We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My most favorite part of this property was the staff! Katie, Raul, and Dulce, each of whom I spoke with at one time or another was upbeat and VERY friendly. They really care about your happiness. The room was very spacious for NYC standards with an AMAZINGLY comfy bed, but was lit entirely by horribly colored compact fluorescent bulbs--so everything looked dull, green and washed out (I know they are efficient, but these were especially ugly). It was handy to have a refrigerator. With only 2 elevators for this very tall property, you can wait up to 15 minutes during busy times (morning breakfast rush). Otherwise, the facility is modern and attractive, breakfast area is quite large and comfortable and offers many choices including healthy and fruit options (FOR FREE!!). The only problem I had was with their "satellite" TV--most local channels were out (and many others) and if you found a working channel, it would often freeze. An engineer attempted to "fix" mine, but to no avail--with such a HUGE, gorgeous TV, it was sad that I barely could watch it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    671
    164
    62
    33
See reviews for
565
525
100
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great hotel. Good location. Staff very friendly. Hotel room larger than usual in NYC. Their room with a view had a view. Bed was comfortable and it was quiet. Breakfast was great. Price was very very reasonable. Would highly recommend hotel to anyone for any reason they are in NYC,.

Room Tip: For just a little more you get a room with a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valroufie, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great location, near subway, Grand Central Station, Macy's, good restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is a breakfast Buffett included that was pretty good, lots of choice. Nice clean rooms. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

In addition to this being a spacious, clean, modern and affordable place in NYC, they took great care of me. I left my bag for for the day at the bellstand while I attended meetings and then forgot to pick it up before I left town again.

Luis Martinez was a huge help and even with phone problems, he found a way to contact me to make sure he had the right information to ship my bag back to me. Even sent me the tracking number for fed ex by email. THANK YOU LUIS! I will stay here with my colleagues every time in NYC now.

Room Tip: The higher you are the quieter it is. If you are not used to city noises it's hard to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdfrontier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear wdfrontier,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hyatt Place Midtown South.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and especially thankful that Luis was able to assist you in retrieving your luggage.

We look forward to your return.

See you soon,

Brian Tindall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Long time Trip advisor reviewer here. I don't give five stars lightly, but I just stayed at this gem of a hotel a block or two away from Macy's, midtown NYC. Not luxurious, but just NICE! Lauren, Vanessa, and especially Raj/Rog made my stay EXTRAORDINARY. The king size room was clean, the breakfast was fresh (and huge), the internet was free, the staff was wonderful and RESPONSIVE, and what an awesome rate for Hyatt Gold members. I will definitely visit again. Just don't change a thing about this place!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aidawedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear aidawedo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Midtown South.

We are very pleased that you had a great time while staying with us, and that you liked the hotel and staff. Thank you for the kind words concerning Vanessa, Lauren and Raj.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Brian Tindall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY Metro area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Three teens (2 are small adults really) plus my husband and myself were comfortable in a Hyatt Place deluxe room. The rate was about $200 higher than what I would normally pay but we saved at least half that thanks to the included breakfast. The room was above average but not luxurious.

The location is ideal, the staff friendly and view from our room was outstanding - Empire State Building during the holidays.

Disclosure: I publish TravelingMom.com and this room was provided to me to review. I hope you find it candid and helpful

Room Tip: If you have a large family check out the deluxe rooms instead of getting 2 rooms. Pullout sofa slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear travelingmomcom,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hyatt Place Midtown South on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the deluxe room was able to accommodate your family. Thank you for the comments concerning our staff.

We hope you had the chance to see and do everything you wanted to in New York. If not, we'll be here the next time you are in the Big Apple.

Sincerely,

Brian Tindall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location on 36th Ave. between 5th and 6th is ideal with an MTA station a couple of blocks away. It can be a bit difficult to hail a cab quickly in front of the hotel. The hotel is very clean, the staff competent (but certainly not overly friendly) and the rooms a decent size for Manhattan. The internet worked well. Basic cable essentially, no DirecTV selection of multiple channels. I wanted to watch the Daily Show but no Comedy Central in the package. A small quibble, I know.

The only significant problem I had here is that most of the time during my six days here the water from the sink faucet was a milky color. The engineer couldn't solve it and brought a couple of bottles of mineral water. The front desk was made aware of the problem and offered to change rooms but I didn't want to repack and unpack. They should have restocked my room with bottled water every day but did not. When I checked out and told the front desk they shouldn't book anyone else in the room (1808) until the water problem is fixed the clerk said she wasn't aware there was a problem but rang the engineer immediately. So there's certainly a lack of coordination, especially for a guest with a significant number of Hyatt stays (OK, I'm platinum but not diamond level).

Even though I was on a high floor, I could hear people yelling on the street from time to time. But midtown Manhattan is not Big Sur.

All that said, I would probably not object to staying here again. If you get a competitive rate it's probably one of the best hotel bargains in New York City.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter but check the quality of the faucet's water before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at Hyatt Place New York Midtown South, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear 7J1AIL,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

In response to your comment, sometimes the water pressure causes micro air bubbles to form, and this can give the impression you experienced with the tap water.

We're glad you would choose to stay with us again, and we look forward to your next visit.

Until next time,

Brian Tindall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing