We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best acommodation for low budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Efuru Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Efuru Guest House
Ranked #40 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best acommodation for low budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

It was the 3rd time that my friends and I stayed at the Efuru House, being guests of the wonderful owner Lydia. It is a small brownstone house in Harlem, close to the subway and great restaurants. It only takes 15 minutes to get to 42nd. St and the theater district. There are 2 apartments and 2 guest rooms at really decent rates, very clean and accommodating. Harlem is a great area to be, as the restaurants and shops are still afordable and in walking distance. The only place that changed over the last 4 years is the Lenox Lounge, which became very snobby. Have dinner at "The Native" and breakfast at the "Blues Cafe" and you have a perfect stay.

  • Liked — The convenient location and friendliness of the owner
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaBiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landgraaf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

Before my arrival I received a lot of information from the innkeeper, she was also very helpfull when answerring questions after our arrival.

The guest house is located in Harlem about 4 blocks (5 minute walk) from a subway station, the rooms were clean, tidy and equiped as promised.

We had a great stay at this guest house and would not hesitate to book it again! :-)

  • Liked — Facilities (private bathroom & kitchen)
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SPiebinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2006

Hi, we stayed here in June 2006 and we had a really nice stay. Though it is in Harlem, the house is really safe. The room we stayed in was big, clean and nice, we had to share the bathroom with another guest, but it wasn't a problem. Lydia, the owner was very kind to us. We recommend this place. G&D

  • Liked — Large, clean and bright room
  • Disliked — The area
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Qki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2006

stayed for the conference in new york
warm and cosy even in frezzing cold newyork
well located near 116 street subway station 10 min to city centre(take 2 or 3)
cheap for budget travellers
well mannered and freindly host,
only down side is if ur late in city, try to come back by cab to the guest house, the walk from subway to gusthouse eventhough 3-5 minutes bit scary late in night.
other wise recommended

dr. hari ,UK

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank haridoc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare , Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2005

My husband and i are just back from the Efuru Guest House, NY. We were really apprehensive because there were no user reviews and we didn't know anyone who had stayed there. However, we were relieved and pleasantly surprised with the Efuru. when we arrived, 'Lydia' gave us a really nice welcome and the house itself was beautiful. It was absolutely spotless. We had a 'Garden Studio' which was in the basement, with it's own entrance, so we were given the keys and didn't need to go through the main house at all. the room was great, bed was fantastic, bathroom was a great size, kitchenette was small but perfect. the room was slightly run down, nothing that a lick of paint wouldn't fix, and other than that it was brillant. located 4 blocks(3/4 minute walk) from the subway station (116th str) it took ten mins max to get to times square. the general area was fine, we had no hassle or seen no hassle during our stay. Without a doubt I would recommend the Efuru and will definately be going back next year (o: I didn't load photo's as there's good ones on the site ----

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank VMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Harlem 144 Guest House
Harlem 144 Guest House
#51 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#2 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#19 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#22 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efuru Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efuru Guest House

Property: Efuru Guest House
Address: 106 W 120th St, Harlem, New York City, NY 10027-6401
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Efuru Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efuru Guest House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing