We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of everything”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we needed something to accommodate 5 people (which is hard to find in NYC). It was also extremely beneficial that they had a continental breakfast each morning! The hotel was very clean and the staff were helpful with directions and other needs (extra towels, etc). The breakfast was perfect too. The Empire State building was literally outside our window!! Plus, it's a short few blocks to Times Square, Broadway and subway stations. Really, the location is ideal if you want to be in "NYC". You may pay extra for this hotel but it's definitely worth it if you want to avoid extra subway or bus rides.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    678
    169
    62
    33
See reviews for
574
530
100
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful Hyatt quality room with safe, iron, great A/C, fast free internet, good in room coffee and a comfortable bed. By NY standards, plenty of space in the room. Very nice bath as well. Clean, modern, efficient and helpful staff, yet reasonably priced. Has everything you need and nothing more. Central location if you don't mind walking a few blocks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Small but brilliant. Modern interiors, nice view, great location, reasonable prices and service level compared to Plaza or Waldroff Astoria. West 36th street is maybe not the cleanest and impressive location but the hotel itself is just perfect for business or leisure stay if you prefer small modern hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
290 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Room was nice and size was good for a NYC hotel room. Elevator service was awful and we ended up taking the stairs most of the time. Excellent air conditioner in the room. Wi-Fi was good. Location is good as this is close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santucci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we had a night in NY paid in this hotel....and at the time of arriving at 1;00 am after 12 hrs of flights and transportation and when the only thing that matter is getting a good rest to wake up early to get back to more transportation at penn station....and there was no room available..........before in the afternoon we called the hotel to say we where checking in late.

we think you are unprofessional....the only job you had... and you got it wrong.....and if it wasn't enough....the person at the hotel lobby was of no help at all......and sent my daughter to a much much cheaper hotel....and not close to penn station....... and keep her at the lobby for more than 30 minutes waiting for I don't know what type of cab. and didn;t even bother to explain the taxi which hotel they had to drive my daughter....and she did't know even the name of the hotel she had to go after.....
.....we thought Hyatt was a serious company...now we know better. not even 30 days ago we spent more than 6000 dls in andaz......we will think twice now before booking in any of your hotels around the world.

Room Tip: check twice before arriving to this hotel....they are overbooked and don't respect reservation e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortuna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atx!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

i have stayed at hyatt hotels and hyatt place properties in many US states over last decade. Spent 3 nites here this week. This hyatt place is a liitle different: (1) employees are terrifically trained --- not a knock on hyatt's elsewhere but just stood out here (2) big breakfasts (3) 25 story hotel with two elevators. This was an issue one evening when one elevator quit working.
Good stay as per the norm at Hyatt.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary and we decided to spend the weekend in the city. We've stayed at the Hyatt Mystic Place and we loved it so we decided to give this hotel a try. It was reasonable priced for a hotel in Manhattan. We arrived at the hotel before check in and it was no problem our room was ready . The front desk was very friendly and he told us everything about the hotel and if we needed anything just ask. The hotel is not far from Mass Transit, it's in a great location. Lots of restaurants and stores in the vicinity. Our room was clean and it was an okay size. The breakfast was ok as well. Overall the hotel was clean, had free wifi as well as a business center. They had a pool and fitness center. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luv2travl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place New York Midtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place New York Midtown South

Property: Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Address: 52 W 36th St # 54, New York City, NY 10018-8029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place New York Midtown South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to the greatest city in the world, Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South is the place for you. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel offers a comfortable hotel near the Empire State Building and just a short walk or cab ride from the best the Big Apple has to offer. We have everything you need to relax and recharge from a long day experiencing the sights and sounds of Herald Square. Each room features a plush Hyatt Grand Bed(R), free Wi-Fi internet, a Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, a modern bathroom with complimentary amenities and a 42" HDTV, ensuring the ultimate in comfort during your stay in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place New York Midtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing