We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avenue Q -- raunchy fun!”
Review of New World Stages

New World Stages
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.75*
and up
Avenue Q on Broadway
Ranked #177 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Avenue Q -- raunchy fun!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have wanted to see this for quite a while and the cast did not disappoint! Just as irreverent as we'd heard and laugh out loud hilarious! Definitely for 17 and older. Darren Bluestone was an absolute standout as Princeton/Rod.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    60
    12
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my first time seeing a show at New World Stages. I loved the venue. It had an easy, relaxed atmosphere. And you could take your drinks with you to your seat, which was great (they even had a waiter come around for a drink order!)

I saw Heathers: The Musical. I loved it! I was there with friends who had seen the movie and liked it, and others that weren't very familiar with it at all. We all had a great time, and would recommend this musical to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
439 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Avenue Q - Amazing voices and definitely not for kids”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First, it is one of the funkiest theaters you will come across. This performance in my opinion is for 18 and older. You could take a little younger, but you or they may become embarrassed in front of the other. The voices were fantastic, so were the facial expressions that went along with the puppets. My daughters, 19 & 22 enjoyed it, so did I. It was definitely not my husband's cup of tee. They address everything from being gay as well as not fitting in, to being unemployed. Everyday struggles we all have with a sense of humor. Definitely worth the $50 a ticket I spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“There's a Fine, Fine Line ... Between Brilliant and Outrageous”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Humor meets clever. If you are in New York City with teenagers, and want to expose them to theater, there is not a better option. Avenue Q is hysterical, poignant and lively. It has all the right messages for a teenager, and told in a way that works.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
887 reviews
410 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Iluminate was amazing!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our third time at this Venue. This theater has 5 stages. They have 2 other shows that I can't wait to see. My husband and I loved Avenue Q. My daughter and I saw Gazzillion bubbles. That bubble show was targeted more for very young audiences. Therefore, my tween and I were not too impressed with it. To make it up to her i took her to see Iluminate. This show was fun, energetic and very impressive. Those people are very talented dancers. The story line was bit lame, but the amazing dancing made up for it. I thing people of all ages will enjoy this show. The show ran for about an hour. Look for discounted tickets on theater mania. They seem to always offer discounts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New World Stages also viewed

 

Been to New World Stages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing