We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Town”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #7 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Town”
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Without a doubt Colonial House has all the others beat in terms of location, rooms, cleanliness, friendliness and bang for the buck. We have been going there for years and are pleased that they stay on top of the competition in this fiercely competitive city. Special kudos to the manager, Tony, and his staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    129
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
45
139
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Our triple superior room was very small and poorly furnished with shabby furniture and threadbare rugs. It was very depressing to be in the room and made sure that we left early and returned late.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMMA92037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The location was top, subway just around the corner, the main street has several good restaurants and bars. The staff was very helpfull as it was our first trip to NY, we could use some extra advice ands tips. The breakfast was good. We had the paradise garden, the shower was great, we miss it at home! Shortly, we would go back whenever we go to NY again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadinekebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We have just returned from our stay at the Colonial House inn in Chelsea Manhattan in NY.

The Hotel is in a great location on 22nd street on a leafy surburb in Chelsea and a 2 min walk to the Subway on 23rd street which will take you all over Manhattan in minutes or take Manhattan by foot which is the best way and you will see alot more depending on what time you have.

The Hotel/Guesthouse is a great place to stay for any traveller depending on what budget you have, we had a Economy room which was very small with a window,double bed, little wardrobe and sink but dont let this put you off as we was hardly in the room at anytime and only used the room for sleeping and getting ready and was very cosy and hardly heard a thing at night due to its location.
There are restrooms and a large clean bathroom to get ready in and never found it a problem and Bathrooms was always available.

There was always someone on the Front desk and they are all very friendly and will help you with any questions you may have.

The Breakfast is reasonable and free so couldnt complain and always had us going until around dinner time and there is free tea and coffee available all day and night.

There is a rooftop terrace but they were doing work on it when we was there so we didnt see it this time.

There is wireless internet available at $3 for 24 hours which we thought was very reasonable and a computer with printer at the bottom of the hotel for $2 for 20 minutes i think

The Guesthouse is very well located to all the Gay Scene in Chelsea and found the whole place really gay friendly and never found it a problem to hold hands with my partner.

We also highly reccomend Spice which is a Chinese restaurant 2 mins from the hotel and very reasonably priced

So if youre looking for a nice guesthouse in a gay friendly part of Manhattan stop here there are loads of different rooms to choose from, we will stop here next time we are in NY

If you have any questions dont hesitate to ask :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Great, cosy b&b, nice rooms and very helpful staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selenelolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We just came back from another delightful stay at CHI and found nothing lacking. As frequent visitors to New York City we have to stay in other hotels when Colonial House is full (tip: book early). Compared to other bed and breakfasts in the area you can't beat this place for economy, cleanliness, friendliness and location. The newly renovated roof deck was a pleasant and delightful surprise.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

hotel is on a pretty tree lined street., perfect locale. I stayed in a room w/ 1 double bed/shared bath. The mattress was soft, but comfy. The pillows were very hard. No curtains, 1 large blind that was very frayed/dingy and didn't eliminate light from the room. AC worked well, but the front of the AC was very dirty. TV didn't work. Tiny sink area in room w/ mirror/ adequate closet. Relatively clean; 1 dirty towel left behind. Bedside phone dirty; didn't want to put it to my face. Nightstand needs to be replaced; chipped, dirty. Carpet dingy. The hall toilet/shower were clean. The only hairdryer was in the shower room, not in the hotel room.

Most of the (cleaning, front desk) staff was very nice, helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was generic, low quality.

I would recommend w/ the caveat of describing the place first. Everyone has different needs and expectations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuffedcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#44 of 466 in New York City
2,099 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#302 of 466 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 466 in New York City
529 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 466 in New York City
3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Property: Colonial House Inn
Address: 318 W 22nd St, New York City, NY 10011-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of New York City's vibrant Chelsea neighborhood and steps away from the subway and buses, shopping, restaurants and New York's most famous attractions, Colonial House Inn has been a charming home away from home for visitors from near and far since 1985. Our warm and welcoming hospitality and clean well-appointed rooms and amenities keep our guests coming back year after year. Our reasonably priced 20 guest rooms and 2 luxury suites, that include an elaborate complimentary continental breakfast daily, are a refreshing change from the typical New York hotel. We invite you to stay with us and experience our friendly hospitality and special charm. We look forward to your visit and to welcoming you to your New York home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing