We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Accommodating Basic FUN!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean Accommodating Basic FUN!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Love it here
Great free breakfast
24 hour rite around corner

Very clean
All new

Great experience
Unexpected pleasure

I've stayed in the best in city, this is great Option!

Clean new and reasonable

Staff truly sincere

CAN'T think of a bad thing to say

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    716
    180
    68
    35
See reviews for
619
561
106
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A great...excellent hotel! As we entered the hotel we were treated warmly, and check in was quick and our room was ready, and we arrived from the airport at 1 pm. A hot breakfast is available free, the hotel is extremely clean, the staff are friendly, and an excellent location. Close to the Empire State Building, walking distance from Times Square, and lots of restaurants in walking distance.

You can order fresh food 24/7 in the hotel, free Internet. They have luggage storage which is safe and secure,and your room is very clean, large flat screen, and safe for valuables. A nice comfortable bed, and a good size bathroom.

The only problem we think is housekeeping is very very slow. Our first full day, it was after 4 pm when our room was clean, and on our second day, we had to go to the front desk just before 4 pm and ask to get our room done. We believe that if Hyatt could work on getting this done quicker, it would make it. 101% hotel.

We put service as average because of housekeeping......all other areas were Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Costs a little more than nearby hotels but you get a quieter stay, more space, and more professional service. The location is excellent especially if you need to use Penn Station. There is also a generous lobby area if you need to meet up with people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenanWellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel has a great location, very close to Empire State Bldg, Times Square and a short walk to Rockefeller center. It's brand new, nicely appointed, great staff, clean and nicely decorated rooms. We really appreciated the complimentary breakfast! Overall, I would rate this hotel as excellent and give it a high recommendation! Enjoy!

Room Tip: We got a corner room and it was perfect! A little tight for 4 once the pull out bed is open but oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deezigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am so happy that I took a chance on this Hyatt in midtown. Super easy to get to from Penn station in a great location near so many things. The staff is courteous and profession and helped with directions and transportation info. The best part of this place was the included hot breakfast every morning. The breakfast host in the morning was cheerful and helpful. A real asset to the place. My room was upgraded to a corner room, was quiet and clean and perfectly furnished for my stay. If I needed any thing, the front desk was happy to accommodate. The only negative was after I got home, I had to sort out the reward points for my stay but that was no fault of the hotel. I will stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first time traveling to NYC and we couldn't have picked a better hotel.
Check in was a breeze...luggage handlers very friendly and helpful.
The room was a standard King which was very nice...no problems with anything.
Somehow I got lucky and paid only $149 per night and that included breakfast...which was fantastic! Parking was at a garage down the street which offered a rate in conjuction with the hotel stay of $35 for 24 hrs. Any employee at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
On the light negative side...the lobby is very small and can get congested with people trying to get information from the front desk or check in and check out. The elevators are very slow.
My wife and I were very happy and very impressed with Hyatt !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We weren't sure what to expect with this lower tier Hyatt, but we were very pleased and hope to stay again. We lucked out with a top floor room, and although it didn't overlook the Empire State Building it still offered a fabulous view of the Manhattan skyline which our 8-year old granddaughter loved. Perhaps we were just fortunate, but we had no problems with the elevators. We weren't able to obtain a room with a pull-out sofabed, but the sofa proved to be surprisingly comfortable and the room was more than adequate for our party of 3.

We did have to wait for breakfast one morning, but the line moved quickly and the food was good. We walked to Times Square and other major tourist attractions without a problem (did take a cab on a very hot day, and the cost was under $10). The hotel service was friendly and efficient. We will definitely check into Hyatt Place when we next visit NYC.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler3933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#162 of 467 in New York City
933 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#188 of 467 in New York City
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing