We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Knowing we wouldn't be spending much time in the room, we didn't want to pay a fortune. We chose this hotel based on the price, location, square footage (which was larger than other comparably priced hotels in the area.) Our room was very good-sized by New York standards, and it was set up efficiently. We had a (VERY comfortable) king bed, sofa, desk, large TV and huge window. The bathroom was nice but no counter space by the sink.... a lot of my toiletries ended up on the desk.

Thomas at the front desk was very helpful, and when I told him we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, he offered us 2 free beverages and a room on a high floor for a better view (but it was still was not good - on the other side of the building, we could have seen the Empire State Building but we looked over buildings and water tanks!) The complimentary skillet breakfast and Starbucks coffee were a huge bonus. The housekeeping staff did a great job each day, and the front desk and bell staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The only downside was that there are only 2 elevators, and during peak hours they were crowded and slow.

But the best thing about this hotel is the location. It's close to several subway stops that will take you north or south; walking distance to Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square and Central Park. It's just off 5th Avenue, but we weren't bothered by any street noise during the night.

Overall, this hotel is a great value - ideal for our needs. We recommended it to relatives who will be visiting the city later this month.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Empire State Building side, floor 18 or up, for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    654
    156
    62
    32
See reviews for
542
516
97
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter and I spent two nights at this great hotel. From the first minute we stepped in, we felt at home! Dana from the front desk was amazing. He personally made sure that we were settled in answered all of our questions. He gave us great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The room was small, but standard for NYC. It was clean and fresh. The breakfast was nice, nothing over the top, but just what we needed to start our day. The location is great! You can walk to so many of the local attractions including Times Square, the Theater District, 5th Avenue Shopping, Empire State Building, the Subway, and Madison Square Garden. Everything was extremely clean and the beds were comfy. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunDancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I brought my two kids (12 & 15) to the city. The hotel is very clean. The staff is friendly. The room was spacious for the 3 people. The breakfast was great! I felt very safe here. Just around the corner is a subway station. When returning I'll stay here again. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for business because I had a meeting in mid-town and also downtown. It was convenient for both. The room was good, staff nice, and the breakfast quite good and you can walk from Penn Station. It is close to shopping and lots of transportation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location of the hotel is very good. (very near Times Square, subway, Empire State Building, nice restaurants)
The rooms are small (as usual in New York)
we were with a family (6 persons at one room) and it was ok. The buffet in the morning is good but could be open a little bit longer. (it was open untill 9)
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice affordable place to stay. Noisy if you face the street. Low water pressure in the shower. Great location if you like all the touristy, Times Square stuff. Within walking distance of a lot of mainstay attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank gwhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Would recommend this hotel, location great, friendly staff, room clean and quiet, and great breakfast to start your day! Provided good recommendations for restaurants within walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing