We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT Hyatt Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOT Hyatt Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are currently staying at the Hyatt Place here in New York (Aug 2-7). So far it has NOT been up to my previous Hyatt experiences. In fact, it rates very much below any average quality hotel I have stayed. First, somehow my reservations were wrong. My family of 4 were put in a room with 1 king bed only when we reserved a room with a sleeper sofa. In addition, the cost for the room was an astounding $450/night. Ridiculous. Front office personnel was not very helpful except for Dana and Rich (bellman). No one really seems to enjoy working there, no one smiles or greets you as a Hyatt Platinum member even though i have spent many nights gathering points for this "once in a lifetime" visit to New York. We had 2 free nights and OVERPAID for the other 3. Had I known about the quality of service at this Hyatt, I would have spent my free night points at another location! In addition, just got back from a long day of sight seeing (3:30 PM) and our room was not cleaned yet! Front desk response was "they are not finished cleaning yet". That was it, no sorry. I know this is New York, but this is Hyatt!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    671
    164
    62
    33
See reviews for
565
525
100
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for the first time in June 2014. The hotel is clean, convenient, in a safe area within easy walking distance to Macy's, Bryant Park, and the Empire State Building. Subway access in any direction and Times Square also an easy walk. Breakfast included with room along with free wi-fi makes it a bargain in the city! The staff members were friendly, efficient and accommodating....the only complaints I have are that the computer was down when we checked in making it a long and more complicated than necessary process for the staff and...there was no linen ordered on the 3rd day, so we didn't get fresh towels at all that day! ( with 4 women that is not a good plan!). I think the staff did the best they could with the situation and the problem lies with the administrators who seemed to do little to remedy either situation! They certainly weren't visible and they should have been! Shame on them....they don't deserve the great staff they have!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micaela416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stressing breakfast with lack of seating and the buffet area very underdimensioned worst case was 15 minutes waiting in line - not a good start to the day - especially not for the children. Staff at check in not very smiling and informative. Shower was making the complet bathroom wet. Cleaning lady was nice and very efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very pleasant property that is centrally located and with very helpful staff. Rooms were very good size and beds very comfortable. Bathroom was immaculate. We have stayed here before and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location of this hotel was key as we drove in and out of the city. The hotel is not far at all from the Lincoln Tunnel and New Jersey. We arrived, it was easy to use the public secure parking a couple buildings down. The room was smaller than another Hyatt Place we had previously stayed, but we had a great view of the Empire State Building and the wonderful staff made up for the smaller suite. The staff was wonderful in giving directions and advise. They were also helpful with our son's food allergy concerns at breakfast. I do believe the customer service was the best I have experienced at any comparable location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank R5618USlisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I typically stay here when on business for 1 or 2 nights if the price is lower then one of the Marriott's. If there is no price difference I stay at Marriott mainly because of the elevators mentioned below

Rooms are nice and clean. Very good location in midtown withing walking distance of 34st (Macys) and times square. My only complaint is there are only 2 elevators and you can be waiting up to 10 minutes during busy time. Was there one visit when one elevator was out for 1/2 day which was inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a nice stay, 10th floor, noise not an issue at all, actually over slept the entire time there. Good size shower and comfortable room. The blackout shade was a nice and walls very thick NO sound from other rooms. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing