We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Were Well Satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #152 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We weren't sure what to expect with this lower tier Hyatt, but we were very pleased and hope to stay again. We lucked out with a top floor room, and although it didn't overlook the Empire State Building it still offered a fabulous view of the Manhattan skyline which our 8-year old granddaughter loved. Perhaps we were just fortunate, but we had no problems with the elevators. We weren't able to obtain a room with a pull-out sofabed, but the sofa proved to be surprisingly comfortable and the room was more than adequate for our party of 3.

We did have to wait for breakfast one morning, but the line moved quickly and the food was good. We walked to Times Square and other major tourist attractions without a problem (did take a cab on a very hot day, and the cost was under $10). The hotel service was friendly and efficient. We will definitely check into Hyatt Place when we next visit NYC.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Traveler3933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The room was tiny but the bed was comfortable. The shades in our room were broken. When I told them when I checked our she said they break all the time.

The main problem was the elevators took forever. Also the line for breakfast was so long we ended up eating at the cafe next door.

All employes were nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Location was great, and many mentioned close to Macy's, blocks to times square and a few blocks to train and hop on and hop off bus. We walked most of the time because there was so much in the area to see. Hotel was very nice, small rooms but NY that is the way it is. We were on the 20th floor facing the top of the building and a water tower not the best view so ask for the Empire state view. We found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. Yes, during busy mornings you wait for the elevators and breakfast can be busy between 8:30 on but not that bad. Free WIFI and they have computers that you can access your emails as well. Breakfast was ok nothing special but nice. People complain about tables but you can take your breakfast outside if you wanted and there were tables there as welll. Overall we thought that for the price this was a very nice hotel and well worth it from nice and new to clean and well maintainted.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Empire state building. we were 2007. there are also only 6 rooms per floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fresh new hotel in the middle of everything you want. The staff was above great, the breakfast was ready and delicious at 6:30am, maybe that is why we had no problems with crowds, but the dining area I thought was bigger than most hotels offering free breakfast. For a small room it did not feel small, everything fit well and the bathroom was standard size. They had no problem holding our bags after checkout so we could do more in midtown before leaving. Elevators can be busy but they are new and move fast so......everyone stop griping about things that are out of anyones control.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATXtraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and i love this place. The room is small but nice and clean. The location ia just great becausw is near Macy dept store and also close to korean town . Will certainly going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Lenny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a good experience there. Location is nice, price was good with breakfast included. The only bad experience was at the breakfast place, where no tables were available and it was crowded. However, the breakfast itself was ok overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I just stayed here a few weeks ago, and I must say, it was a very nice property. Whoever designed it really used all of their industry knowledge and they have an excellent product in a very central location. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was perfectly laid out; the small closet brilliantly utilized smaller hangers to properly fit in, amenities were very solid, and they include a quite decent breakfast to tie into the trend where Europeans clearly value this immensely. I usually travel on business and really pay attention to detail, and this place is a very good hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Wireless worked very well which is key these days, and their staff was quite friendly. They had one major issue when I was there as one of the 2 elevators broke down which really was painful and many of us had to wait for immense amounts of time, but they did the right thing when I sent this issue in on a post-stay review. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a mid-priced, very convenient nice property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view; the windows are enormous and provide a very nice view out to much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisgoesto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#160 of 471 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#164 of 471 in New York City
1,023 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#97 of 471 in New York City
4,305 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing