We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Place - Wait for It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #155 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We decided to stay at the Hyatt Place on W 36th Street in NYC as we could use a free night we received for having a Hyatt Credit Card. We were given a small, but nice room on the 18th floor. Little did we realize that the two public elevators the hotel had are also used for staff. Hence, it took forever for an elevator to arrive and often when it did you had to share your ride with the cleaning crew and chemicals.

The situation was even worse at breakfast. As the Hyatt Place has a free breakfast and the size of the room in which the breakfast was served was fairly small (much smaller than one would expect for a hotel with this many rooms), we had to wait in line for the food and then hunt for seats to eat at. After breakfast it was another wait for the elevators.

While the room was nice and the price was right ($75 for the Hyatt credit card), unless you do not mind spending part of your vacation waiting around for elevators, my suggestion is to try a different hotel in midtown New York. Frankly, I do not know how they received a certificate of occupancy from New York City.

When we checked out the staff asked how our stay was. I pointed out the long waits for the elevators as well as the breakfast and she says she hears this a lot from guests.

Room Tip: Pick a low floor you can walk to so you can avoid using the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyattguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,925)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for its location and we were not disappointed. It was very close to the Empire State Building, down the street from Herald Square and Macy's, as well as a few short blocks from Times Square. The service was excellent. The staff were all friendly and willing to help out with anything we needed. The breakfast was included with the room which is almost unheard of in NYC and it there was a large selection of food. The free wifi was a bonus which most other hotels we looked at in the Big Apple were charging extra for. We would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I had to stay here on short notice and was quite impressed. Very new and week done. My room was quiet. The bathroom was super clean. There is a lot near the hotel. A new spot almost next door with drinks, smoothies, fresh fruit, etc....and the room had a small fridge. Just down the street is a Duane Reade and McDonalds if you need it. The front desk staff was friendly and arranged a car for me for the next AM and I was happy with that service also. I booked this through Expedia and it was a real value for Manhattan.

Room Tip: I was in a corner room on the 20th floor....it was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwaNtheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Hyatt Place was located very close to The Empire State Building, two blocks, and had incredible views. We selected this hotel since it was one of very few that would take a family of 5 in one room. It had a convenient location, short walk to restaurants, subway, and Times Square. Room was small for 5 people & luggage, but clean. Breakfast was included every morning, but had to be down there by 8 AM to sit together. I would definitely recommend to other travelers. Also had free wifi which was great for teens and smartphone users.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family5funtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

From the outside, you may not expect much from what seems like a budget-oriented business hotel. I did. But I was pleasantly surprised to learn what a great hotel this is. Truly exceptional service, across the board. Very nice, clean rooms-- and the higher up you go, with truly great views. And on the corner of 36th and 6th Ave, it's hard to find a more convenient location. Would definitely return, and recommend to friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great concept from Hyatt. No frills, just what is needed. Rooms are small, but hey, it´s New York and rate is under 200... Great location, clean, staff attentive and friendly. Breakfast could be a little busy, expect some lines. Overall, I recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillerm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Spent two nights here with my wife and three kids for a quick stop in NYC. I have two teenage daughters, so we elected to get two rooms rather than squeeze into a two queen + sofabed room. Good decision, as the rooms are pretty small.

Check-in was pretty easy. We had a car and five people to unload. There is a loading zone for the hotel right out front, and the bell staff did a pretty good job of keeping it clear for hotel patrons. We were met outside by a bellman with a cart who had our car (Yukon XL after 600 miles of family travel) unloaded in 5 minutes. Checked in at 4:00pm, but only one of our two rooms was available (we found out why later). Unloaded all of our stuff in one room while we waited for the second room (which was done by 5:00).

Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Views from the 9th floor were unexciting but safe. The space itself will do just fine if you're using it as a place to leave your stuff while you enjoy the city, which is what we did. Rooms were quiet at night.

Breakfast was a typical Hyatt Place AM Skillet--scrambled eggs, link sausage, bagels, pastries, cold and hot cereal, fresh fruit, and coffee for free. Specialty coffee drinks available right there for a fee. There was no line at 7:00 on the first morning. On the second morning, we arrived at 8:00, and found a line of about 20 people that moved pretty quickly (we were serving ourselves in 5 minutes).

This Hyatt Place seems to have plenty of bell staff, but housekeeping seems very understaffed. We were on the 9th floor, and the housekeeping staff arrived in our room at nearly 6:00 pm. When we left for dinner at 7:30, they were still cleaning rooms on some of the lower floors. They work very hard, but seem to be a little overworked for the size of the hotel.

It's a nice room for a pretty good price (especially if you shop around--we got our rooms for under $200 each) that is in a very convenient location (2 minute walk to Macy's and Herald Sq. metro stop, 5 minute walk to Times Square). Parking is available in a garage half a block away. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with accessible showers will make a mess of the bathroom floors. Get extra towels.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#164 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 468 in New York City
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#108 of 468 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#192 of 468 in New York City
1,173 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#94 of 468 in New York City
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing