We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

we spent 3 nights in NY City and the Hyatt Place was perfect for us. As a family of 5 with two teenagers we had a hard time finding a good hotel, centerally located, for a reasonable price. This hotel has rooms accomodating 5 people (two double beds and a sofa bed). This was its main advantage for us. In addition, the hotel's location is great and so is the breakfast which is included in the room price. Although the room was quite small, it was very pleasant and clean, and we had a great view of the Empire State Building right outside our window!
We would definitely return!

Room Tip: must take a room on a high floor (preferably facing the Empire State Building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalTul2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    654
    156
    62
    32
See reviews for
542
516
97
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Margarita
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This place has a perfect location, closet o everything and surrounded by nice “real” (not only super crowded commercial) restaurants and stores.
The staff is SUPER friendly and checking in and put is just a second.
Rooms are well appointed, small fridge, nice tv channel selection with the paper view system, and the size is pretty decent for NY.
The price is also fair. We will definitely stay here again: We moved from here to a Marriott in Times Square (DH wanted to be in the heat) and we regretted it a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Midtown for a few days in September. The location of the hotel is great. Its close to Penn Station, Harold Square and 34th street shopping. The hotel was very clean. The customer service was awesome and check in was easy. We were able to get a late check out (2pm) because we were rewards members. The room was a good size for a New York hotel. We stayed on the 22 floor with a view of the Empire State Building. There was also a small refrigerator in the room which came in handy. The internet service was easy to use and worked fine. The bed was comfortable. The hallways are a bit small and the elevators can be a little slow. They also have free breakfast available or you can go to a nice little bakery/sandwich shop right next door. They had very good breakfast sandwiches. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiC301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a great stay! This is a perfect example of Good Value. The location is just off the main traffic, so it's not loud, but it is super convenient.

Arrived at midnight and check in was a breeze . Breakfast spread was spartan, but did not come across as cheap. There was sufficient variety and quantity of everything.The staff in the breakfast area were so polite and efficient with cleaning.

Elevator wait is terrible though. Only 2 elevators, and, I forget how many floors, but there are probably 5-6 rooms on each floor (I didn't count)

The gym is adequate, but the location in B1 means no view.

Definitely would stay here again over any of the higher priced hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Brand new hotel right in the center of the city. If you are looking for a good base to explore New York then this is the best place. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is brilliant. Great range of items including hot and cold food. Fantastic start to each day! Wifi didn't work in our room. We seemed to be out of range.. kind of annoying.

Nearest subway station is 5 minutes walk away. All the main attractions are less than 15 minutes walk away. Very close to the empire state building. We stayed for just $149 + taxes. Hotels in NY are normally very expensive for terrible quality rooms.

The owners of this hotel have done brilliantly. Highly reccomened place to stay if you are visiting NY for a few days. It really is the best place to stay if you want to walk about this great city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great location, great customer service. Rooms are good sized for New York City. Refrigerator in room comes in handy. Rooms are quiet and have dark shades. Free breakfast is great and even though it is listed as being available for a certain time frame they keep it open for last minute guests. Free newspapers delivered to the room and free Wifi. Staff is very knowledgeable about where attractions are and the transportation options to reach them.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and stayed on the 10th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quovadis4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place for two weeks in September and cannot recommend it enough. I'm a frequent traveller to NYC and have always had horrible experiences at expensive business hotels (I have always found the major $400/night midtown hotels to have lousy service and old, dated rooms). I decided to give the Hyatt Place a shot as I was tired of paying up for shoddy treatment. And I'm so glad I did!

First off, this is not a luxury hotel. You're not going to get a large lobby with a pianist; there's no bar, no restaurant, and no mini-bar in the room. Reception is relatively tiny and there's no doorman. In the vicinity are a Holiday Inn Express and a Best Western, so you get a sense of what segment this are appeals to. These are not things that bother me though.

Check-in was a breeze, the receptionists were efficient and polite and ironically much better than those I'd encountered at the Grand Hyatt. As I was going to be staying there for 2 weeks, I was given a room on a high floor, which I greatly appreciated. The room itself was great. The hotel is only a few months old so everything in the room was new and modern looking. The TV is huge (47" I believe) and I also had a great view. My room was facing north but I understand the south-facing rooms have a great view of the Empire State Building. The rooms also have individual temperature controls which, for a change, actually work!

There is a buffet breakfast every day. It's actually a really good variety, with cereals, fruit, oatmeal, muffins, sausages etc. The only thing is that the spread is the same day-after-day, so you do get sick of the food after awhile. Wifi is free throughout the building and very fast. There is a fitness centre in the basement. It's a bit claustrophobic but it's free, so no complaints. There are computers and printers you can use (for free!) in the lobby.

I had a couple of packages sent to the hotel and they were delivered to my room. This is in contrast to more expensive hotels which often ask you to go to the mailroom to collect the packages yourself.

Location is great. It's a 3 min walk to the Herald Sq subway stop, which has both the yellow and orange lines. It's 2-3 min walk to Macy's, 5 min from Koreatown, 10 min to Times Square and generally very accessible to all parts of Manhattan.

Overall, I had a great experience here. Everyone, from the chambermaids to the bellhop to the receptionists, was polite. The room is large and modern and the free breakfast and wifi are icing on the cake. I will be recommending the Hyatt Place to friends. Why pay 70-80% more for "luxury" upscale hotels when you're likely to encounter indifferent staff and old rooms?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor. North-facing rooms have good enough views, but south-facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing