We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Enjoyed a great stay at this new (1.5 years old) Hyatt Place hotel. On 36th St between 5th and 6th Aves it is very convenient to the subway at 6th Ave, that runs on the east side of NYC, and Penn Station, which runs everywhere. The hotel is mere blocks from Empire State Bldg, Macy's, NY Public Library, Lord & Taylor, and Bryant Park. The king room was quite comfortable, breakfast each day was good, and hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Our only complaints, which are pretty minor, were the long wait for an elevator almost every time we left the hotel, and the very slow wi-fi. Will definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    654
    156
    62
    32
See reviews for
542
516
97
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at Hyatt Place Hotels in other cities and have been very satisfied. Despite the fact that the room was small, as they usually are in NYC, the room was clean, modern, and comfortable. The staff was extremely gracious and eager to please. The location of the hotel was great and my wife and I were able to easily able to access the subway, hail a taxi, or walk to our desired destinations. The breakfast buffet was presentable, had a nice selection, and the hot food was hot and the cold items were cold. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a business trip. Loved the location as it is close to pretty much everything. Penn Station, Time square, Empire State Building, etc. Room was super clean and the bed was very comfy. Room rate was very reasonable, included free wi-fi and free breakfast. One thing about the breakfast is that it's simple (basic so don't expect too much but will get you going) but their coffee was great. They don't use Starbucks but a different brand. I really enjoyed the coffee.

Staff was super friendly. I really enjoyed nice little chit chat. Recognized my Diamond status and thanked me for it (some Hyatt properties don't even mention your status). I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Here's a summary:

Pros: friendly staff, clean room, comfy bed, a small couch in the room, coffee maker and a small fridge in the room. Reasonable rate (keep in mind that you are in NYC). Great location (walking distance to pretty much everything) Free wi-fi (very fast) and free breakfast (good coffee). A really nice bar across the street with a great selection of draft beers, they have over 50 diff beers on the draft. Korea Town is only a block away so if you like Korean food, this would be a perfect hotel.

Cons: water pressure in bathroom was pretty low. OK for a shower but don't expect a massage. 2 or 3 trucks were honking at each other 3 in the morning which woke me up (not the hotel's fault) so ask for a room on higher floor.

I'll definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor (higher than 17th) for better view and sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami beach, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thank you i really satisfied about my stay in NYC ….. Very good !!! 5 High star !!! I can recommend for my friends and colleague , very good for business and pleasure ! very good location , all near and walking distance , just lovely ……

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Valentin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything in this hotel worked for me. I expecially liked the location which allowed us to easily walk to Empire State Bldg, Hell's Kitchen, Times Sq, and grey line bus. Staff was very nice and room was comfortable with very good shades on window. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank BerneseMtDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I just want to say that although this place filled up fast and was quite busy during our stay, we had such exceptional housekeeping staff. I had lost my diamond and 24k gold nose ring which was a family heirloom. I left a message in the room for the housekeeping staff to look for it along with a description of it, in addition to letting the hotel lobby folks know. I left my number and prayed that they would find it and be honest about it. THEY WERE! A wonderful woman, the cleaning lady for the 15th floor, named Evelia, located my nose ring and called me and was even willing to send it out in the mail to return it to me. Thank You so much Evalia, God Bless you! Additionally, I commend Maria Suarez, who manages the housekeeping staff! What an excellent job, of keeping these women honest and full of integrity. Needless to say Maria was able to overnight me my jewelry back the very next day. I received the package today in a cute little blue box with a bow, and was thrilled to bits to have that piece of jewelry back on my person. Thank you so much to Maria, Evalia and the Hyatt Place, for hiring such quality employees. You guys a great and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSKPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff and Concierge were wonderful and friendly. Very helpful to have the flexibility in check in time. Storing our luggage so we could go to the 911 Memorial was wonderful as well. The breakfast Buffet was fabulous and a real help!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing