We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel at a great price in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel at a great price in a great location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Will stay here every trip to NY. Location is convenient to shopping, subway lines, Times Square, and TKTS. Rooms are large by NY standards with a separate couch and sitting area. Decor was much more upscale than expected.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    685
    170
    62
    33
See reviews for
578
536
101
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel have made our stay incredible. Kevin at the front desk was amazing and helped us get a room as soon as we got there, which was around 9:30am ( most hotels make you wait until 3 to check in). Kevin also made sure I had a tub, which was an added bonus. I will always choose this hotel in the future because the prices are great, it's very clean, the larger rooms are very spacious, the staff is great... Especially Kevin, and the location is perfect! I love this place and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keirstead72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

PRO: Very friendly staff. Great location. Walking distance to time square and empire state building. CON: Only one elevator. Be prepared to wait during peak hours or use the stairs which is an excellent form of exercise that I would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barto, pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First time staying in New York City. We had a party of 5, so it was hard to find a room that slept 5 that was not so expensive. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. Room had (2) queens and a sofa bed. The room may have been a bit on the small side, but we did not feel cramped. Beds were very comfortable. Large screen TV and fridge in the room. There is a microwave in the lounge to use. The hotel is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Times Square, Broadway. Rockafeller Center, Port Authority.
Breakfast was a step above the normal continental breakfast we get. Nice breakfast sandwiches and french toast along with all the other normal items.
I would not hesitate to stay here again when going to city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneybonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I'd like to start by saying the staff is exceptional at this property. We are a family of six (6) and this room fit use well and cozy :) I must admit that this is our first stay in NYC so this room seems small to us but from what I've read this is good sized (esp for the location and price).

We love the location. It ended up being much closer to key locations and attractions like The Empire State Building, Time Square, Broadway and Shopping. We also bought unlimited 7 days Metro Passes and every location was a quick train or bus ride away.

I have to agree with earlier comments about the morning elevator situation. It's very difficult to take the elevator in the mornings. With the crush of people checking in and out along with the staff having to use the same elevator it makes sense that there's a long wait. Luckily we are on the 5th floor so we just took the stairs in the AM.

Ok that brings me to breakfast. We sometimes just slept in so late we missed it but as it nears 9am there is a crush of people in the dinning area and yes food does run out but they quickly restock even when it's close to 9am. There were these two people who has the arduous task of taking care of the buffet areas and they hustled. There was a young Spanish girl and guy and anything I asked about or for they always had a smile and a quick turn around. I do feel they need more hands on deck for breakfast since the great staff is being overwhelmed by poor design and layout of the dining area. One plus was that we were free to take our food outside to eat or even to our room. The food was pretty good and they had many choices.

There is a microwave in the dinning area that can be used throughout the day which came in handy for reheating leftovers.

Parking sucks but we are in NYC so that's to be expected. We drove here from Florida in our SUV and just note the base is $35 but for an SUV it's $45 per day (ouch since we're here for 7 days).

All in all the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable which are my personal top two needs...I would certainly recommend this hotel. Lovely hotel with a great location.

Pleas note that I'm really not a fussy or high maintenance travel/person. For the price point this property is very good. I read some other reviews and if you want to be picky etc than you may need to up your price point.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were travelling with a family of 5 with 3 kids and booked a room with 2 queens and a sofa. After reading some tripadvisor reviews highlighting how small the rooms were and how slow was the elevator, we took the plunge and went for it because of the location. Yes, some of what was written is true, however, it was minor compared to the convenience this hotel offered. My kids loved the view of the Empire State Building from our room. It was excellent that someone shared on tripadvisor that you should ask for it at check in and we did. Don't be put off by some of the negative comments. My family enjoyed our stay and we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room and location in NYC are to die for. Such a fantastic room size and quality. The downside however is that the hotel is mismanaged. With no other customers in line we still had to wait almost 5 minutes to be acknowledged of our existence beyond a "wait" from the service rep. When we were finally acknowledged we were told the cleaning crew was running slow and that we wouldn't get our high level room anytime in the near future, and that we would still have to wait past the official check in time to get our room. I've stayed in motels that have had better customer service. To top it all off the breakfast served you guessed it...rotten eggs. When we notified the manager they brought out yet another plate of the eggs. Nothing starts your morning out right like tasting sulfuric rotten eggs and watching ten other families spit out the eggs at first bite. Disgusting service and disgusting food. But stellar rooms and location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing