We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but little else”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Millenium Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millenium Hilton
Ranked #233 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views but little else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Had a multi-day stay at the Millenium Hilton during Thanksgiving break. The hotel has 55 levels and we had a room on level 35, facing the World Trade Center. Great view, though on workdays the construction sounds were loud. There were positives, such as helpful concierge and check in people. The doorman whistled down a taxi for us. Nice touch and it was appreciated The gym had several treadmills and two elliptical machines plus some weights. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice, though the finely polished marble floor was treacherously slippery. That said, the room was barely adequate and small and not up to Hilton standards. The work area barely held a laptop; however, the internet worked flawlessly. Perhaps there are better rooms at higher floors. If the hotel is reading this, here are a few suggestions to bring the place up to expectations for Hilton standards: (1) put robes in the closet (there were none), (2) very low water pressure in the showers (though plenty in the nice sinks), (3) the tub came with the last octants hairs in it (particularly gross), (4) the heating system did not seem to work correctly, (5) decorate the rooms a bit (a single picture over the bed is spartan - see the picture of the room), (6) have a bar that stays open past 11 PM and (7) upgrade the restaurant. Of all the problems, the restaurant was the most annoying . We had a plan that included breakfast. The restaurant was cold and breezy. I had to wear a coat to eat. There is a small buffet that is set up to accommodate a single line of people on one side. Because of that, the line backs up and it took (on average) over 5 minutes to get through the line. People were bumping into one another because the space was so cramped. There was ample waitstaff who seemed to be busy but empty coffee cups were the norm. You had to ask for a refill most of the time and then the waiter seemed annoyed and proceeded to and spill a part of the coffee on the table. They put down a glass of orange juice without asking if you wanted it (or what type, as they had several). Assuming you wanted something other than orange juice, asking for the type of juice further aggravated the staff. We ordered an egg white omelet each morning. The first morning, we got one. The second morning, we received a regular egg omelet and we waited 25 minutes for the plate to appear. The waiters seemed annoyed at our request. Even the Embassy Suites is happy to prepare an egg white omelet. Some attitude adjustment is in order. We stay at Hilton hotels around the globe and, despite the great location, the Hilton Millenium is not up to traditional standards.

Room Tip: Ask to be put as high as possible to minimize the street noise. The 35th floor was nowhere near hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Met_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,774
    1,614
    624
    248
    130
See reviews for
891
1,442
312
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Hilton Millenium offers a great room many with excellent views of the new Freedom Tower. I have stayed here about 5 times and have watched it go up. Now they are building another tower on the property, Kids would love all the heavy equipment being seen from above. This hotel is located in the fifnancial district but is close to Soho, Little Italy, the Village and Fulton Seaport area. Fron desk is very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: You want to be high to see all the activity and also no noise
See more room tips
Green Features: the usual in most good hotels today. Towels reuse if not needing new
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hilton on business for four nights in November and it was truly a great stay. Check in was easy and took less than 5 minutes. I had a deluxe city view room on the 41st floor overlooking the World Trade Center & the memorial pools. Spectacular! The room was spacious, especially in the city. Everything was new and extremely clean. On a personal note, there were a lot of power outlets in the room AND a power strip by the bed. There was plenty of lighting and a nice chair/ottoman with a big hanging lamp over it by the window. It was as comfortable as being at home. The bathroom had marble countertops and the deepest porcelain tub I've ever seen in a hotel. It was so nice to enjoy a bath after walking around the city all day. The lighted makeup mirror & full size hair dryer are a great touch. This hotel is also located near the R train, PATH station and another major subway hub. It was very easy for me to catch a subway to my class in the financial district and uptown to Rockefeller center.

The elevators were extremely fast getting to the floors and there was never a wait. The area is safe to walk around even in the evening and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There was no construction noise and no room to room transfer noise. I slept soundly and felt 100% safe in this hotel.

Overall, I was extremely happy with this stay and this hilton! I would definitely come back again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank luxlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Gosh I hate writing mean stuff but this pace is the pits. tiny rooms, yucky coffee, sullen help. Anyway two people and two nights hard not to be grouchy at each other, but we managed. Takes away from the city's magic

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilleniumHiltonHotel, Front Office Manager at Millenium Hilton, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in your visit. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Thank you,
Matt

Matthew Lane
Director of Front Office Operations
Millenium Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I frequently stay here and will continue for as long as I can. Great location, good food and fantastic customer service. Have seen the WTC area change over the last 12 years and appreciate it always. Try a high floor room for awesome sights and the olive and hunmus plate.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spent 5 days at the Millenium Hilton. The location is very hectic but convenient if you have business downtown. It is not very suitable for families or people who prefer a quieter environment. There are not many restaurants around that people would recommend as most are catered to the financial business crowd with their company’s expense accounts. Unlike the bright lights of midtown, the area is really dark at night and quite empty after 9pm. Even though the towers in that area are lighted up at night, it is mainly above certain floors so the street level is dark.

The hotel overlooks the memorial site and the Freedom Tower. Its lobby is small so sometimes it could be crowded. The reception staff is friendly but they don’t offer information that it is to your benefit. Certain room rates entitle you to certain benefits but you don’t know about them and it is not really advertised or listed. So you could be paying for something you have already paid for (internet) or not using something that you could if you knew it was included in your fee (breakfast).

The hotel has fast elevators which is great during morning\evening rush hour. The rooms are small but adequate if you just plan to use it for sleeping. The bed and linens are excellent. The toiletries are of good quality. I am not sure on cleanliness as everything looks clean but at closer inspection, you could spot hair from previous guests, stains, and scuff marks. The TV reception is bad so some channels are not watchable due to fuzzy signal\ blurry picture and it is also not in HD.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed two nights before cruise....breath taking views over WTC from our corner suite on the 17th floor. Huge comfy bed. Well stocked bathroom. Quality breakfast too. A nice quiet lounge bar away from the main reception would have been welcome. Friendly staff. Pity wifi was so expensive...in the UK it's generally free to residents.

Room Tip: Corner suite with view direct to WTC opposite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah's grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
Midtown
ONE UN New York
ONE UN New York
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#324 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,841 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millenium Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millenium Hilton

Property: Millenium Hilton
Address: 55 Church Street, New York City, NY 10007-2939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millenium Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millenium Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenium Hilton Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
Millenium Hilton New York
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing