We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite bakery in this neighborhood”

Donna Bell's Bake Shop
Ranked #59 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Favorite bakery in this neighborhood”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I find myself near Donna Bell's too often, I'm afraid. Cinnamon scone is life-changing and has put a smile on my face on many a sweaty subway platform. I've flown to VA with a bunch of the bars (lemon, PB/choc) carefully packed as a hostess gift and they traveled great. Muffins are a strong choice - not greasy with plenty of substance. Coffee, lemonade and goodies are served by friendly, efficient staff. Not much seating but there is a park mid-block with plenty of seating. This place is every bit as good as Amy's Breads without the claustrophobic line.

Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Found this place on TA. All reviews are correct. Fabulous bakery. All really enjoy the scones, Cinnamon sample glaze, Cranberry w orange glaze. The buttermilk biscuit was huge. These are carbs worth consuming.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Suzeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It is as good as reviewed!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We went here with high expectations following reviews across the Internet and it is a truly excellent bakery. Not low-carbs, not low-fat but a taste to die for! We had biscuit sandwiches and the only small remark is that we'll skip cheese next time. The biscuit itself is so lovely and so the cheese just made it a bit too greesy for our taste. Other than that - a perfect breakfast sandwich! Also good is that if you choose a turkey biscuit, you won't get these superthin slices of turkey as filling. You'll get a good piece of turkey filet which is excellent. And as noted earlier, the coffee is excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank patbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh ...yummy.....”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

What a hidden gem in New York City....
Don't miss the wonderful breakfast biscuits or the outstanding coffee.
It will be my go to place every time I am in the city....
Fresh, delicious and worth every calorie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/snack place at 49th and 8th”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Loved this place - went twice in two days. You can't eat here, but there is a lovely free patio just next to it with plenty of seating. I had an sausage/egg on a biscuit, which was very very good, but almost over the top rich and filling. I also had a banana nut muffin, which was as excellent as a muffin could be. Would definitely come back to try some other items - scones looked very good. I also noticed a lot of people coming in just for gravy - they must know something I don't about the gravy at this place. Service wasn't the friendliest, but by no means bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donna Bell's Bake Shop also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Donna Bell's Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing