We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new, cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Ranked #156 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Clean, new, cheap”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

You can't go wrong here if you just need a place to stay that's kind of near downtown. As others have noted, the place is new and it shows. No real restaurant or bar action to be had in the hotel itself (though both exist), but there's plenty nearby. At least for quick business trips, I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: even room near elevator was quiet. higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and tips! We are happy that we were able to provide you with everything you were looking for on your trip. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    529
    130
    27
    27
See reviews for
262
681
121
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in Wyndham Garden Chinatown for four nights this May. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were small but everything a guest would need was provided for. The staff at the check-in was very efficient and friendly. The bar at the lobby level had great happy hour prices. One advice: ask that your room is as far away as possible from the elevator as possible, as we heard elevator traffic having been right opposite the elevator doors. Also, the balcony attached to our room was not very good as they have one balcony running along the entire side of the floor so your neighbor can be chatting right outside your bedroom, which was often the case for us as our room's balcony "space" had the water drainage which the smokers amongst the guests on that floor seemed to use as their ashtray. So make sure you ask for a room without a balcony. For their reasonable price, great location and cleanliness, we would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a no balcony floor and a room far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omusubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, we are very happy to hear that we had everything that you were looking for! We will be sure to get you a quiet room away from the elevators then next time you are visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 8/16. Had a great stay beautiful hotel. Great location, great room we couldn't have asked for a better stay. The hotel lost and found went above and beyond by sending me something I forgot in the room ups. I will only stay at this hotel when coming to the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxypowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation! Our staff takes pride in their work and want to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and taken care of. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in a very good location. It is close to the Chinatown shopping district and more. The fitness room, however, can only be accessed by one elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wilson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very glad you were able to enjoy some of the neighborhood. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here in June and booked using a coupon. The expectation was to try bidding and find something closer to Times Square or possible more uptown. This location is very good for access to Little Italy (getting littler and littler) and also to Chinatown (obviously). Subway access is excellent. Walking distance to Katz's Deli as well. For the price paid in Manhattan this was a very good value. I would prefer being further midtown but that is just a personal preference. Staff was friendly. Room was the expected smaller size but with modern bathroom, AC, and wifi. I would not hesitate to stay here again nor recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all modern and with usual amenities. Have only stayed once and got what was expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoLLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the great things that are available in our area, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to your visit back to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at this relatively new new hotel right in Chinatown.

We love it with walking distance to all the great restaurants and also easy wall to the Grand subway station or a bit longer walk to the Canal station. That makes it easy to get anywhere.

Despite all those restaurants we love the Elevate restaurant in the hotel for fresh sushi.

I hesitate reviewing this because it will lead to more people staying and higher rates but they deserve it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are always very happy to have you as one of our returning guests, thank you for giving us such a great recommendation! We know that we will be seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As an annual traveler to New York City, the thing that always gets you about the place is that great accommodations cost an arm and a leg, and good accommodations aren't that much cheaper than great ones. Cheap accommodations are cheap for good reasons. With this hotel, we got great accommodations for cheap prices (by Manhattan standards).

I booked here primarily because of the great reviews on this website, coupled with a fantastic rate that was offered through Travelzoo. The double/double room we stayed in was very large for Manhattan, and offered us a reasonably sized desk, a night stand, and a small bar fridge. The bathroom was large enough with a shower stall, sink, and toilet. The only complaint I can make about the bathroom (and this is a constant complaint among the reviewers here) is that there is no shower door, just a piece of glass that covers half the stall. It makes for a lot of splashing water on the floor. This forces you to basically take one of the towels and use that as a bath mat.

People have mentioned the Chinatown location. Yes, Chinatown and the LES is not the greatest part of NYC. However, I had no issues whatsoever. As far as commuting around the city goes, there are several options to get onto the subway. The closest station was about two blocks away at Grand and Chrystie Streets, where you could get onto the B and D lines. Taking those lines afforded you a very quick way to get into midtown. The Bowery station was only 3 blocks away, while the Canal Street stations for the 6, N, R, and Q lines were about a 10 minute walk away. I think the location scares people who aren't familiar with NYC away, and that plays into the advantage of more knowledgeable people. Walking home from the subway is perfectly safe. This Chinatown offers the best Asian food I've ever eaten outside of Asia, and Little Italy's food is pretty darn good too. Eating in Chinatown also stretches your tourist dollar, as meals can be very reasonably priced there.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkjck5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave F, Manager at Wyndham Garden Chinatown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we think that you have described our hotel perfectly!! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy everything that the hotel has to offer as well as the surrounding areas! We would love to see you again the next time you travel to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#199 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#204 of 468 in New York City
694 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Chinatown

Property: Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Address: 93 Bowery, New York City, NY 10002-4915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Chinatown 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a boutique style hotel ranked among the highest 4 star properties in New York City and located in Lower East Side. Just steps from Soho and Little Italy there is shopping, museums, art galleries and fine dining in walking distance. Currently top 20% ranked for overall service on Tripadvisor in all of New York City and recently won Expedia's Insider's Select Award which is based on guest reviews and value of the hotel. The hotel has views from the guest rooms of the Empire State Building and New York City Skyline. Wyndham Garden Chinatown is a full service property with amenities such Rooftop93 our year round rooftop Lounge, room service, full service restaurant, Beer Garden, 24 hour fitness Center, and Lobby Bar. This hotel is surrounded by great shopping, tourist attractions and convenient to several subways stops such as the B,D,J,Z,6,R. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing