We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, Canada
1 review
“decent option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Meh, was clean and a decent location. tons of garbage on the street when you sit outside. was just ok. it was very clean and the door man and older gentleman was teriffic. breakfast was good, but finishes at 9 so my teens missed every one. we did get to bring stuff up the them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    654
    156
    62
    32
See reviews for
542
516
97
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stay twice in the same July 2014, as pre and post hotel, before and after US East Coast Tour. I can not change my opinion for its prime location, near to many tourist attraction, macy's :), Empire State building itself.. etc.

Room is simple and spacious enough, bed is fabulous. The Hyatt touch.

Book a limo from hotel people to JFK. Mind please make sure once again the fix fare. Seems the price list listed in hotel lobby is no longer valid. It is not a big different, but not accurate.

I remember, wi fi here is just like I am in the office or at home. There is No painful re-insert username and password. Love it.

Insya Allah, I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
842 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We booked our stay here on line. I personally called the day of our check in and made sure our room was booked and informed them that I will be using a different credit card than the one I had put on record. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room was sold out because the credit card didn't go through.

After clarifying that I had called in anticipation of this and that the hotel should have made note of this, it took the receptionists a couple of hours to find us another room in another hotel. Much appreciated, of course but such a mishap should not have happened in the first place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've tried a number of mid-priced hotels in NYC and this is my new favorite. I usually take the train and Penn Station is maybe a 15 minute walk, also about the same distance to Broadway and Times Square. The room was also the most comfortable of hotels in this class. A nice modern look, un-fussy but nicer artwork than other hotels. And the sofa was particularly nice as usually the only place to sit in many of these hotels is the bed. The bathroom also had a clean, modern look. The free, hot breakfast was a big plus as usually hotels in this class offer only stale pastries if anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wanderer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for two days with my 14 yr old niece. Hotel is located right by the Empire State Building, up the street from macys, and around the corner from the subway. The hotel staff members are very helpful and knowledgeable about the subway and area. This hotel is in walking distance to rockafellla center and Central Park and Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank joanc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

When I made the reservation, I didn't realize that I would be around the corner from the Empire State Building, and Herald Square. I am so glad that I chose this hotel. I will be back again. I have visited NY many times, but this is, by far, the best place that I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank cabtrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ck in-smooth, all in order, Lauren explained all and provide great customer service. The vibe in lobby seamed hectic though.
Ck-out no problems but we did not get our summary under the door last night.
Room comfortable, good decor, good condition, Bed - best mattress I've slept on want one for my house. Bath - good condition, modern, clean. Hot water, good pressure
Breakfast - scrambled eggs, sausage, frenchtoast, pastries, juice very good breakfast - get there early though as the line is long an hour before it closes.
Cons - elevators are slow on the way down in the morning due to stopping at every floor. We took the stairs down from floor 16 as it was quicker. No I'm not an athlete.

Room Tip: Lower floors to avoid slower elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyBee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing