are very small but you're in New York so it's not like you want to just sit in your room all day anyway - daily housekeeping was very good and the room was clean - the shared bathrooms were immaculate and never had to wait for a shower. The rooftop area was a nice place to chill,out and reset - often got takeaway salad from foragers on the corner and had lunch up there. The breakfast was better than most complimentary breakfast efforts and the staff were all pretty helpful with directions and recommendations. The stairs are hard if you've got a big bag, we were on the top floor and the room was pretty warm most of the time (lucky the air cooler worked) but other than that I can't fault it - we had a wonderful convenient stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sathya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    125
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
133
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just returned today after spending 3 nights at the Colonial House Inn. We paid a little extra for our own bathroom and it was well worth it. We also lucked out with a room facing the back. It was peaceful and wonderful to awake to the sound of birds instead of traffic. It was hard to believe we were in the city! Lots of stairs to climb but not a big deal if you have a pair of good working legs. Nice little area for coffee, tea and breakfast included with the room price. Very artsy and beautiful, historic building. Friendly staff were always available to answer any questions. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms with excellent housekeeping. We slept comfortably and arouse refreshed each morning. Easy walk to the subway. High recommend!

Room Tip: Back-facing rooms are very quiet. Convenient location to the Subway andc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichandLauBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Colonial House Inn was brief this time, but I stayed there for a week several years ago. Price is very low for the quality and location you get. Nice little rooftop area, simple and yummy continental breakfast to grab on your way out each morning, and a block and a half from the subway that will take you to the heart of Times Square. The owners are flexible and worked with me to book a room for one night when the minimum is normally four nights. I've only stayed in rooms with private bathrooms, but the shared bathrooms in the hallways were always very clean and fully stocked anytime I used them.
Overall, I never go to NY to stay inside. If I had to, though, I would be comfortable and have someone at the front desk to answer my questions. Perfect choice, great neighborhood (dogs being walked, trees lining the streets), and several good cafes for a croissant on your way to Central Park. :) Don't miss the Colonial House Inn!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KMarieDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This has been one of my favorite sorta "economy" place to stay in NYC for years. While all the rooms do not have private baths the shared and private baths are always cleaned exceptionally well...I note when I use the shared baths never a problem sharing and always sterile and clean. Access fo so many subways very nearby makes this a plus for the location and getting the 7 day Metro Unlimited Pass is advisable. The staff is very helpful but wifi is not free and the old fashioned pay computer and printer is a hassle and antiquated. While it was a rainbow B&B at one time its attractiveness to Europeans and others makes for a delightful mix of folks at breakfast. Often this place is booked fully and the standard rooms are very small but if the price is right one would never complain even with all the steps and no elevator. If one has problem with steps I would search elsewhere but staff again is helpful with luggage and couldn't be nicer overall with help on anything to make your NYC stay delightful. For theatre goers the subway is so close and convenient and a fast way to get uptown to the theatres.

Room Tip: Rooms in basement and second floor are prime cause less steps to maneuver. Front rooms are sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hubert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

arrived into Penn Street station mid afternoon- walked with luggage to Colonial House Inn- had basement room down two fights of stairs. Room was suited for 2 couples would be rather squashy with 5. Nice garden area to sit and review the day prior to going to dinner with unlimited choices. We walked to Chelsea Markets that same afternoon, then up to the Hi Line taking some great shots of the city that you don't always see. Empire State just peeps out at you at each turn of the overhead garden railway. Then walked up to Broadway and Times Sq grabbing some dinner before we head back to CHI walking all the way. 4 tired over 60 year old aussie tourists, although well satisfied slept like babies in comfy beds. Bathroom in Paradise room was a little daunting- getting in and out as no steps to enter bath and floor could be rather slippery. Toilet leaked and air-con was not working unusually warm for October in NYC. Staff helped as much as they could and finally ac was functional. We purchased pass to travel on bus rail etc and this was really worth the money just to not have to worry about hassel to buy single tickets. The CHI is just a spit from the sub-way and just around the corner from a great cup cake shop yumm! Would I stay again most certainly even it was just to take in a true NYC living- sitting in the garden at night was an experience in itself listening into peoples lives and daily activities thought we were on a movie set of Cat on a Hot Tim Roof! sirens and NYPD arriving at appartment blocks behind our residence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Despite having such a small room we were very happy as after all i usually care about is a comfy bed - tick, and a great location - tick. We shared a bathroom on our floor with one or two others which was not an issue and the sink in the room was very handy especially over new years and christmas when many people need to get ready at the same time. The bed is small but very comfortable and we slept great. The little flat screen tv was nice i dont usually watch TV on vacation but it was so cold at night that it came in handy. we were on the second floor and with all of our luggage after 5 weeks of travel it would of been hard to get to the top floor. The staff were friendly and the artwork is really nice. The hotel also smells wonderful like cinamon or something. One thing that would improve the small rooms and i cant understand why we didnt have them but please get towel racks and more hanging hooks 9 days in a small room with no towel racks was annoying. The heating was another one, sometimes so hot we had to open window and be cold and other nights not on at all??? The location is great and Chelsea is very charming, we would return to this hotel. (room 11 is pretty good for a small room) 24 hour tea/coffee was nice and breakfast was pretty good lots of variety but some of the pastries a little stale.

Room Tip: lower floor the better very steep stairs. not good for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tequilasunrise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a nice old hotel. It is in an old 4 storey building. It is a friendly place. The continental breakfast is very good with a variety of cereals, boiled eggs, bread etc etc. Wifi is a bit slow, but OK. Since it is a very old house, it doesn't have an elevator so you have to carry your bags for several stairs if you happen to get a room on the fourth floor. The hotel is well maintained and clean and the staff is friendly. We had a problem when we arrived. We had reserved a triple room, but for some reason they had made a mistake so we were booked in a double room. That created a problem, since we were three people. Initially the lady in the reception suggested that we solve the problem by getting a discount on a second room. However, since the mistake was not ours we disagreed since it would generate an extra cost for us. She called the manager and then we got a second room at no extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Property: Colonial House Inn
Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing