We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfy, clean, quiet, great location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Efuru Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Efuru Guest House
Ranked #40 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
ATL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean, quiet, great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I went on vacations from March 25th to April 4th, with a group of family members to celebrate my mom's birthday and my 11th anniversary. After marathonic long days out sight seeing, with cold, under the rain and tired feet nothing felt better than arrive to EFURU place, pretty much like home, very comfortable, very quiet, very clean. We loved it and enjoyed it totally. Lydia was an incredible host and always available if we needed something. Thank you so much for an unforgetable family vacations!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cytrip29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 11th anniversary with our first trip to NYC. Efuru Guest House was the perfect home base for our vacation. It is a quick four block walk to the subway and a 12 minute ride to Times Square. We always felt safe in this charming Harlem neighborhood. Lydia, the owner, told us to think of Efuru Guest House as our own NYC apartment. We will return SOON!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Really good and comfortable rooms, clean and big house but being situated in Harlem it was not the best position to visit NYC both because of the distance from the heart of the city and the security felt at nights coming back from the south.
Lydia, the proprietor, was really kind and available so, in general, really recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank and85rea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bierbeek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

My girlfriend and I spent the first week of November 2009 in New York. We stayed at Efuru Guesthouse where I booked a room bij e-mail. Lydia was from the very beginning very correct in mailing me the requested information. Once arrived we found a cosy house in Harlem and a nice clean bedroom. We arrived at 10.30 PM, so we got the key code from Lydia. Next morning we met Lydia and had a long and very friendly talk with her. She told us a lot about visiting New York and she gave good advices. So we had a lovely stay at Efuru Guesthouse and we surely would recommend this place to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoskeBierbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We went to NYC for our wedding, 7 days with 18 family members. We occupied the entire second house for ourselves. A great place, recently renovated. Location is just excellent, few steps from the subway. Beds are all new and clean, and airco is available in all rooms. Towels were changed every day. Breakfast gorgeus. Wi-Fi free. And Lydia: a very niceperson, flexible and cooperative. Definitely the right place to stay when in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

A nice spacious clean apartment in a lovely old brownstone in a great part of Harlem. A few lovely places to eat and drink locally i.e between 1 and 3 minutes by foot (Native, Lenox Lounge, Setepani Cafe, Cafe Latte) a couple of great historic venues a few streets away (the Apollo and Minton's) not forgetting you're a short subway ride from the bright lights of middle and lower Manhattan. The neighbourhood had a nice laid back vibe, even after coming back on the subway in the wee small hours after a night out downtown. Harlem's a great atmospheric, historic place to explore and it was nice having a room with a lot more space than what you usually get in NY (plus nice and quiet for sleeping). Recommended if you don't mind being so far uptown (subway runs all night and taxis are always available)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHStirchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

The place is not what is advertised on the website. If you are lucky enough to get a response from Lydia, beware because her directions to get to the place are wrong. We arrived at 11pm at night, only to find she had misdirected us. Her "houseman" in NYC was helpful in getting us to the right location, but it was a huge hassle. There are no stores, bars or places to eat within walking distance of this house and it's in a dirty, dark part of Harlem. We did NOT feel safe walking at night. Most importantly, the bed was broken down, sunken in the middle and the place was dirty, it was as if someone lived there and just left for a couple of days. It may be cheap by New York prices, but it's not at all what is advertised on the website. We had to leave the guest house and relocate to another hotel just so we could feel safe, sleep well ,and have some amenities close by.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcpmlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#18 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#23 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#9 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Harlem
Harlem 144 Guest House
Harlem 144 Guest House
#48 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Harlem
The International Cozy Inn
The International Cozy Inn
#29 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efuru Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efuru Guest House

Property: Efuru Guest House
Address: 106 W 120th St, Harlem, New York City, NY 10027-6401
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Efuru Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efuru Guest House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing