We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #157 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place on 36th and 5th for two nights. The place was conveniently located and extremely clean. My one issue, which is not a deal killer, is that there are only two elevators, including for housekeeping. The hotel appeared to be sold out and frequently there was a wait to get on the elevators. Other than that, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was decent and included.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very nice midprice hotel that looked fairly new. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, modern and had multiple, easily accessible outlets. They also had free wifi and wireless printing to the business center printers. The room was smaller than many American city rooms, but larger than most European rooms. In all the rooms, there was a nice sofa and large footstool/table for relaxing and eating, and a mini fridge. Breakfast was included and was ample. You could also take it back to your room. Location felt safe and was convenient to many small take out food places. Easy walk 2 block to the Herald Square subway connections.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wac55ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A spiffy modern hotel with friendly helpful staff near both east and west villages. I did recommend to management some improvements in the lighting but overall I enjoyed my stay here verymuch. I think the hotel would be a good base to explore the NYC nekighborhoos south of midtown

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank SeattleTomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a 2Q+Sofa Bed room, with a view of the ESB. It was tight when the SB was pulled out, but otherwise perfect. The entire staff was VERY accomodating, nice and helpful. Perfect location for our visit, which was a long weekend vacation. We were able to walk to the subway and to Times Square.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel has everything: great location, great prices and great facilities. The breakfast was really good (small hotel buffet) and the staff really friendly and efficient. Overall, this is my new New York hotel for all my stays.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As first time visitors to New York City, we were very satisfied with the Hyatt Place. Prime location, clean hotel, great hot breakfast. Transportation to the airport was arranged in a few minutes. Staff was friendly and hardworking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank 611theresap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My daughter left an expensive item in the room, housekeeping returned it to me. the staff was super friendly and helpful. This Hotel's location is perfect for city exploring on foot and by subway. Breakfast was way above standard free hotel breakfasts. Starbucks in lobby very convenient for caffeine fix!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#170 of 469 in New York City
972 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#200 of 469 in New York City
1,191 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#95 of 469 in New York City
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £145 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing